Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Ethnic Studies

Legend

Research Starting Points

D-PLACE: Database of Places, Language, Culture and Environment 
 

Brings together cultural, linguistic, environmental and geographic information on over 1400 human societies, facilitating comparison and contrast of cultural practices and exploration of factors that may underlie cultural similarities and differences.

eHRAF World Cultures 
 
 

A cross-cultural database that includes information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Ethnic NewsWatch* (ProQuest) 
 
 

*Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Ethnographic Video Online 
 
 

Covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

Independent Voices (Reveal Digital)  
 
 

(1951-2013) A collection of 800 newspapers and journals showcasing alternative press content from the special collections of various libraries.  Focused primarily from the 1960s-1980s, the materials were published by a wide variety of organizations including feminist, counterculture, LGBT and minority groups. 

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

The Gilded Age 
 
 

Full-text, primary documents and critical documentary essays on a variety of topics related to the late nineteenth century in America. Themes include race & ethnicity, labor, western expansion, gender, and social progress.

University of Washington Digital Collections 
 

Provides access to tens of thousands of digital images covering a wide variety of subjects with an emphasis on the Pacific Northwest. Also includes maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other ephemera. The collections focus on rare and unique materials.