Databases: A-Z List

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

E-STAT (Statistics Canada | Statistique Canada) 
Description: Economic, political, and social data covering Canada and its provinces with select data, 1665 - 2011.

Tags:  canada, census  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about E-STAT (Statistics Canada | Statistique Canada)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early American Imprints Series I: Evans 
Description: 1639 - 1800. A major collection of 17th and 18th century books and pamphlets based on Charles Evans American Bibliography. Covers every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, & more. (Use Series II for 1801-1819.)

Help:  Help Contents  |  What Is Archive of Americana?  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Early American Imprints Series I: Evans?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 
Description: 1801 - 1819. Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, this primary source collection provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books & pamphlets published in the first 19 years of the nineteenth century. (Use Series I for 1639-1800.)

Help:  Help Contents  |  What Is Archive of Americana?  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early California Population Project 
Description: Provides public access to all the information contained in California's historic mission registers, records that are of unique and vital importance to the study of California, the American Southwest, and colonial America. Includes baptism, marriage, and burial records of each of the California missions.

Help:  ECPP User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Early California Population Project?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early Encounters in North America 
Description: This release contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of material: letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in North America. The collection is centered on present-day Canada and the U. S. with limited coverage of Mexico.

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Early Encounters in North America?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early English Books Online (EEBO) 
Description: 1475 - 1700. Full text and page images of books from English language titles. Search by subject, title, author. Contains over 100,000 titles. Includes works listed in Pollard & Redgrave's Short-Title Catalogue (1475-1640), Wing's Short-Title Catalogue (1641-1700), and the Thomason Tracts (1640-1661).

Tags:  EEBO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Search Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: No download or log-in required. Multiple user simultaneous access. Print or save entire book or specified page ranges. Full-text searching. Save citations and records.

Comments or questions about Early English Books Online (EEBO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest) 
Description: 1971-present. Citations and abstracts for coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. Includes information on conference proceedings, research reports, monographs, technical reports, patents, press releases, newsletter items and journal articles.

Tags:  Proquest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

EBL (Electronic Book Library) 
Description: EBL titles cover a range of disciplines and topics. Login with your UCMnetID to view full text titles.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: Adobe reader required. Multiple user simultaneous access. Download to "checkout" for specified loan period. Print up to 20% of total pages. Full-text searching. Only selected titles available when using Guest Network.

Comments or questions about EBL (Electronic Book Library)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eBooks on EBSCOhost 
Description: EBSCO now hosts ebooks formerly on the NetLibrary platform. Minimum browser requirements: IE 7.0, Firefox 3.0, and Safari 3.0. Adobe Acrobat Reader required for viewing PDF files. Acrobat Reader 8.2 recommended. Single user access. A title become available when a user leaves the ebook page or closes the browser window.

Tags:  netlibrary  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Support  |  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eBooks on EBSCOhost?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ebrary 
Description: A eBook collection from a variety of academic subject areas. View titles online. Login to use personalized tools such as the bookshelf and highlighting.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: Browser plug-in required. Log-in required for bookshelf feature to highlight or mark text. Multiple user simultaneous access. No downloading or saving. Print entire book or specified page ranges. Full-text searching.

Comments or questions about Ebrary?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

EconLit (ProQuest) 
Description: 1969-present. Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about EconLit (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Economic Data: Federal Reserve Bank 
Description: Thousands of time series of regional and national financial and economic data, downloadable in spreadsheet or text formats.

Tags:  banking, consumer price index  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Economic Data: Federal Reserve Bank?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU) 
Description: The Economist Intelligence Unit is the world's foremost provider of country, industry and management analysis. EIU includes monthly reports on each country with a focus on political and economic information including the future outlook for each country.

Tags:  EIU  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Economist Intelligence Unit (EIU)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

EDGAR 
Description: U.S. Securities & Exchange Commission filings.

Tags:  filings  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Quick Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about EDGAR?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

EdStats 
Description: EdStats collects worldwide data on education from national statistical reports, statistical annexes of new publications, and other data sources.

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about EdStats?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Education Index Retrospective (EBSCO) 
Description: 1929 - 1983. Indexing of over 500 English-language periodicals covering topics such as distance learning, parent-teacher relations, vocational education, and teaching methods.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Education Index Retrospective (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Education News 
Description: Covers U.S. and world media publications, commentaries and reports for K-12 and Higher Education. Includes views on education issues from all sides of the political spectrum.

Comments or questions about Education News?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Education Source (EBSCO) 
Description: Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Education Source (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1968 - present. Full-text of peer-reviewed journals on education topics including diversity, teaching methods, leadership, and testing.

Help:  Basic Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eHRAF Archaeology 
Description: A cross-cultural database containing information on world prehistory. Organized by archaeological traditions and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  User Guides  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eHRAF Archaeology?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eHRAF World Cultures 
Description: A cross-cultural database that includes information on all aspects of cultural and social life. Information is organized by cultures and ethnic groups and the full-text sources are subject-indexed at the paragraph level.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  User Guides  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eHRAF World Cultures?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Eigenfactor 
Description: This web source is used to evaluate journal titles; it ranks and maps scientific knowledge. Eigenfactor includes Article Influence scores which are calculated based on per article citations and assigns Eigenfactor Scores which are a measure of the journal's value for a year. Use the scientific browser to find key journals in a specific field of study.

Help:  Why Eigenfactor?  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Eigenfactor?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE 
Description: From CRCnetBASE. Offers a diverse range of references, covering everything from VLSI and semiconductor design to power engineering, signal processing, and MEMS devices.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Empire Online 
Description: 1492 - 2007. A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies from libraries and archives around the world. Developed to encourage undergraduate work with rare primary documents by using images of the texts rather than transcriptions.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Empire Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Emporis Buildings 
Description: The world's largest publicly available database on architectural and building data.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Emporis Buildings?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Encyclopaedia of Islam 
Description: Includes articles on distinguished Muslims, tribes, dynasties, crafts, sciences, political and religious institutions, geography, ethnography, history, topography and monuments of the major Islamic towns and cities.

Help:  Help  |  Help with fonts, special characters and appearance of the text  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Encyclopaedia of Islam?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an 
Description: Brill's Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an (EQ) combines alphabetically-arranged articles about the contents of the Qur'an. It is an encyclopaedic dictionary of qur'anic terms, concepts, personalities, place names, cultural history & exegesis extended with essays on the most important themes and subjects within qur'anic studies.

Tags:  islam  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Help with fonts, special characters and appearance of the text  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Encyclopaedia of the Qur'an?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Encyclopedia of Taiwan 
Description: (Taiwan Wenxian Congkan) Includes abstracts and indexing from thousands of books, this database contains 595 books divided into 309 categories. The largest single database on Taiwanese history in the Chinese language. Incorporates local histories, official documents of the Ming, Qin and Nan-Ming Dynasties, poetry, and private collections.

Comments or questions about Encyclopedia of Taiwan?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures 
Description: Brings together 1,000+ scholars to write critical essays on women, Muslim and non-Muslim and Islamic cultures in every region where there have been significant Muslim populations. Covers every topic for which there is significant research from the period just before the rise of Islam to the present.

Help:  Help  |  Help with fonts, special characters and appearance of the text  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Encyclopedia of Women & Islamic Cultures?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ENGnetBASE 
Description: A collection of engineering handbooks.

Help:  Engineering Village Help (.pdf)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ENGnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ENVIROnetBASE 
Description: From CRCnetBASE: The latest research on pollution reduction, emissions, and environmental contamination, this e-book collection provides complete access to references on methods for site assessment, remediation, and soil and water quality monitoring. The Environmental Science Collection describes new tools and technologies for remote sensing, GIS, and photogrammetric environmental monitoring.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ENVIROnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

EPrint Network 
Description: Department of Energy's gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about EPrint Network?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ergonomic Abstracts (EBSCO) 
Description: Provides indexing for eBooks, journal articles, book chapters and conference proceedings in the field of ergonomics. Includes information related to safety science, occupational health, biomechanics, physiology and more.

Tags:  physiology, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ergonomic Abstracts (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (ProQuest) 
Description: 1966-present. Covers all areas of education, including adult, urban, rural, vocational, elementary, early childhood, handicapped, gifted, and higher education. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library 
Description: A collection of books, journals, working papers, conference proceedings and other scholarly works deposited by academic departments, research units and other centers of the University of California.

Help:  Help & FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

esp@cenet (European Patent Office) 
Description: Freely available worldwide patent search from the European Patent Office.

Tags:  europe  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about esp@cenet (European Patent Office)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Estate Project for Artists with AIDS 
Description: Initiated by the Alliance for the Arts, the Estate Project for Artists with Aids seeks to preserve the cultural legacy of the AIDS crisis so that future generations can enjoy, study and engage artworks as aesthetic achievements and historical documents.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Estate Project for Artists with AIDS?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ethnic NewsWatch* (ProQuest) 
Description: *Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Tags:  news, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Search  |  Top Questions Regarding Basic Search  |  Proquest Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ethnic NewsWatch* (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ethnographic Video Online 
Description: Covers every region of the world and features the work of many of the most influential documentary filmmakers of the 20th century, including interviews, previously unreleased raw footage, field notes, study guides, and more.

Tags:  documentary  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ethnographic Video Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

European Views of the Americas (EBSCO) 
Description: 1493 - 1750. Bibliographic database containing more than 32,000 entries. A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.

Tags:  Europe, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about European Views of the Americas (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Eurostat 
Description: Eurostat provides the European Union with statistics at European level that enable comparisons between countries and regions. Useful data for governments, businesses, the education sector, journalists and researchers.

Tags:  Europe  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Eurostat?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Everyday Life and Women in America 
Description: A resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. Comprises thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, & periodicals addressing 19th and early 20th century issues.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Everyday Life and Women in America?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Explore the British Library 
Description: Search, view and order items from the British Library's collection of nearly 57 million records.

Tags:  Europe, England, Britain  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Explore the British Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444