Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Gardening and Horticulture

Legend

Research Starting Points

Agricola - National Agricultural Library (NAL) Catalog 
 

Search the National Agricultural Library Catalog and Article Citation Database or browse by subject. Topics covered include agriculture, agronomy, animal science, aquaculture, biology, botany, breeding, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, environment, fertilizers, pesticides, food agriculture, forestry, and horticulture.

AGRIS 
 

AGRIS is the international information system for the agricultural sciences and technology created by the Food and Agriculture Organization (FAO) of the United Nations in 1974. Covers journal articles, books, and reports on agricultural sciences and technology, including fisheries and aquaculture.

Catena Digital Archive of Historic Gardens & Landscapes 
 
 

A collection of historic and contemporary images, including plans, engravings, and photographs, intended to support research and teaching in the fields of garden history and landscape studies.

Core Historical Literature of Agriculture, The 
 

 (1620-1999) A collection created by Cornell University of agricultural texts published primarily between the early nineteenth century and the late twentieth century. Coverage includes agricultural economics, agricultural engineering, animal science, crops and their protection, food science, forestry, human nutrition, rural sociology, and soil science.

Rare Books from the Missouri Botanical Garden Library 
 

Searchable and browsable database of rare botanical and gardening illustrations and text.

Smithsonian Online Virtual Archives (SOVA) 
 

Provides access to descriptions and inventories of thousands of primary resource collections maintained by archival units across the Smithsonian. The collections document the history of art, culture, music, flight, space exploration, science and technology, and native cultures in the United States, as well as history of the Smithsonian itself.