Databases: A-Z List

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) (ProQuest) 
Description: Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Papers First 
Description: 1993 - present. Records for papers presented at worldwide conferences, symposia, meetings, workshops, and congresses in the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Physical and Life Sciences. To search by conference name use Proceedings.

Comments or questions about Papers First?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Patrologia Latina 
Description: The Patrologia Latina comprises the works of the Church Fathers from Tertullian in 200 AD to the death of Pope Innocent III in 1216. The Patrologia Latina Database is an electronic version of the first edition of Jacques-Paul Migne's Patrologia Latina, published between 1844 and 1855, and the four volumes of indexes published between 1862 and 1865.

Help:  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Patrologia Latina?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Paul Getty Trust 
Description: Find paintings, drawings, and photographs, in addition to manuscripts and decorative arts from the J. Paul Getty Trust. Includes over 4,600 digital images.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Paul Getty Trust?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers 
Description: 1500 - 1700. Manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest) 
Description: (formerly PCI Full Text) An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.

Tags:  PAO, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  PAO Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to three centuries of the arts, humanities, and social sciences indexed coverage, from first issue to 1995 or ceased date. Over 6,00 journals are included, including international journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Tags:  PIO, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  PIO Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection 
Description: Includes 11,000 map images scanned at the University of Texas including maps published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Additional links are provided to more maps sites.

Comments or questions about Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Perseus Digital Library 
Description: Database of images, Greek and Latin texts and translations, resources for textual studies and English word searches of the texts.

Tags:  Greek, Latin   (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Perseus Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Pew Hispanic Center 
Description: Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization supported by The Pew Charitable Trusts. Its mission is to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the entire nation.

Comments or questions about Pew Hispanic Center?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Philosopher's Index (ProQuest) 
Description: 1940-present. Indexing and abstracts from books and over 550 journals on philosophy and related interdisciplinary fields.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Support Center  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Philosopher's Index (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PhotoGraphicLibraries.com 
Description: A directory for online images including stock images, clip art, photographic archives, and museums.

Comments or questions about PhotoGraphicLibraries.com?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (ProQuest) 
Description: 1871 - present. Citations on literature related to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health issues associated with traumatic events. Produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Pivot 
Description: Provides access to a comprehensive collection of funding sources for academic research. Pivot compiles pre-populated researcher profiles and matches them to current funding opportunities in the Community of Science database.

Tags:  COS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Support/Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Pivot?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PLANTS Database (USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service) 
Description: The PLANTS Database provides standardized information about the vascular plants, mosses, liverworts, hornworts, and lichens of the U.S. and its territories.

Tags:  USDA  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Seach Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about PLANTS Database (USDA Natural Resources Conservation Service)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Play Index (EBSCO) 
Description: 1949 - present. Citations to 31,000 plays. Includes monologues, plot summaries, cast sizes, male and female roles, etc. Search for plays by title; author; subject (culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type; and more.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Play Index (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Playbill 
Description: News, feature and performance listings for Broadway, Off-Broadway, London and Regional Theatre.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Playbill?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Playdatabase 
Description: This catalog allows you to search by length of a play, for monologues, by gender, time period, age of characters, and more.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Playdatabase?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Policies and Laws of China (PLOC) 
Description: Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Search or browse more than 40 sub categories including State Laws, Regulations, Foreign Laws, etc.

Tags:  PLOC  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Policies and Laws of China (PLOC)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PolicyArchive 
Description: A freely available archive for public policy research including reports, charts, videos and white papers. Materials are provided by registered organizations and verified before posting. Search and browse capabilities are available. Initiated by Indian University-Purdue University's Indianapolis Library and Center for Governmental Studies.

Comments or questions about PolicyArchive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Political Americana Collection 
Description: 1789 - 1980. Approximately 5,500 Presidential promotional and commemorative items including cartoons, prints, posters, lapel buttons, ribbons, textiles, hats, ballots, broadsides, pamphlets and more.

Help:  About LUNA  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Political Americana Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1974 - present. Over 10,000 full-text articles from approximately 25 journals covering topics such as political theory, area studies, comparative politics and American government.

Help:  Homepage Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Population Index (on JSTOR) 
Description: 1937 - 1999. Annotated bibliography of books, journal articles, working papers, and other material on population studies.

Tags:  JSTOR  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Ask A Lilbrarian  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Population Index (on JSTOR)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Pratt Ex Libris 
Description: Nineteenth- and twentieth-century bookplates from private and institutional libraries. The plates feature finely detailed engraving or etching and serve as outstanding examples of period book art and typography.

Comments or questions about Pratt Ex Libris?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Pratt Institute Fashion Plate Collection 
Description: Hand-colored fashion plates from the French periodical La Gazette du Bon Ton (considered the most influential fashion magazine during its existence from 1912 to 1925) and its American edition, La Gazette du Bon Genre, distributed by Conde Nast.

Comments or questions about Pratt Institute Fashion Plate Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Pravda Digital Archive 
Description: 1912-2009. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers' newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement.

Tags:  USSR, Soviet Union, Russia  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Pravda Digital Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Primary Search (EBSCO) 
Description: Provides full text for more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines. Also provides the Encyclopedia of Animals, New World Encyclopedia, the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, and an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps and flags.

Tags:  elementary, children, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Primary Search (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PrimateLit 
Description: 1940 - present. Indexes articles, books, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc. Covers many subject areas including behavior, colony management, veterinary science, physiology, evolution, genetics, and more.

Help:  Using This Site  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about PrimateLit?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Proceedings First 
Description: Includes conference proceedings from a wide variety of disciplines, including the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Physical and Life Sciences. Each proceedings provides a list of papers presented. Individual records for each paper may be found in the PapersFirst database.

Tags:  conference_proceedings  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Tutorial Index  |  QuickStart Guide  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Proceedings First?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Project Gutenberg 
Description: Access to over 20,000 online titles. Browse or search the catalog.

Usage Tips: No download required. Log-in required to add to favorites. Multiple user simultaneous access. Save or print entire record.

Comments or questions about Project Gutenberg?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Project Muse 
Description: Scholarly Journals Online Search by subject or browse full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.

Help:  How to Search (video)  |  How to Browse (video)  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Project Muse?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I 
Description: 1861-present. Lists most U.S. dissertations, and many dissertations and master's theses from Canada, Great Britain and continental Europe. Abstracts included 1980-present. Includes full text for all UC dissertations, at no charge, 1997 - present. British and Continental European dissertations covered 1988 - present. Masters theses listed selectively from 1988.

Help:  Basic Search  |  Top Questions Regarding Basic Search  |  ProQuest Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender 
Description: 1910-1975. Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and newspaper coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune 
Description: 1849-1988. Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and newspaper coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 
Description: 1881-1988. Provides access to LA Times content just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times 
Description: 1851-2008. Provides access to NYT content just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Tags:  NYT  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle 
Description: 1865-1922. Provides access to the SF Chronicle just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal 
Description: 1889-1994. Provides access to the WSJ just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post 
Description: 1877-1995. Provides access to WP just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) 
Description: 1894-present. A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1969 - present. Contains 35 full text journal in areas such as applied psychology, environment psychology, language acquisition, personality and social psychology.

Help:  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PsycINFO (ProQuest) 
Description: 1806-present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Tutorial: Finding Empirical Studies  |  Quick Reference Guide: How to Search in PsycInfo  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about PsycINFO (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Public Domain Music 
Description: A reference site that assists in the identification of music and songs in the public domain.

Help:  Info/FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Public Domain Music?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Biology 
Description: A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. Includes articles, essays and book reviews addressing biological science.

Tags:  PLOS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Using This Site  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Biology?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Medicine 
Description: A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. Includes articles, essays, case reports, best practices and editorials pertaining to all areas of medicine.

Tags:  PLOS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Using This Site  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Medicine?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PubMed 
Description: 1951 - present. Includes more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Use UC-eLinks to link to full text when not otherwise available.

Help:  PubMED Online Training  |  PubMed Help  |  Fact Sheet  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about PubMed?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444