Databases: A-Z List

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Safari Tech Books Online 
Description: A collection of reference content from IT publisher, O'Reilly & Associates. New titles are available online even before they appear in print.

Tags:  technology  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: No download or log-in required. Multiple user simultaneous access. Limited printing. Email one page at a time. Full-text searching. Some titles include supplemental materials, e.g. CD-ROM.

Comments or questions about Safari Tech Books Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Same-Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature 
Description: 1997 - present. Includes references for articles supporting and opposing same-sex marriage as well as information on related issues such as parenting and children, taxation, etc. Also includes references to books, symposia and legal information related to same-sex marriage.

Comments or questions about Same-Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SAMHDA - Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive 
Description: Research data sponsored by the Office of Applied Study, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Datasets are available for download in SPSS, SAS, and Stata formats.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SAMHDA - Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials 
Description: A reference source with data on approximately 26,000 substances. Used to evaluate the hazardous characteristics of substances. Information on toxicity, flammability, reactivity, and explosive potential is included.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Citation Index Expanded 
Description: 1900 - present. See Web of Science. Citations to science related topics available through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Basic Search Help  |  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science Citation Index Expanded?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database 
Description: Citations to articles, books, reviews and other materials about science fiction, fantasy and horror; includes both scholarly and fan writings. Covers all aspects except book reviews.

Help:  New Users  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science Fiction and Fantasy Research Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science of Synthesis 
Description: Critical collection of high-quality, relevant synthetic methods in organic and organometallic chemistry. Each one with full experimental procedures. Includes the Houben-Weyl backfiles, covering the literature to the mid-1800's. When complete, it will include 38,000 generally applicable experimental procedures, including 240,000 reactions and 800,000 structures.

Help:  Quick Start Guide (.pdf)  |  Video Tutorials  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science of Synthesis?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Online 
Description: Provided by AAAS (American Association for the Advancement of Science) a leading voice for the interests of scientists worldwide. Science Online is the world's leading outlet for scientific news, commentary, and cutting-edge research, with the largest paid circulation of any peer-reviewed general-science journal.

Help:  About Us  |  For Members  |  For Readers  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Watch 
Description: ScienceWatch.com (updated weekly) provides a behind-the-scenes look at the scientists, journals, institutions, nations, and papers selected by Essential Science Indicators from Thomson Reuters. Provides an ideal, convenient location for keeping up with the latest developments in science.

Comments or questions about Science Watch?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ScienceDirect/SciVerse 
Description: (coverage varies according to journal title) Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles from journals as well as a few book selections. Content includes the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.

Tags:  science_direct, science direct  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Online Tutorials  |  Resources  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ScienceDirect/SciVerse?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SciFinder Scholar 
Description: (From Chemical Abstract Services - CAS) A collection of chemical literature and information databases. Includes CAplus (the online version of Chemical Abstracts), the CAS Registry, and CASREACT. Requires the creation of an account.

Tags:  chemical abstracts, chemical_abstracts, CAS, CASREACT  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  SciFinder Scholar User Guide 2013  |  Contents at a Glance  |  How to register to use SciFinder Scholar  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SciFinder Scholar?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SCIPIO Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs 
Description: Contains descriptive records of sales catalogs (not the text of the catalogs themselves) for sales dating from the 16th century to the present, including upcoming scheduled sales.

Help:  Getting Started with the OCLC FirstSearch Service  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SCIPIO Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Scopus 
Description: Indexes 21,000 peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and book series. Includes 5.5 million conference papers and cross searches 25.2 million patents. Features a Journal Analyzer tool to assess journal performance. Trial access to Scopus ends on December 31, 2014.

Help:  Help and Contact  |  Tutorials  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Scopus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Scottish Women Poets 
Description: Contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry by Scottish women poets, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.

Tags:  poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About  |  FAQ  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Scottish Women Poets?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Selected Magazine Sources (from Academic Search Complete) 
Description: Selected magazine sources from Academic Search Complete recommended for research requiring magazine literature on a specific issue with differing points of view. The sources include Time, Economist, Atlantic Monthly, U.S. News & World Report and others. Note: May be appropriate for library research required for lower-division writing courses.

Tags:  Academic Search Complete  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Selected Magazine Sources (from Academic Search Complete)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Selected Magazine Sources (from Business Source Complete) 
Description: Select magazine sources from Business Source Complete that may be useful for research on marketing related topics and consumer demographics. The sources include Marketing Communication, Marketing Research, Marketing Week, Journal of Consumer Affairs and others. Note: May be appropriate for MGMT120.

Tags:  Business Source Complete  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Selected Magazine Sources (from Business Source Complete)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Selected Political Science Sources (from Academic Search Complete) 
Description: Selected political magazine and journals from Academic Search Complete. The sources include National Journal, Foreign Affairs, New Republic, Public Interest, Wall Street Journal and others. Note: May be appropriate for POLI 001.

Tags:  Academic Search Complete  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Selected Political Science Sources (from Academic Search Complete)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Selected Science News Sources (from Academic Search Complete) 
Description: Selected science news sources from Academic Search Complete. The sources include Scientific American, Discover, Newsweek, The Environmental Magazine and others. Note: May be appropriate for WRI 116.

Tags:  Academic Search Complete  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Selected Science News Sources (from Academic Search Complete)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Shanghai News - Shen Bao Database 
Description: 1872 - 1949. Shen Bao was the first major newspaper in China. Coverage from the Qing Dynasty to the Republic Era. A primary e-resource for modern Chinese studies. Chinese language only.

