Databases: A-Z List

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

NASA Astrophysics Data System 
Description: Includes four sets of abstracts: astronomy and astrophysics, instrumentation, physics and geophysics, and Los Alamos National Laboratory preprints.

Comments or questions about NASA Astrophysics Data System?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NASA Image eXchange 
Description: (NIX) Cross-database search of images from NASA. Also includes images from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, the Johnson Space Center, the Ames Research Center and others.

Comments or questions about NASA Image eXchange?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NASA Image Gallery 
Description: Includes an image of the day (and over 700 archived images) and various other NASA multimedia resources, including podcasts, 3D resources, video, and more.

Comments or questions about NASA Image Gallery?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER) 
Description: Searchable online archive of downloadable economics working papers by the National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER).

Help:  NBER Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Bureau of Economic Research (NBER)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf 
Description: (NCBI) The Bookshelf contains searchable full-text biomedical books.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Center for Early Development & Learning 
Description: NCEDL is a national early childhood research project supported by the US Department of Education's Institute for Educational Sciences (IES), formerly the Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI). Administratively based at the FPG Child Development Institute, NCEDL is a collaboration with the University of Virginia & UCLA.

Comments or questions about National Center for Early Development & Learning?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and Literacy 
Description: (NCSALL) A federally funded research and development center focused solely on adult learning. NCSALL's efforts are dedicated to improving practice in educational programs that serve adults with limited literacy and English language skills, and those without a high school diploma.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and Literacy?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Conference of State Legislatures 
Description: Founded in 1975, NCSL is a bipartisan organization that serves the legislators and staffs of the nation's 50 states, its commonwealths and territories. NCSL provides research, technical assistance and opportunities for policymakers to exchange ideas on the most pressing state issues.

Help:  User Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Conference of State Legislatures?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS) 
Description: Summaries of 160,000 criminal justice publications: books, articles and research reports; plus a collection of full text documents and links to web sites on all aspects of criminal justice.

Help:  Site Help  |  Search Questions and Answers  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Criminal Justice Reference Service (NCJRS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Criminal Justice Reference System Abstracts 
Description: 1970s - present. Summaries of U.S. criminal justice publications, including Federal, State and local government reports, books, journal articles, other research. NCBI

Help:  Basic Search Help  |  Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Criminal Justice Reference System Abstracts?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Gallery of Art Images  
Description: Includes over 25,000 open access digital images from the National Gallery of Art.

Tags:  NGA  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Gallery of Art Images ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals (NICNP) 
Description: 1833 - present. Contains over 25 million entries from about 16 thousand newspapers and periodicals from mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, with a yearly update of 3.5 million entries.

Tags:  China  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals (NICNP)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Institute of Mental Health Statistics 
Description: Includes an extensive collection of statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders. Also includes statistics on mental health-related disability and suicide.

Comments or questions about National Institute of Mental Health Statistics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Palace Museum Online (NPM Online) 
Description: Photo images and related description articles of all the collections exhibited in NPM Online are authorized by the National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan. "NPM Online" is a database application aimed at educational promotion and academic exchanges, which is available with versions of four languages, including traditional Chinese, simplified Chinese, Japanese, and English.

Tags:  NPM  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about National Palace Museum Online (NPM Online)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan 
Description: Images of approximately 5,000 selected masterpieces from the Chinese imperial collection representing paintings, examples of calligraphy, rare books and manuscripts, sculpture, ceramics, metalwork, jades, decorative arts, and utilitarian objects, from prehistory (Xia dynasty) to the early 20th century.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Technical Information Service (NTIS) 
Description: 1990 - present. A resource for U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering and business information.

Tags:  NTIS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Download Help (.pdf)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Technical Information Service (NTIS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Technical Reports Library 
Description: Provides convenient access to the full text of 50,000 documents from the National Technical Information Service's comprehensive collection of federally-funded technical reports. An additional 1,500,000 documents are indexed and often available through Interlibrary Loan.

Comments or questions about National Technical Reports Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Naxos Music Library (NML) 
Description: Naxos Music Library is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. NML can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. With the new iPhone / iPod Touch App subscribers can also access the service on the go.

