Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Classics

Legend

Research Starting Points

Acta Sanctorum 
 
 

The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete texts of the sixty-eight printed volumes of Acta Sanctorum, published in Antwerp and Brussels, from 1643-1940. Includes all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are also included.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
 

CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

Iter Italicum 
 
 

400 - 1700. Iter Italicum is a not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance through the development and distribution of online resources.

L'Annee philologique 
 
 

This database published by the Societe Internationale de Bibliographie Classique contains 600,000 bibliographic records for the years 1949 to 2008, with 12,500 new records added each year. 1,500 periodicals are analyzed each year as well as 500 articles in collections and conference papers. Publication information for articles is accompanied by a brief abstract.

LUCI (Library of UC Images) 
 
 

A collection of approximately 4,000 images from Ancient Greek and Roman antiquities, as well as California art and architecture.

Online Medieval and Classical Library 
 

(OMACL) Collection of some of the most important works of classical and medieval civilization.

Patrologia Latina 
 
 

The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865.

Perseus Digital Library 
 
 

Database of images, Greek and Latin texts and translations, resources for textual studies and English word searches of the texts.

Project Gutenberg 
 

Access to over 20,000 online titles. Browse or search the catalog.

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
 
 

Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

The Arts (Proquest) 
 
 

Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more. Previously Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest).

Thesaurus Linguae Latinae (TTL) Online 
 
 

The largest dictionary of the Latin language encompassing the use of Latin from its origin to the 7th century A.D.

Yale University Library Digital Collections 
 

Provides access to several important digital image and document collections belonging to Yale University. Includes access to thousands of images from collections such as Arts of the Book Ephemera, Classics Department at Yale, Beinecke Rare Books and Manuscripts, Yale Daily News Historical Archive and Yale University Art Gallery.