Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Gender and Women's Studies

Legend

Research Starting Points

Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) 
 
 

1991 - present. Index of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO) 
 
 

1969 - 1990. Archives of Alternative Press Index. Includes journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Defining Gender 
 
 

1450 - 1910. Thematically organized documents from 21 libraries for comparative study and research. Manuscripts, printed works and illustrations address key issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives.

Discovering American Women’s History Online 
 

Provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures 
 
 

Brings together 1,000+ scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. Covers every topic for which there is significant research from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.

Everyday Life and Women in America 
 
 

A resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. Comprises thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, & periodicals addressing 19th and early 20th century issues.

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index 
 
 

Contains journal articles, book reviews, book essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Indexing began in 1995.

GenderWatch (ProQuest) 
 
 

1970s-present. A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government reports, etc.

Gerritsen Collection Women's History Online 
 
 

1543 - 1945Trace the evolution of feminism by using digital images from more than 4,700 books, periodicals, letters, diaries and pamphlets from Europe, the U.S., Canada, and New Zealand. Contains over two million page images of primary sources.

Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period 
 
 

Includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. Also offers numerous biographical and critical essays.

Latin American Women Writers 
 
 

Brings together the voices of Latin American women from the 17th century to the present. Includes 120,000 pages of prose, poetry, drama, memoirs, letters and essays in the original languages. Authors are from Central and South America, as well as from Cuba and the Dominican Republic.

LGBT Life (EBSCO) 
 
 

An index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 200 LGBT-specific core periodicals and more than 360 LGBT-specific core books and reference works.

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries 
 
 

100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.

North American Women's Drama 
 
 

This edition of North American Women's Drama contains 1,174 plays by 275 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries 
 
 

(NAWLD) More than 150,000 pages of diaries and letters of over 1300 women, colonial period through 1950. Includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers 
 
 

1500 - 1700. Manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Same-Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature 
 

1997 - present. Includes references for articles supporting and opposing same-sex marriage as well as information on related issues such as parenting and children, taxation, etc. Also includes references to books, symposia and legal information related to same-sex marriage.

Scottish Women Poets 
 
 

Contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry by Scottish women poets, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
 
 

SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Social Theory 
 
 

Provides comprehensive coverage of major social thinkers together with seminal texts from lesser figures.

Pages