Databases: A-Z List

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Icelandic Photos 
Description: Photographs by the acclaimed British artist, photographer and traveler Frederick W.W. Howell. landscapes, farmsteads, towns and people in a remarkable series of photographs from Iceland and the Faeroe Islands.

Tags:  Iceland  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Icelandic Photos?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature  
Description: Citations of known published and unpublished works resulting from analyses of data held in the ICPSR archive.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ICPSR Bibliography of Data-Related Literature ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

IEEE Xplore 
Description: 1913 - present. Full-text access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and from the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). These publications include transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards.

Help:  User Guide (.pdf)  |  Help Home  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about IEEE Xplore?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ILOLEX (Database of International Labour Standards) 
Description: 1926 - present. Trilingual database containing ILO conventions and recommendations, ratification information, comments of the Committee of Experts and the Committee on Freedom of Association, representations, complaints, interpretations, General Surveys, and numerous related documents.

Tags:  labor  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help & Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ILOLEX (Database of International Labour Standards)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Images of America: a History of American Life in Images and Texts 
Description: Over 1 million historical images and texts from local history books, celebrating the places and faces that give America its spirit and life.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Images of America: a History of American Life in Images and Texts?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ImportGenius 
Description: Search for import and export customs records for all cargo shipments entering U.S. ports. Records include customers, product lines, and exporting volumes for factories around the world. Users must create an account using their UC Merced email address.

Tags:  trade  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about ImportGenius?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

In the First Person 
Description: A landmark index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Covers more than 300,000 individual accounts.

Tags:  oral histories,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about In the First Person?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index Chemicus  
Description: (1993 present) Provides access to chemical compound information and research data, allowing scholars to analyze trends, and share their findings. Covers more than 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals, offering full graphical summaries, important reaction diagrams, and complete bibliographic information.

Comments or questions about Index Chemicus ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index Islamicus (ProQuest) 
Description: 1906-present. An extensive bibliography of materials written in European languages on Islam, the Middle East and the Muslim world. Coverage ranges broadly over the history, beliefs, societies, cultures, languages and literatures of the Muslim world. Journal articles, books, reviews, conference proceedings and essays are indexed.

Tags:  islam, muslim  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Index Islamicus (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (EBSCO) 
Description: Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century. Describes the entire journal contents including articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements.

Tags:  nineteenth century, nineteenth_century  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index to Black Periodicals 
Description: Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Index to Black Periodicals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations 
Description: 1979 - present. Database listing books translated and published in languages of about a hundred UNESCO Member States with more than 1,300,000 notices in all disciplines: literature, social, natural and exact sciences, art, and history.

Help:  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

India, Raj & Empire 
Description: Drawing upon the unique manuscript archives of the National Library of Scotland this project provides a fully searchable online resource for studying the relationship between Britain and the British Empire in India. Manuscripts include diaries, journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about India, Raj & Empire?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

InfoMat: The Largest Fashion Industry Search Engine 
Description: Locates businesses related to the fashion industry. Categories include associations, buying offices, designer collections, dresses, eveningwear, notions & trim, sales reps, sportswear, textiles, and buyer-to-buyer exchanges.

Tags:  costume,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about InfoMat: The Largest Fashion Industry Search Engine?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

InfoSECURITYnetBASE 
Description: Established experts meet the challenges of information security, with a wealth of material exploring system analysis, server set-up, cryptography, cyber-crime, and other modern risks. The collection also includes the complete CISSP Exam Prep Book and other top certification aids.

Tags:  cryptography  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about InfoSECURITYnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPEC 
Description: 1898 - present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

Tags:  bioinformatics  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Online Help  |  Subject Searching (Video)  |  Advanced Searching (Video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about INSPEC?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPEC Archive 
Description: 1898 - 1968. Science Abstracts Access over 70 years of international scientific & technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, computing & control engineering.

Help:  Online Help  |  How to Search (Video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about INSPEC Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPIRE: High-Energy Physics Literature Database 
Description: 1974 - present. Indexes high-energy physics articles, including journal papers, preprints, e-prints, technical reports, conference papers and theses. Links to citing papers for journal articles and preprints. SPIRES also provides citation counts for articles and preprints, as well as special reports on highly cited papers.

Tags:  Stanford Linear Accelerator, HEP  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about INSPIRE: High-Energy Physics Literature Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Institute of Development Studies (IDS) 
Description: 1990 - present. Lists books and articles on economic and social issues in developing countries.

Tags:  IDS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Search by subject  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Institute of Development Studies (IDS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) 
Description: Contains descriptions of the numerable digital resources developed by IMLS grantees. This database allows you to search hundreds of digital image collections simultaneously.

Tags:  museums, IMLS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) 
Description: ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Tags:  ICPSR  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (ProQuest) 
Description: 1973-present. Provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship for European art from late antiquity to present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Also includes coverage of painting, sculpture, drawing, folk art, antiques and other visual art in all media.

Tags:  ProQuest, IBA  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (ProQuest) 
Description: 1874-present. Provides indexes, abstracts and selected full text for hundreds of music journals covering research on topics such as performance, theory, composition, music education, jazz and ethnomusicology. Includes scholarly and popular materials.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Home Page  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about International Index to Music Periodicals Full Text (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

International Index to Nineteenth Century Music Periodicals (RIPM) 
Description: The online version of the Repertoire international de la press musicale, containing article citations for over 65 primarily 19th century periodicals published in most European countries and the United States.

Tags:  RIPM  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about International Index to Nineteenth Century Music Periodicals (RIPM)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest) 
Description: 1864-present. Indexes more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, as well as a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events.

Tags:  dance, drama, comedy, opera, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Home Page  |  Tutorial: Finding Film Reviews  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

International Monetary Fund 
Description: The primary purpose of the IMF is to ensure the stability of the international monetary system. The IMF website includes data and statistics, country information, news and events, publications, reports and more.

Tags:  imf  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help for first time visitors.   |  FAQ  |  Search Tips  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about International Monetary Fund?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Internet Broadway Database 
Description: A source for finding the original production information for theater openings from the beginning of the New York Theater to the present. Provides a listing of cast members, credits and statistics.

Help:  FAQ/Contacting IBDB  |  IBDB Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Internet Broadway Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Internet Movie Database 
Description: Reviews, plot summaries, cast information; television too: over 200,000 movie and TV titles are covered.

Tags:  television  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  IMDB Frequently Asked Questions  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Internet Movie Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

iPoll (Roper Center) 
Description: A database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Create your own account to access additional functionality including data downloading via RoperExpress and online data analysis via RoperExplorer.

Tags:  polls, roper center  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Tutorial  |  Dataset Search Tutorial  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about iPoll (Roper Center)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period 
Description: Includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. Also offers numerous biographical and critical essays.

Tags:  Ireland, poems, poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

iScienceSearch 
Description: iScienceSearch is an internet search engine for chemists and biologists. Searches more than 60 data sources including Google, PubChem, and ChemSpider. Results can be sorted, filtered or grouped. Does not replace SciFinder. Users must allow Pop-up windows.

Help:  Information/Search Tips  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about iScienceSearch?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Islamic Finance Information Service (IFIS) 
Description: Primary source for all aspects of Islamic finance.

Tags:  IFIS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Islamic Finance Information Service (IFIS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ISN International Relations & Security Network 
Description: Open access information service for international relations and security professionals. Includes grey literature, primary source material, books and journals. Primarily in English.

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ISN International Relations & Security Network?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Iter Italicum 
Description: 400 - 1700. Iter Italicum is a not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance through the development and distribution of online resources.

Comments or questions about Iter Italicum?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444