Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Science (Material)

Legend

Research Starting Points

Alloy Phase Diagram Center Online 
 
 

The ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center allows subscribers to explore, search and view more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 2400 systems from their Web browsers.

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL) 
 

Provides access to a large collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

INSPEC 
 
 

1898 - present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

INSPEC Archive 
 
 

1898 - 1968. Science Abstracts Access over 70 years of international scientific & technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, computing & control engineering.

Knovel Library 
 
 

This reference collection of almost 900 titles includes books from 30 Sci-Tech publishers. The main subject areas include Engineering, Life Sciences & Chemistry, and Materials. All titles are available in full-text and are searchable. Additional features include interactive tables, equation plotters and graph digitizers.

Landolt-Bornstein Archives 
 
 

Data from all areas of physical science and engineering. Available on Portico platform. Click on E-BOOK TITLES (center tab) to see list of titles.

Materials Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1994 - present. Over 5,000 articles from approximately 40 journal titles. Subjects include molecular modeling, natural polymer modification, and liposome stabilization.

Momentum Press 2011 Digital Library 
 
 

45 books from five Topical Engineering Collections: Manufacturing Engineering; Mechanical & Chemical Engineering; Materials Science & Engineering; Civil & Environmental Engineering; General Reference.

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials 
 
 

A reference source with data on approximately 26,000 substances. Used to evaluate the hazardous characteristics of substances. Information on toxicity, flammability, reactivity, and explosive potential is included.

SciFinder Scholar 
 

(From Chemical Abstract Services - CAS) A collection of chemical literature and information databases. Includes CAplus (the online version of Chemical Abstracts), the CAS Registry, and CASREACT. Requires the creation of an account - register here.

SciTech connect 
 

Provides access to publicly-available Department of Energy R & D  technical reports, bibliographic citations, journal articles, conference papers, books, multimedia and data information.  A consolidation of the Information Bridge and the Energy Citations Database search engines.

SIAM e-books 
 

Approximately 400 SIAM books published over the past five decades. Titles cover a wide range of applied mathematics and computational science subject areas.