Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: African Studies

Legend

Research Starting Points

Africa Development Indicators Online  
 
 

1960+ Social, economic, financial, natural resources, infrastructure, governance, partnership, & environmental indicators on Africa.

Africa-Wide Information (EBSCO) 
 
 

An index for material on Africa from the 19th century to the present. Topics range from politics and law to anthropology and music. It points to various formats including books, journal articles, radio and television broadcasts, newspapers, pamphlets, maps, report, theses, and music recording.

African Writers Series 
 
 

The Heinemann's African Writers Series includes seminal works from the canon of African literature of the 20th century: influential stories, drama, poetry, author biographies and literary works from notable authors such as Nelson Mandela and Nadine Gordimer.

Black Studies Center 
 
 

The Black Studies Center compiles historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.

Black Women Writers 
 
 

Highlights the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Includes fiction, poetry, and essays.

International index to black periodicals : IIBP full text 
 
 

Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.

Maps of Africa 
 
 

Antiquarian maps of Africa from the collections of the late Dr. Oscar I. Norwich and the Stanford University Libraries, dating from the late 15th to early 20th century.

The American Civil War Research Database 
 
 

A resource to obtain statistics, photographs and other information about individuals, regiments and battles of the American Civil War. Analytical research tools are also available.

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database 
 

Information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.