Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: African American Studies

Legend

Research Starting Points

19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) 
 
 

Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers. Emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.

African American Newspapers 
 
 

1827 - 1998. Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

African American Periodicals 1825-1995 
 
 

Fully searchable database features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, and more.

America's Historical Newspapers 
 
 

1690 - 1900. Full text of historical American newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C.  Searchable via Readex’s Archive of Americana interface.  Includes Early American Newspapers series 1 (1690-1876) and 2 (1758-1900) and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980.

Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record 
 

The approximately 1,235 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public.

Black Drama 
 
 

1850 - present.Black Drama contains 908 plays by 171 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,200 plays.

Black Studies Center 
 
 

The Black Studies Center compiles historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.

Black Thought and Culture 
 
 

Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.

Black Women Writers 
 
 

Highlights the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Includes fiction, poetry, and essays.

Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) 
 

1950s - 1960. Browse or search this digital archive of historical new film, digital collections, reference materials, editorial cartoons, transcripts, and diaries that document the civil rights movement. Provided by the University of Georgia.

Independent Voices (Reveal Digital)  
 
 

(1951-2013) A collection of 800 newspapers and journals showcasing alternative press content from the special collections of various libraries.  Focused primarily from the 1960s-1980s, the materials were published by a wide variety of organizations including feminist, counterculture, LGBT and minority groups. 

International index to black periodicals : IIBP full text 
 
 

Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.

Music Online: African American Music Reference 
 
 

This database chronicles the history of music by African Americans over time, including links to external web resources, streaming audio tracks and musical scores. From Alexander Street Press.

Slavery in America and the World: History, Culture & Law 
 

Brings together all known legal materials on slavery in the US and the English-speaking world, as well as materials on free African-Americans in the colonies and the U.S. before 1870. Includes statutes from every state and colony, all federal statutes, all reported state and federal cases on slavery, and hundreds of books and pamphlets on the subject. From HeinOnline.

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

The American Civil War Research Database 
 
 

A resource to obtain statistics, photographs and other information about individuals, regiments and battles of the American Civil War. Analytical research tools are also available.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database 
 

Information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.