Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: World Cultures

Legend

Research Starting Points

Database of Chinese Classic Ancient Books (中國基本古籍庫) Zhongguo jiben guji ku 
 
 

Includes pre-20th century texts with full-text and images from a variety of subject areas organized into four sections: Philosophy and Science, History and Geography, Art and Literature, and General Works. There are 10,000 titles from the pre-Qin period through to the Republican period.  Available via Erudition.  To search, click the second resource under Products.   Access is restricted to one user at a time.  After use, please log out. Revisit if you are unable to access. 

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO) 
 
 

Includes complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Also includes 60,000 historical articles and hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).

Bibliography of Asian Studies (EBSCO) 
 
 

Contains more than 780,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Claire Holt Indonesian Art Collection 
 
 

Created for the Cornell Indonesian Arts Project, the Claire Holt Papers comprise approximately 1,780 slides of Indonesia and typescript notes about a trip to Indonesia in 1955-1956.

ClasePeriodica 
 
 

CLASE and PERIODICA index over 2,600 Latin American journals in the fields of social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. The merged database also has over 300,000 citations published in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English. Includes, articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, reports, and interview published in journals from 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Columbia Gazetteer of the World 
 
 

Includes names, descriptions and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.

D-PLACE: Database of Places, Language, Culture and Environment 
 

Brings together cultural, linguistic, environmental and geographic information on over 1400 human societies, facilitating comparison and contrast of cultural practices and exploration of factors that may underlie cultural similarities and differences.

Database of Chinese Local Records (中國方志庫) Zhongguo fangzhi ku Database 1 and 2  
 
 

A resource of more than 10,000 local gazetteers and 10 million digitized images from the Song to the Republican eras.  Available via Erudition. To search, select the third line of resources under Product and proceed to log in via the blue button without inserting a user id or password. Then select the blue icon on the far left, top row.  Access is restricted to one user at a time. After use, please log out. Revisit if you are unable to access. 

eHRAF Archaeology 
 
 

A cross-cultural database containing information on world prehistory. Organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

eHRAF World Cultures 
 
 

A cross-cultural database that includes information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Ethnic NewsWatch* (ProQuest) 
 
 

*Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Ethnographic Video Online 
 
 

Covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

Gunsho Ruiju Online 
 
 

A collection of Japanase manuscripts from ancient through to the end of the early modern periods covering history, literature, religion, language, art, politics, economy, society and many other subjects. To access, click the Basic Search button and scroll down to Gunsho Ruiju series under JK Books.

Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) 
 

Contains descriptions of the numerable digital resources developed by IMLS grantees. This database allows you to search hundreds of digital image collections simultaneously.

Library of Congress International Collections 
 

Provides access to images from American Memory Historical Collections as well as international visual resource collections such as the Abdul Hamid II Collection (Ottoman Empire) and the Prokudin-Gorskii Collection (Russian Empire).

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
 
 

SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

UNBISnet (United Nations Bibliographic Information System on the Internet) 
 

UNBIS is the primary bibliographic database of the United Nations. Established in 1979, it offers access to documents of the United Nations and to non-UN publications acquired by the Dag Hammarskjold Library in New York and the UN Library in Geneva.

UNESCO Statistics 
 

Provides global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication. In addition to the rich statistical databases are monographs, articles, surveys, questionnaires, quick facts and much more.

World Digital Library 
 

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The objectives of WDL include intercultural understanding and partnerships as well as providing resources for educators and scholars.

World Heritage (UNESCO) 
 

The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity.