Databases: A-Z List

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Hand Press Book Database 
Description: 1455-1830. Records for books and serials produced in Europe during the hand-press period.

Help:  Using Institution Records (.pdf)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hand Press Book Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Handbook of Latin American Studies 
Description: 1935 - present. A bibliography of books, journal articles, proceedings in social sciences and humanities, edited by scholars selected by the Library of Congress.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Handbook of Latin American Studies?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index 
Description: 1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.

Help:  Frequently Asked Questions  |  HAPI Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

HarpWeek 
Description: 1857 - 1912. Provides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly a weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century. Besides coverage of news and opinion, the database includes illustrations, cartoons, literature, biographies and advertisements.

Tags:  harper's weekly  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about HarpWeek?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation Research Grants 
Description: The foundation welcomes proposals from any of the natural and social sciences and the humanities that promise to increase understanding of the causes, manifestations, and control of violence and aggression.

Comments or questions about Harry Frank Guggenheim Foundation Research Grants?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hartill Collection 
Description: The Hartill collection contains 16,660 images of art and architecture (primarily architecture). The Hartill Collection includes works from major periods, and monuments such as the Great Pyramids at Giza, Stonehenge, and the Viet Nam War Memorial. Covers the architectural history of the Western world from earliest antiquity through the present, and from the Middle East to the Americas. Includes thousands of details of architectural decoration, mosaics, sculpture and stained glass, as well as related decorative arts and public sculpture. Exceptionally strong in European medieval architecture and sculpture of the Romanesque and Gothic periods; additionally, modern architecture and sculpture are both especially well represented.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hartill Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Harvard University Library 
Description: Provides access to visual resource collections that are unique to Harvard University. Includes tens of thousands of images from collections of Chinese Rubbings, Harvard Daguerreotypes, Immigrants to the United States, 19th-Century American Trade Cards, as well as a wide variety of other collections.

Comments or questions about Harvard University Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hathi Trust (Traditional Catalog Search) 
Description: A digital repository of collections from research libraries including some full-text views. This search defaults to searching full view texts. Download books and create collections using your UCMnetID.

Tags:  HathiTrust  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hathi Trust (Traditional Catalog Search)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search) 
Description: A digital repository of collections from research libraries including some full-text views. To view complete items, select "Full view only" on the search page.

Tags:  worldcat, hathitrust  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help FAQ  |  About  |  Traditional Catalog Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

HBO Archives 
Description: HBO Archives provides access to footage of their award-winning television programs and feature films. Archive categories include sports, wildlife, entertainment news, archival and contemporary.

Tags:  television, news  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about HBO Archives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Herbal Safety 
Description: The website has two primary purposes: To disseminate information about research findings related to herbal use in our region, as well as to provide information about the safety of herbal product use in both English and Spanish. This feature makes it one of the few bilingual websites specifically developed to disseminate non-commercial information about medicinal plants.

Tags:  herbs,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Herbal Safety?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hispanic American Newspaper 
Description: 1808 - 1980. A collection of Spanish-language and Spanish/English newspapers printed in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage begins in 1808 with the first Spanish-language newspaper printed in the U.S.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hispanic American Newspaper?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) 
Description: Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use American History and Life.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  EBSCO Host Research Databases Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Historical Newspapers (Chadwyck-Healey)  
Description: Provides access to Palmer's Index to the Times, (1790-1905), Historical Index to the New York Times, (1851-1923), and Official Index to The Times, (190 -1980).

Tags:  Chadwyck-Healey  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Search Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Historical Newspapers (Chadwyck-Healey) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Historical Photograph Collections at the Arizona State Archives 
Description: Photographs focus upon the unique cultural heritage of the state and territory of Arizona, beginning in 1863 and include examples of all types of photographic process; tintypes, glass lantern slides, and photographic postcards.

Comments or questions about Historical Photograph Collections at the Arizona State Archives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition 
Description: Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

Help:  Introduction to HSUS Millennial Edition  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

History of Science, Technology and Medicine (EBSCO) 
Description: 1975 - present. Covers a wide range of topics in the history of science.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about History of Science, Technology and Medicine (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

History Vault (ProQuest) 
Description: Includes primary source materials from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collection. Provides access to letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, etc. from collections focused on the Viet Nam War and related Public Policy, and the Black Freedom struggle in the 20th century.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about History Vault (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Home Textiles Today 
Description: An online Cahners publication that provides links to textile-related sites, as well as news articles on the industry. It also gives sales information for many textile retailers.

Tags:  costume,  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Home Textiles Today?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Homeland Security Digital Library 
Description: Cross-searchable database of official, unclassified U.S. Government policies on homeland security strategy, policy and research documents. Also includes news and reports, websites and governmental and non-governmental databases. Produced by the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Homeland Security Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hong Kong's War Crimes Trials Collection 
Description: Provides details of and access to the case files of 46 trials involving persons tried in Hong Kong for war crimes committed during the Second World War. Some documents available only to those based at universities in Hong Kong.

Tags:  WWII, World War II  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Hong Kong's War Crimes Trials Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hoover Institution Poster Collection 
Description: Features posters from around the world. The largest number are from the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, the Russian empire and the Soviet Union, and France.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hoover Institution Poster Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

House of Commons Parlimentary Papers 
Description: These papers are important to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world. Includes filmed images of original Parliamentary Papers dating as far back as 1688.

Help:  HCPP Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about House of Commons Parlimentary Papers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

HTML Code Tutorial 
Description: The goal of the site is to "provide the most helpful and complete guide to creating web pages anywhere." Includes information on Java applets, fonts, images, scripts, Cascading Style Sheets, and tables. Tutorials include easy to follow examples.

Comments or questions about HTML Code Tutorial?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Human Relations Area Files 
Description: Human Relations Area Files is now eHRAF Archaeology and eHRAF World Cultures.

Comments or questions about Human Relations Area Files?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444