Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Religion

Legend

Research Starting Points

18th Century Collections Online (Gale) 
 
 

Digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of texts in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Acta Sanctorum 
 
 

The Acta Sanctorum Database is an electronic version of the complete texts of the sixty-eight printed volumes of Acta Sanctorum, published in Antwerp and Brussels, from 1643-1940. Includes all prefatory material, original texts, critical apparatus and indexes. Bibliotheca Hagiographica Latina reference numbers are also included.

Archives Unbound: Global Missions and Theology (Gale) 
 
 

1800 - 1899. Documents nineteenth century religious missionary activities, practices and thought in the United States through personal narratives, organizational records and biographies of the essential leaders, simple missionaries and churches.

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO) 
 
 

Includes complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Also includes 60,000 historical articles and hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).

ATLA Religion Database (EBSCO) 
 
 

1949 - present.An index to journal articles, book reviews, and collections of essays in religious studies including all the major faiths. Some multimedia citations are available.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

Encyclopaedia of Islam 
 
 

Includes articles on distinguished Muslims, tribes, dynasties, crafts, sciences, political and religious institutions, geography, ethnography, history, topography and monuments of the major Islamic towns and cities.

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an 
 
 

Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history & exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies.

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures 
 
 

Brings together 1,000+ scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. Covers every topic for which there is significant research from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.

Index Islamicus (ProQuest) 
 
 

1906-present. An extensive bibliography of materials written in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Coverage ranges broadly over the history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures of the Muslim world. Journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings and essays are indexed.

Patrologia Latina 
 
 

The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865.

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
 
 

Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

The Goodspeed Manuscript Collection 
 

A collection of 68 early Greek, Syriac, Ethiopic, Armenian, Arabic, and Latin New Testament Bible manuscripts spanning from the 5th to the 19th centuries.  Includes high-quality, zoomable images, as well as metadata about each manuscript’s intellectual content and descriptions of miniatures, watermarks, and heraldic devices. From the University of Chicago Library.

Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) Digital Library  
 
 

TBRC is a registered non-profit corporation dedicated to the preservation, organization and dissemination of Tibetan literature. The collection includes new publications, rare literature and publications from small printing houses, monasteries and educational institutions in China, India, Bhutan, and Nepal.

UC Press E-Books Collection 
 

1982 - 2004. Includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.

World Digital Library 
 

The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The objectives of WDL include intercultural understanding and partnerships as well as providing resources for educators and scholars.