Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Humanities (General)

Legend

Research Starting Points

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
 
 

A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Academic Search Ultimate (EBSCO) – Trial Access 
 
 

Contains expanded access to academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos in a broad array of disciplines via EBSCOhost. Both English-language and native-language full-text journals from Asia, Oceania, Europe and Latin America are included. Available on a two month UC-wide trial.

ACLS Humanities e-Book 
 

A collection of 1,700 plus full-text titles focused on the humanities. Unlimited multi-user access.

American Doctoral Dissertations (EBSCO)  
 

(1902-present) Includes more than 153,000 theses and dissertations with links to access the full text, when available, via the Institutional Repository where the thesis or dissertation is housed.

ArticleFirst 
 
 

1990 - present.Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
 
 

Arts & Humanities Combined Databases is now The Arts.

Awesome Public Datasets  
 

A list of high-quality open datasets organized into broad subject areas, covering biology, economics, medicine, the social sciences and more.

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) 
 

BASE is a powerful search engine for academic open access web resources. Approximately 75% of the 40 million documents indexed are available in full text.

Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities 
 
 

1990 - present. Access the published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. 30% of content is from journals and 70% from books.

Digital Gazetteer of the Song Dynasty 
 

A database designed to identify the events that transformed the political landscape of the Song Dynasty (960-1276) and developed to support Ruth Mostern's book, Dividing the Realm in Order to Govern: The Spatial Organization of the Song State. Download and utilize the MySQL version of the DGSD for complex or extensive data analysis.

eBooks on EBSCOhost 
 
 

EBSCO now hosts ebooks formerly on the NetLibrary platform. Minimum browser requirements: IE 7.0, Firefox 3.0, and Safari 3.0. Adobe Acrobat Reader required for viewing PDF files. Acrobat Reader 8.2 recommended. Single user access. A title become available when a user leaves the ebook page or closes the browser window.

Ebrary 
 
 

A eBook collection from a variety of academic subject areas. View titles online. Login to use personalized tools such as the bookshelf and highlighting.

Eigenfactor 
 

This web source is used to evaluate journal titles; it ranks and maps scientific knowledge. Eigenfactor includes Article Influence scores which are calculated based on per article citations and assigns Eigenfactor Scores which are a measure of the journal's value for a year. Use the scientific browser to find key journals in a specific field of study.

eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library 
 

A collection of books, journals, working papers, conference proceedings and other scholarly works deposited by academic departments, research units and other centers of the University of California.

Google Scholar 
 

A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical reports.

Harvard University Library 
 

Provides access to visual resource collections that are unique to Harvard University. Includes tens of thousands of images from collections of Chinese Rubbings, Harvard Daguerreotypes, Immigrants to the United States, 19th-Century American Trade Cards, as well as a wide variety of other collections.

Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search) 
 

A digital repository of collections from research libraries including some full-text views. To view complete items, select "Full view only" on the search page.

Heritage of the Printed Book 
 
 

Currently unavailable. 1455-1830. Records for books and serials produced in Europe during the hand-press period.

Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations 
 

1979 - present. Database listing books translated and published in languages of about a hundred UNESCO Member States with more than 1,300,000 notices in all disciplines: literature, social, natural and exact sciences, art, and history.

J-STAGE: Japan Science and Technology Information Aggregator, Electronic 
 

A repository of academic journal articles and research papers created and maintained by the Japan Science and Technology Agency (JSTA) with the majority available as open access content.

Pages