Tags:  Chinese, China  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Shanghai News - Shen Bao Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sheet Music Consortium 
Description: Collections of digitized sheet music from four academic libraries.

Comments or questions about Sheet Music Consortium?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Si ku quan shu 
Description: Works only with IE An electronic edition of the collection Si ku quan shu comprised of the finest editions of the best books in China and completed in 1782. Includes 3,461 works, totaling over 36,375 volumes/scrolls. Its four main bibliographic divisions are jing , shi , zi , and ji .

Tags:  China, Chinese  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Si ku quan shu?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SIAM e-books 
Description: Approximately 400 SIAM books published over the past five decades. Titles cover a wide range of applied mathematics and computational science subject areas.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SIAM e-books?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries 
Description: This is an electronic database of approximately 35,000 tracks of world music and sound recordings from the archives of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, with audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.

Help:  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Explorer 
Description: 1790 - present. Includes hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States for demographic research. Allows users to make maps and reports.

Comments or questions about Social Explorer?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC) 
Description: (Prototype) Sponsored by the Andrew W. Mellon foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities, SNAC helps users discover, locate and use distributed historical records. Still in development, SNAC aims to provide researchers with socio-historical contexts in which records were created. Search by name, subject, or occupation.

Tags:  SNAC  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
Description: SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Tags:  SSRN  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Science Research Network (SSRN)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Sciences Citation Index 
Description: 1956 - present. See Web of Science. Citations to social science related topics available through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Sciences Citation Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
Description: Simultaneously searches multiple social science databases, including EconLit, ERIC (education), Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, and many more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest) 
Description: 1979-present. Provides bibliographic coverage of current research focused on social work, human services, and related areas, including social welfare, social policy, and community development. Indexes journal articles, dissertations and citations to book reviews.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Services Abstracts (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Theory 
Description: Provides comprehensive coverage of major social thinkers together with seminal texts from lesser figures.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Theory?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) 
Description: 1952-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 30 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

Help:  Search Help  |  Major Features  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Solusource 
Description: Directory of over 700,000 manufacturers and distributors, classified by 11,000 products and service categories, from 29 countries in Asia, Europe, and the Americas. Searchable by product/service or company name. Entries provide address, product and contact information, number of employee, and year established.

Comments or questions about Solusource?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Songfacts 
Description: Song meanings and song information, including recordings, chart positions, trivia and lyrics.

Help:  SongFAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Songfacts?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

South and Southeast Asian Literature 
Description: 1825 - present. A collection of fiction, short fiction, poetry, interviews and manuscript materials with a focus on writing from the late-colonial and postcolonial eras. Works are written by authors from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore and Fiji.

Help:  Help Getting Started  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about South and Southeast Asian Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SPIE Digital Library 
Description: 1990 - present. Contains full-text technical papers on optics and photonics from SPIE (The International Society for Optical Engineering). Includes journals and proceedings.

Help:  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SPIE Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Springer Protocols 
Description: 1984 - present. Includes protocols for reproducing laboratory experiments. Content is divided into 15 subject areas in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. The protocols are from book series and laboratory manuals. Researchers can create individual accounts to save specific protocols or searches for easy reference.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Springer Protocols?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SpringerLink 
Description: A database of high-quality journal, book series, books and reference works from Science Technical Medical (STM) publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SpringerLink?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy 
Description: An Open Access reference work refereed by a distinguished editorial board.

Help:  How to cite SEP  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statewide Database (California) 
Description: Includes voting, registration and geographic data sets for the State of California for statewide elections beginning in 1992. Provided by UC Berkeley Law Center for Research.

Tags:  California  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Statewide Database (California)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statista 
Description: Integrates data on 60,000+ topics from into charts, graphs and infographics that can be reused without licensing restrictions. Categorized into 21 market sectors, provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other markets. Resource is well-suited to undergraduates in need of quick authoritative statistics.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statista?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to authoritative and comprehensive statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statistical Datasets (Data-Planet) 
Description: Provides fast, easy access to data from government statistical producing agencies such as the U.S. Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, Federal Reserve Board, National Center for Health Statistics, and many others. Users can chart, map, and compare 10 million time series at the county, MSA, state and national levels. Includes access to EASI Market Planner.

Tags:  Data Planet, EASI Market Planner  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statistical Datasets (Data-Planet)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statistical Ready Reference (Data-Planet) 
Description: Provides simple and refined searching of the extensive Data-Planet repository of standardized and structured statistical data. Users can quickly search and view charts, maps, and rankings of time series at the country, state, county, MSA, postal code, and census-tract/block group levels.

Help:  Help Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statistical Ready Reference (Data-Planet)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statistics Canada 
Description: Comprehensive source for Canadian statistical information. Also available in French.

Help:  http://www.statcan.gc.ca/search-recherche/options-eng.htm   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statistics Canada?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

STATSnetBASE 
Description: This repository of statistical references meets the needs of statisticians and researchers employing statistical science across a wide range of disciplines.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about STATSnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SumoBrain 
Description: Full-text cross-collection searching of US & EP patents and applications, PCT documents, and Japanese abstracts.

Help:  Tutorial  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SumoBrain?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science 
Description: An information service for the research, development, and educational community in engineering and computer science. Contains 50-100 page electronic books that synthesize important research or development topic.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444