Databases: A-Z List

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

C19: The Nineteeneth Century Index 
Description: A source for nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Draws on established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about C19: The Nineteeneth Century Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California County Profiles: Financial & Economic Data 
Description: The California County Profiles, updated by the California Department of Finance, is a compilation of selected economic, social, and demographic data for California and its 58 counties.

Comments or questions about California County Profiles: Financial & Economic Data?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC) 
Description: Includes over 150,000 digitized pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-1911. They include the Alta California (1849-1889); the San Francisco Call (1900-1910); the Amador Ledger (1900-1911); the Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911); and the Los Angeles Herald (1905-1907).

Tags:  Alta California, San Francisco Call, Amador Ledger, Imperial Valley Press, Los Angeles Herald, CDNC  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California Energy Network Project Resource Center 
Description: The California Energy Network (CEN), a project sponsored by the UC Riverside Libraries is a clearinghouse of information specifically for the energy industry, with useful information for the interested consumer as well.

Comments or questions about California Energy Network Project Resource Center?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California Health Interview Survey 
Description: CHIS is the nation's largest state health survey. Conducted every two years on a wide range of health topics, CHIS data gives a detailed picture of the health and health care needs of California's large and diverse population.

Comments or questions about California Health Interview Survey?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California Historical Newspapers 
Description: Provides access to many California newspapers of historical significance dating as far back as 1849. Newspapers from San Francisco, Sacramento, San Jose, Stockton and Benicia are included.

Tags:  california gazette, daily democratic state journal, sacramento weekly union, themis, alta California, daily commercial news, daily globe, daily placer times and transcript, mercantile gazette, san francisco bulletin, san francisco evening journal, weekly alta california, weekly pacific news, evening news, san jose mercury news, san joaquin republican  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about California Historical Newspapers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California Quick Facts 
Description: Census links to California data from 2010 census population data, the latest Economic Census, County Business Patterns and other reports.

Tags:  census  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about California Quick Facts?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Calisphere 
Description: A free public gateway to thousands of digitized primary sources - including photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, works of art - from UC museums and libraries and other cultural heritage institutions across California. Designed with a special emphasis on serving California teachers.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Calisphere?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information 
Description: Includes more than 50,000 serial titles and over 600,000 books, reports and conference proceedings in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Includes records for the Canadian Agriculture Library that include books, reports and conference proceedings.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Caribbean Literature 
Description: When complete this database will include 130,000 pages of fiction, poetry and drama. Works are in English, Spanish, French, Dutch and a variety of local languages. Covers from 1900 to the present and includes writers from the entire region, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana and Suriname.

Tags:  poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Caribbean Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications 
Description: 1994 - present. Known as the Monthly Catalog (MOCAT), this is a top choice for finding government documents.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Catalog of U.S. Government Publications?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Catena Digital Archive of Historic Gardens & Landscapes 
Description: A collection of historic and contemporary images, including plans, engravings, and photographs, intended to support research and teaching in the fields of garden history and landscape studies.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Catena Digital Archive of Historic Gardens & Landscapes?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
Description: CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

Tags:  CRL  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Request Materials from CRL  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Center for Research Libraries (CRL)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CHEMnetBASE 
Description: Gateway to web versions of Chapman & Hall/CRC chemical information resources. Contains information on physical property data, structural representations, and chemical synonyms.

Tags:  Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs Pharmasource, The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds, ATSDR's Toxicological Profiles  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About CHEMnetBASE  |  Technical Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about CHEMnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chicago Manual of Style 
Description: Provides recommendations on editorial style and publishing practices. Includes fully searchable Q & A content, and Tools such as sample correspondence, proofreaders' marks, and a quick guide to citation.

Help:  Help  |  Tools  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chicago Manual of Style?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chicano Database (EBSCO) 
Description: Comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Newer records include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Tags:  hispanic, latino, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Chicano Database (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

China Academic Journals 
Description: Contains more than 3,500 full-text Chinese Journals. Content begins as early as 1906 and continues to the mid-twentieth century through 1993. Contains deep backfiles of full text journals with access to the following series only: Series F - Literature/History/Philosophy; Series G - Politics/Military Affairs/Law; Series H - Education & Social Sciences.