Tags:  NML  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Member's User Guide  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Naxos Music Library (NML)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Naxos Music Library Jazz 
Description: Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. Contains more than 3000 CDs and new CDs are added every month.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Naxos Music Library Jazz?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Net Advance of Physics 
Description: Offers an A-Z topics index and a hierarchical index of Web links to free physics review articles and tutorials and physics internet sites.

Comments or questions about Net Advance of Physics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NTLTD) 
Description: Search and locate electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Some documents are restricted to specific educational institutions while others are freely available for download.

Tags:  NTLTD  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NTLTD)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New EarthExplorer 
Description: Search and download Global Land Survey data in the USGS archive.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New EarthExplorer?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New England Journal of Medicine Archive  
Description: 1812 - 1989. The NEJM Archive is a vital resource for teaching and research. With over 150,000 articles, 8,657 issues, 478,000 pages, 85,316 images, and 610,000 references dating back to 1812, the NEJM Archive is a comprehensive information source.

Help:  FAQ  |  Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New England Journal of Medicine Archive ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New York Public Library Digital Gallery 
Description: Digitized images from the collections of the New York Public Library.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New York Public Library Digital Gallery?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New York Public Library Mid-Manhattan Library Picture Collection Online 
Description: Includes 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923. Subjects include African-Americans, American History, Clothing & Dress, Costume, Native Americans, New York City, Slavery and Textiles.

Help:  Quick Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New York Public Library Mid-Manhattan Library Picture Collection Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New York Times (ProQuest) 
Description: 1980-present. Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New York Times (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Newsbank: Access World News 
Description: Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.

Tags:  Arlington Morning News, Boston Globe, Charlotte Observer, Dallas Morning News, Denver Post, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Fresno Bee, Kansas City Star, Los Angeles Times, Merced Sun-Star, Modesto Bee, Miami Herald, New York Times, New York Sun, New York Post, Oakland Tribune, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, Sacramento Bee, San Diego Union-Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Seattle Times, Washington Post  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Searching  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Newsbank: Access World News?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NewsBank: Special Reports 
Description: NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms.

Tags:  current_events  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about NewsBank: Special Reports?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) 
Description: Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 major U.S. and International newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Tags:  news, television, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Newspaper Source (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NewspaperSG (Singapore)  
Description: 1831 - 2009. An online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers from the National Library of Singapore.

Tags:  Singapore  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about NewspaperSG (Singapore) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Parts 1-4  
Description: Access to collections of primary sources from Asia and the West. Includes Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange, British Politics and Society, British Theater, Music, and Literature.

Tags:  NCCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Nineteenth Century Collections Online (NCCO) Parts 1-4 ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NIST Chemistry WebBook 
Description: Chemical and physical property data provided and maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Users can find data in the NIST Chemistry WebBook either by direct searches for chemical species or indirect searches based on related data.

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about NIST Chemistry WebBook?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories 
Description: Provides access to personal accounts of immigrants who came to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Indian Thought and Culture 
Description: Includes biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories from indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.

Tags:  first_nations, diaries, oral histories  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Guides  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Indian Thought and Culture?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Theatre Online 
Description: More than 40,000 pages of critical, in-copyright reference works about authors, plays, theatres, productions, production companies, casts and related information covering the world of theatre from colonial times to the present.

Tags:  drama,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Theatre Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Women's Drama 
Description: This edition of North American Women's Drama contains 1,174 plays by 275 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Tags:  drama  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Women's Drama?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Women's Letters and Diaries 
Description: (NAWLD) More than 150,000 pages of diaries and letters of over 1300 women, colonial period through 1950. Includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Women's Letters and Diaries?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server 
Description: 1951 - present. Provides research reports, journal articles, conference and meeting papers, technical videos, mission-related operational documents and preliminary data of NASA's technical literature. This resource includes both citations and full-text documents. Use the Advanced Search option to access additional non-NASA information.

Help:  NTRS Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about NTRS: NASA Technical Reports Server?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NUCMC: The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections 
Description: Cooperative cataloging program maintained by the Library of Congress on behalf of manuscript collections around the U.S. Includes a catalog of new holdings from 1986-present, directories of repositories nationwide and other resources.

Help:  FAQ  |  Search FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about NUCMC: The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Nursing & Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1982 - present. Over 7,000 full-text articles from 25 plus journals covering topics such as mental disorders, research methods, child psychiatry, psychopathology and nursing.

Help:  Homepage Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Nursing & Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444