Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Psychology and Cognitive Science

Legend

Research Starting Points

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

CogNet 
 
 

Covers MIT Press, journals, books, and conference proceedings.

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps 
 

Provides access to county-by-county data related to factors that influence health: smoking, obesity, poverty, access to health care, etc. Compiled by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.

Digital Commons Network 
 

Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) 
 
 

1970 - present. Provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Includes publications from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers.

GenderWatch (ProQuest) 
 
 

1970s-present. A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government reports, etc.

Handbook of Child Psychology and Developmental Science 
 
 

Provides comprehensive coverage in the field of developmental science, including thorough explanations of theories and methods. This new seventh edition has been revised to reflect recent advances in the field, including reconceptions of theory, cultural concerns, and applications in each chapter. 

HighWire  
 

Provides access to the online archive of free full-text articles from journals published with HighWire Press. Content concentrates primarily in the fields of biology, medicine, health sciences, psychology and sociology. 

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) 
 
 

ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

International Encyclopedia of the Social & Behavioral Sciences 
 
 

Provides access to over 3,900 articles and 90,000 bibliographic references as well as comprehensive name and subject indexes in the behavioral and social sciences fields.

Medline Plus 
 

Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health. Provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues and links to medical research and information about clinical trials.

National Institute of Mental Health Statistics 
 

Includes an extensive collection of statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders. Also includes statistics on mental health-related disability and suicide.

PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (ProQuest) 
 
 

1871 - present. Citations on literature related to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health issues associated with traumatic events. Produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) 
 
 

1894-present. A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

PsychiatryOnline 
 
 

A collection of psychiatric references from American Psychiatric Publishing including journals, texts, study guides and other resources for diagnosis, treatment, research, and professional development in psychiatry and mental health studies.

Psychology & Counseling: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1969 - present. Contains over 100 full text journals in areas such as applied psychology, environment psychology, language acquisition, personality and social psychology.

PsycINFO (ProQuest) 
 
 

1806-present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.

PubMed 
 
 

1951 - present. Includes more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Use UC-eLinks to link to full text when not otherwise available.

Reader's Guide Retrospective (EBSCO) 
 
 

1890 - 1982. Online version of Reader's Guide to Periodicals, index to general-interest U.S. magazines during the 20th Century.

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
 
 

Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Pages