Tags:     (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Contact Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about China Academic Journals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

China Online Journals (COJ) 
Description: Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Covers 98.5% of core journals in China. Covers business, economics, arts, humanities, law, politics, social sciences, health, medicine, biology, agriculture and technology.

Tags:  Wanfang_data, COJ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about China Online Journals (COJ)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chinamaxx Digital Library 
Description: Full-text access to over 50,000 Chinese e-book titles from the Beijing SuperStar Digital Library in 22 major categories, including literature, history, law, economics, environmental studies, sciences, medicine, and engineering.

Tags:  Chinese, China  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chinamaxx Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chinese Companies and Products (Chinese)  
Description: Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Search or browse by industry. Information on company profiles, products, capitals, revenues, profits, contact details, web sites, and more is updated on a regular basis.

Tags:  China, Chinese  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chinese Companies and Products (Chinese) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chinese Companies and Products (English) 
Description: Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Search or browse by industry. Information on company profiles, products, capitals, revenues, profits, contact details, web sites, etc, is updated on a regular basis.

Tags:  China  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chinese Companies and Products (English)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chronicle of Higher Education 
Description: A news source for academia, it includes information on jobs for college and university faculty and administration.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chronicle of Higher Education?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chronicle of Philanthropy 
Description: Provides news and grant information for tax-exempt organizations in health, education, religion, the arts, social services, and other fields.

Comments or questions about Chronicle of Philanthropy?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers  
Description: Search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online 
Description: Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.

Help:  Access Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CiNii Citation Information by National Institute of Informatics NII Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator 
Description: Provides access to articles and books from Japanese sources including the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index. The National Institute of Informatics has compiled 2.8 million PDF articles in NII-ELS. Available in English and Japanese.

Comments or questions about CiNii Citation Information by National Institute of Informatics NII Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CiteSeer 
Description: A search engine which crawls academic and scientific documents (primarily in the areas of computer science, information science, and engineering) and considers the citation impact when ranking results.

Help:  CiteSeer Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about CiteSeer?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) 
Description: 1950s - 1960. Browse or search this digital archive of historical new film, digital collections, reference materials, editorial cartoons, transcripts, and diaries that document the civil rights movement. Provided by the University of Georgia.

Tags:  oral histories, CRDL  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CivilENGINEERINGnetBASE 
Description: From CRCnetBASE. Includes a wide range of valuable works that serve the research needs of civil, structural, and agricultural engineers as well as wastewater managers and architects, including the bestselling Civil Engineering Handbook.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about CivilENGINEERINGnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Claire Holt Indonesian Art Collection 
Description: Created for the Cornell Indonesian Arts Project, the Claire Holt Papers comprise approximately 1,780 slides of Indonesia and typescript notes about a trip to Indonesia in 1955-1956.

Tags:  Indonesia  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Claire Holt Indonesian Art Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ClasePeriodica 
Description: CLASE and PERIODICA index over 2,600 Latin American journals in the fields of social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. The merged database also has over 300,000 citations published in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English. Includes, articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, reports, and interview published in journals from 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Comments or questions about ClasePeriodica?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Classical Music Library 
Description: This is an electronic database of classical music recordings, with digital audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. User may also use the databases option to create playlists and themes.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Classical Music Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CogNet 
Description: Covers MIT Press, journals, books, and conference proceedings.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about CogNet?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences: Collection 1 
Description: A collection of over 50 colloquia covering cell and molecular biology and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Each colloquium is 50 to 100 pages long. Each synthesizes an important research or development topic, written by a prominent contributor to the field.

Tags:  neuroscience  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences: Collection 1?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Columbia Gazetteer of the World 
Description: Includes names, descriptions and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.

Help:  Getting Started  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Columbia Gazetteer of the World?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1982 - present. A collection of full-text articles from approximately 20 journals covering subjects such as mass communication, journalism and public opinion.

