Skip to content Skip to navigation

Database Subject: Anthropology

Legend

Research Starting Points

Anthropology Plus (EBSCO) 
 
 

19th century - present.Indexes articles from over 2500 scholarly journals. Also indexes book chapters, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

AnthroSource 
 
 

A research tool for anthropological scholarship developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Includes peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins.

Cambridge Books Online  
 
 

Access to eBooks by Cambridge University Press, covering subjects from all disciplines across science, technology and medicine, as well as the humanities and social sciences.

D-PLACE: Database of Places, Language, Culture and Environment 
 

Brings together cultural, linguistic, environmental and geographic information on over 1400 human societies, facilitating comparison and contrast of cultural practices and exploration of factors that may underlie cultural similarities and differences.

eHRAF World Cultures 
 
 

A cross-cultural database that includes information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Ethnographic Video Online 
 
 

Covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

Family & Society Studies Worldwide (EBSCO) 
 
 

1970 - present. Provides comprehensive coverage of research, policy, and practice literature in the fields of Family Science, Human Ecology, Human Development, and Social Welfare. Includes publications from professional journals, conference papers, books, book chapters, government reports, discussion and working papers.

PrimateLit 
 

1940 - present.Indexes articles, books, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc. Covers many subject areas including behavior, colony management, veterinary science, physiology, evolution, genetics, and more.

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
 
 

Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Smithsonian Online Virtual Archives (SOVA) 
 

Provides access to descriptions and inventories of thousands of primary resource collections maintained by archival units across the Smithsonian. The collections document the history of art, culture, music, flight, space exploration, science and technology, and native cultures in the United States, as well as history of the Smithsonian itself.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
 
 

SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) 
 
 

1952-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
 
 

1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 100 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.