Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Native American Studies

Legend

Research Starting Points

America's Historical Newspapers 
 
 

1690 - 1900. Full text of historical American newspapers from all 50 states and Washington, D.C.  Searchable via Readex’s Archive of Americana interface.  Includes Early American Newspapers series 1 (1690-1876) and 2 (1758-1900) and Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980.

American West 
 
 

American West is a unique resource which allows scholars to explore tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes and outlaws and the environmental impact of westward expansion. The collection is a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.

European Views of the Americas (EBSCO) 
 
 

1493 - 1750. Bibliographic database containing more than 32,000 entries. A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.

North American Indian Drama 
 
 

Contains over 250 plays by 49 playwrights representing groups such as Cherokee, Creek, Choctaw, Pembina Chippewa, Ojibway, Lenape, Comanche, Cree, Navajo, Rappahannock, Hawaiian/Samoan, and others. More than half of the works are previously unpublished or hard to find.  A collection from Alexander Street Press.

North American Indian Thought and Culture 
 
 

Includes biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories from indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.

Smithsonian Online Virtual Archives (SOVA) 
 

Provides access to descriptions and inventories of thousands of primary resource collections maintained by archival units across the Smithsonian. The collections document the history of art, culture, music, flight, space exploration, science and technology, and native cultures in the United States, as well as history of the Smithsonian itself.

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

University of Washington Digital Collections 
 

Provides access to tens of thousands of digital images covering a wide variety of subjects with an emphasis on the Pacific Northwest. Also includes maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other ephemera. The collections focus on rare and unique materials.