Tags:  journalism  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Homepage Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Communication Studies: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

COMPENDEX PLUS 
Description: 1969 - present. Compendex, via Engineering Village 2, contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

Help:  Engineering Village Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about COMPENDEX PLUS?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Comprehensive Physiology (Wiley) 
Description: An authoritative collection of review content in the physiological sciences. Includes the landmark series Handbook of Physiology. Continually updated and expanded.

Tags:  Wiley  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Comprehensive Physiology (Wiley)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science 
Description: 1990 - present. Access the published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. 30% of content is from journals and 70% from books.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities 
Description: 1990 - present. Access the published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. 30% of content is from journals and 70% from books.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Publications (ProQuest) 
Description: 1789-present. Access to comprehensive collection of Congressional publications including: committee information; committee hearings; committee prints and miscellaneous congressional publications; committee reports; congressional records; congressional rules; House and Senate documents; Senate executive documents and reports, laws, and bills; legislative histories; campaign financial data; key votes and roll calls.

Tags:  congress, government, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Topics  |  Content Coverage Chart  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Congressional Publications (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Almanac 
Description: Offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Almanac?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press 
Description: Simultaneously search CQ Researcher, and Collections for Congress, Supreme Court, Press Public Affairs, Press Voting & Elections, California Political Almanac, Supreme Court Yearbook, Politics in America and Handbook of the World.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher 
Description: CQ Researcher reports offer in-depth, unbiased coverage of a pressing political or social issue. Reports cover topics in health, international affairs, education, public policy, the environment, technology, and the U.S. economy.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Tutorial  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Researcher?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Weekly 
Description: Weekly reports on congressional news. Covers virtually every act of Congress, providing nonpartisan news and analysis.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Weekly?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Research Service Reports (ProQuest) 
Description: 2004-present. CRS reports provide excellent background information on areas of public policy. The reports are generated by researchers working within the Library of Congress and are created at the request of Members of Congress or their committees.

Tags:  congress, crs, crs reports, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Congressional Research Service Reports (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Contemporary World Music 
Description: Contemporary World Music contains 50,000 tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions from every continent. It includes genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Contemporary World Music?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Costume Page: Costuming Resources Online 
Description: Links to sites featuring the study and history of costume.

Comments or questions about Costume Page: Costuming Resources Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps 
Description: Provides access to county-by-county data related to factors that influence health: smoking, obesity, poverty, access to health care, etc. Compiled by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about County Health Rankings & Roadmaps?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics 
Description: Contains the most frequently used data in science, including the periodic table of the elements, basic constants and units, thermodynamic and spectroscopic data; electric, magnetic, thermal and structural properties of solids, key data from nuclear science, astronomy and geophysics; and up-to-date health and safety information. Part of the CHEMnetBASE collection.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Credo Reference 
Description: Provides access to a collection of reference books including encyclopedias, dictionaries, measurement conversions and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Credo Reference?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: Full text of 23+ journals covering criminal justice, juvenile delinquency, juvenile justice, corrections, penology, policing, forensic psychology and family and domestic violence. Full text in PDF format.

Help:  Homepage Help  |  Web Tips  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Criminology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA) 
Description: A collaborative effort of Princeton University's Firestone Library and the Princeton Center for Arts and Cultural Policy Studies, CPANDA is a digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States.

Tags:  CPANDA  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Current Chemical Reactions  
Description: (1985 present) Delivers the latest synthetic methods reported in over 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals. Each reaction provides complete reaction diagrams, critical conditions, bibliographic data, and author abstracts.

Help:  Support Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Current Chemical Reactions ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Current Contents Connect  
Description: (1998-present) Provides access to complete tables of contents and bibliographic information from the world's leading scholarly journals and books

Help:  Support Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Current Contents Connect ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Current Protocols Collection (Wiley) 
Description: Titles in 3 subject areas: Chemistry, Life Sciences, Medicine and Healthcare.

Tags:  Wiley  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Current Protocols Collection (Wiley)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project 
Description: The earliest method of recording and reproducing sound was on phonograph cylinders. UCSB Libraries have created a digital collection of nearly 8,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections.

Tags:  recordings  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help & FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444