Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Business (Marketing)

Legend

Research Starting Points

Ad*Access Project 
 

An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.

Business Expert Press 
 
 

Searchable collection of business-related ebooks created by experts for non-experts. Subject areas include marketing, human resource management, entrepreneurship, small business management, public relations, consumer behavior, business ethics and more.

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) 
 
 

Articles from important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886. Includes industry & market research reports, SWOT analyses, over 600 books and more than 1,200 journals in the areas of business, marketing, management, finance and economics.

Data-Planet Statistical Datasets 
 
 

Provides access to data from government and public domain statistical producing agencies, comprising 35 billion data points from 4.9 billion datasets sourced from more than 70 source organizations. Users can chart, map, and compare 10 million time series at the county, MSA, state and national levels. Includes access to EASI Market Planner.

Data-Planet Statistical Ready Reference  
 
 

Provides simple and refined searching of the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.

ImportGenius 
 
 

Search for import and export customs records for all cargo shipments entering U.S. ports. Records include customers, product lines, and exporting volumes for factories around the world. Users must create an account using their UC Merced email address.

Roper Center iPOLL 
 
 

A database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Create your own account to access additional functionality including data downloading via RoperExpress and online data analysis via RoperExplorer.

Selected Magazine Sources (from Business Source Complete) 
 
 

Select magazine sources from Business Source Complete that may be useful for research on marketing related topics and consumer demographics. The sources include Marketing Communication, Marketing Research, Marketing Week, Journal of Consumer Affairs and others. Note: May be appropriate for MGMT120.

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) 
 
 

Provides access to authoritative and comprehensive statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) 
 

WRDS provides access to historical financial, marketing, and economics data. This data includes company information, security prices & trading volume, income and balance sheet items, stock market indices, bond prices & interest rates, mutual fund & stock ownership information, options data, macroeconomic time series, global data, plus marketing & industry reports. Compustat from Capital IQ is also accessible through UC Merced's subscription to WRDS.

Access to this resources is strictly limited to UC Merced faculty and graduate students. Each individual must obtain an individual login and password by visiting WRDS and selecting the Register tab. Once a Registration request is received, it will be reviewed to ensure it meets WRDS's subscription license requirements before access is made available. For information regarding use of this resource, visit the WRDS site or contact Professor Paul Maglio.

Note: In order to use Wharton with an undergraduate class, the faculty member mustdirectly communicate with WRDS to obtain access.