Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Latin American Studies

Legend

Research Starting Points

America's Historical Newspapers 
 
 

1690 - 1900. Full text of historical American newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C.  Searchable via Readex’s Archive of Americana interface.  Includes Early American Newspapers series 1 (1690-1876) and 2 (1758-1900) and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980.

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO) 
 
 

Includes complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Also includes 60,000 historical articles and hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).

Chicano Database (EBSCO) 
 
 

Comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Newer records include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online 
 
 

Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.

ClasePeriodica 
 
 

CLASE and PERIODICA index over 2,600 Latin American journals in the fields of social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. The merged database also has over 300,000 citations published in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English. Includes, articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, reports, and interview published in journals from 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Digitalia Hispanica 
 
 

Provides access to over five thousand digitized Spanish language academic ebooks and ejournals from a broad range of subjects.

Handbook of Latin American Studies 
 

1935 - present. A bibliography of books, journal articles, proceedings in social sciences and humanities, edited by scholars selected by the Library of Congress.

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index 
 
 

1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.

Hispanic American Newspaper 
 
 

1808 - 1980. A collection of Spanish-language and Spanish/English newspapers printed in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage begins in 1808 with the first Spanish-language newspaper printed in the U.S.

Latin American Data Base 
 
 

LADB is a news and information service on Latin America which produces three weekly electronic publications: NotiCen, NotiSur, and SourceMex. Includes over 28,000 articles from a variety of Latin American news sources and journals.

Latin American Women Writers 
 
 

Brings together the voices of Latin American women from the 17th century to the present. Includes 120,000 pages of prose, poetry, drama, memoirs, letters and essays in the original languages. Authors are from Central and South America, as well as from Cuba and the Dominican Republic.

Latino Literature 
 
 

Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.

Pew Hispanic Center 
 

Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization supported by The Pew Charitable Trusts. Its mission is to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the entire nation.

RedALyc: Red de Revistas Científicas de América Latina y El Caribe, España y Portugal 
 

A collection of over 1,000 open access journals published in Latin America, Spain and Portugal with coverage spanning both the Humanities and Sciences.

SciELO online journals 
 

A collection of scholarly journals published in Latin America, the Caribbean, Spain, and Portugal covering science, medicine, the social sciences and humanities. Searchable by country of publication or subject area.

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (Gale) 
 
 

Includes contemporary and historical documents depicting the nature, integrity and culture of Latin America. Documents are in multiple languages. Includes historical and contemporary maps.