Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Government Publications

Legend

Research Starting Points

American state papers, 1789-1838 
 
 

(1789-1838) Contains U.S. congressional materials, searchable by subject matter, publication category, committee author, document class or particular Congress. Available via Readex’s Archive of Americana interface.

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications 
 
 

1994 - present.Known as the Monthly Catalog (MOCAT), this is a top choice for finding government documents.

Congress.gov 
 

Provides access to legislative information from the Library of Congress. Includes bills, resolutions, schedules, calendars, committee information, activity in Congress, and more. Previously THOMAS.

Congressional Budget Office Mandate Search 
 

Provides a search tool for intergovernmental and private-sector mandates identified in bills and public laws. Searchable by keywords and filters such as budget functions and costs relative to the statutory thresholds.

Congressional Publications (ProQuest) 
 
 

1789-present. Access to comprehensive collection of Congressional publications including: committee information; committee hearings; committee prints and miscellaneous congressional publications; committee reports; congressional records; congressional rules; House and Senate documents; Senate executive documents and reports, laws, and bills; legislative histories; campaign financial data; key votes and roll calls.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Almanac 
 
 

Offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Magazine 
 
 

Weekly reports on congressional news. Covers virtually every act of Congress, providing nonpartisan news and analysis.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press 
 
 

Simultaneously search CQ Researcher, and Collections for Congress, Supreme Court, Press Public Affairs, Press Voting & Elections, California Political Almanac, Supreme Court Yearbook, Politics in America and Handbook of the World.

Data USA  
 

Combines publicly accessible US government data from a variety of statistical agencies in one website and visualization engine. Created by M.I.T Media Lab, with a focus on critical issues facing the United States in areas like jobs, skills and education across industry and geography.

DataSF 
 

DataSF is a clearinghouse of datasets available from the City & County of San Francisco.

Digital National Security Archive (DNSA) 
 
 

1945 - present. Contains declassified government documents including policy documents, presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, White House communications, email, etc. Covers critical world events from post WWII through the 21st century.

Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions, 1789 – Present 
 
 

1789 – Present. Contains searchable full text of all U.S. bills and resolutions from 1789 to the present. Individual bills may be directly accessed or searched via a composite bill profile page that links out to its various versions. 

EveryCRSReport.com 
 

Contains all congressional research service reports currently available on the Congress' internal website. Documentation on how reports have changed over time and RSS feeds also included.

FedBizOpps 
 
 

FedBizOpps lists U.S. Government procurement invitations and contract awards. Look here for subcontracting leads, surplus property sales, and foreign business opportunities. Alert service available by e-mail.

Federal Digital System (FDSYS) 
 

Provides free online access to official Federal Government publications. Includes presidential documents, congressional bills and reports, economic indicators, federal register, public and private laws and more. The new beta version is also available at govinfo.

govinfo 
 

Provides free public access to more than a million official publications from all three branches of the U.S. Federal Government. A beta site which will eventually replace Federal Digital System.

GPO (Government Printing Office) Catalog via FirstSearch 
 
 

1976 - present.Known as the Monthly Catalog, this is a top choice for finding government documents. Search by subject, title, SuDoc number, etc. Includes any government publications cataloged via the Government Printing Office.

GPO Access (US Government) 
 

Locate online versions of major U.S. government publications such as: the Congressional Record, bills, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, and executive branch documents.

GreenFILE (EBSCO) 
 
 

GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and reports related to the environment. Full text is available for selected titles and references are available for an additional 200 titles.

Homeland Security Digital Library 
 
 

Cross-searchable database of official, unclassified U.S. Government policies on homeland security strategy, policy and research documents. Also includes news and reports, websites and governmental and non-governmental databases. Produced by the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.

Pages