Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Congress

Legend

Research Starting Points

Congressional Budget Office Mandate Search 
 

Provides a search tool for intergovernmental and private-sector mandates identified in bills and public laws. Searchable by keywords and filters such as budget functions and costs relative to the statutory thresholds.

Congressional Publications (ProQuest) 
 
 

1789-present. Access to comprehensive collection of Congressional publications including: committee information; committee hearings; committee prints and miscellaneous congressional publications; committee reports; congressional records; congressional rules; House and Senate documents; Senate executive documents and reports, laws, and bills; legislative histories; campaign financial data; key votes and roll calls.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Almanac 
 
 

Offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Magazine 
 
 

Weekly reports on congressional news. Covers virtually every act of Congress, providing nonpartisan news and analysis.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press 
 
 

Simultaneously search CQ Researcher, and Collections for Congress, Supreme Court, Press Public Affairs, Press Voting & Elections, California Political Almanac, Supreme Court Yearbook, Politics in America and Handbook of the World.

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher 
 
 

CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Congressional Research Service Reports (ProQuest) 
 
 

2004-present. CRS reports provide excellent background information on areas of public policy. The reports are generated by researchers working within the Library of Congress and are created at the request of Members of Congress or their committees.

Digital U.S. Bills and Resolutions, 1789 – Present 
 
 

1789 – Present. Contains searchable full text of all U.S. bills and resolutions from 1789 to the present. Individual bills may be directly accessed or searched via a composite bill profile page that links out to its various versions. 

U.S. Congressional Serial Set 
 
 

1817 - 1980. Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 369,000 publications published in 14,500 volumes and over 11 million pages.