Databases: A-Z List

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) 
Description: 1984-present. WSJ is the world's leading financial newspaper. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Walter Scott Digital Archive 
Description: A "webliography" of over 300 electronic texts of works by the Scottish novelist and poet Sir Walter Scott (1771-1832), author of Ivanhoe and the Waverley novels. At the same site there is biographical information about Scott, a bibliography of recent critical publications, forthcoming events relating to Scott, a bibliography of his works, and links to other relevant sites.

Usage Tips: No download or log-in required. Multiple user simultaneous access. Print or download in free E-text section. Other resources (biographies, images, etc). also available.

Comments or questions about Walter Scott Digital Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wanfang Data 
Description: Wanfang Data provides access to data relating to culture, medicine, business, science, and more. Includes access to the following collections only: Policies and Laws of China, Chinese Companies and Products, Dissertations of China, China Academic Conference Proceedings, China Online Journals.

Tags:  China, Chinese   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wanfang Data?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Washington State Coastal Atlas 
Description: Photos of Washington State's shoreline from the air. Searchable by city, county, or landmark.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Washington State Coastal Atlas?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Web of Science 
Description: Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).

Help:  Help  |  New Features - August 2011  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Web of Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Western Waters Digital Library 
Description: Provides access to significant resources on water in the western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Western Waters Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) 
Description: WRDS provides access to historical financial, marketing, and economics data. This data includes company information, security prices & trading volume, income and balance sheet items, stock market indices, bond prices & interest rates, mutual fund & stock ownership information, options data, macroeconomic time series, global data, plus marketing & industry reports. Compustat from Capital IQ is also accessible through UC Merced's subscription to WRDS.

Tags:  WRDS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Demo  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: Access to this resources is strictly limited to faculty and graduate students. Each individual must obtain an individual login and password by visiting WRDS and selecting the Register tab. Once a Registration request is received, it will be reviewed to ensure it meets WRDS's subscription license requirements before access is made available. For information regarding use of this resource, visit the WRDS site or contact Professor Alex Whalley.
Note: In order to use Wharton with an undergraduate class, the faculty member must directly communicate with WRDS to obtain access.

Comments or questions about Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

WhoPlus 
Description: A database of biographical information on thousands of prominent people in Japan. To access the database, click the データベース検索 button at the top right corner and select WhoPlus.

Tags:  Nichigai Web Service  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about WhoPlus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wikipedia: Featured Pictures 
Description: Includes over 3,500 of Wikipedia's most impressive and informative photos, categorized by topic.

Comments or questions about Wikipedia: Featured Pictures?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection 
Description: 2011 frontlist titles only. Includes 950+ online books with 2011 publication dates. Subject areas include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Titles continually added through 2011 as they are published.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wolfram Alpha 
Description: Wolfram Alpha is an online service that answers factual queries directly by computing the answer from structured data. Searches hundreds of datasets and many external sources.

Tags:  math, numbers  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About  |  Examples  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wolfram Alpha?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Women and Social Movements in the United States 
Description: 1600 - 2000. Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibliographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Women and Social Movements in the United States?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Women's Studies International (EBSCO) 
Description: 1972 - present. Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies and feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Women's Studies International (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Almanac 
Description: Online version of the print titles: Funk & Wagnall's new encyclopedia; The world almanac and book of facts; The world almanac of the U.S.A.; The world almanac of U.S. politics; The world almanac for kids.

Comments or questions about World Almanac?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Bank -- Documents & Reports 
Description: Over 15,000 documents, previously known as World Development Sources (WDS), including information on Country Economic & Sector work; Project Documents plus Research & Working Papers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Bank -- Documents & Reports?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Bank Atlas of Global Development 
Description: An interactive tool that maps and graphs more than 175 indicators from the World Bank development database. Issues such as poverty, food production, international trade, etc. are covered. Provides visual comparisons of data across time, countries, and regions. Maps and graphs can be exported.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Bank Atlas of Global Development?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Bank e-Library 
Description: A portal of over 5,000 World Bank documents including World Bank publications and Policy Research Working Papers on development related issues. Offers advanced search capabilities, for example, limits by subject area or region. Full-text of all documents available in pdf.

Help:  Site Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Bank e-Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Bank Worldwide Development Indicators 
Description: World Bank provides global statistical data in support of research and the understanding of global issues.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Bank Worldwide Development Indicators?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Development Indicators (WDI Online) 
Description: 1960 - present. WDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (starting in 1960 where data are available).

Tags:  WDI  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Development Indicators (WDI Online)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Digital Library 
Description: The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The objectives of WDL include intercultural understanding and partnerships as well as providing resources for educators and scholars.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Heritage (UNESCO) 
Description: The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) seeks to encourage the identification, protection and preservation of cultural and natural heritage around the world considered to be of outstanding value to humanity.

Tags:  UNESCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help/FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Heritage (UNESCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World History in Video 
Description: A wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. Covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World History in Video?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (Gale) 
Description: Includes contemporary and historical documents depicting the nature, integrity and culture of Latin America. Documents are in multiple languages. Includes historical and contemporary maps.

Tags:  Gale  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Trade Organization Statistics 
Description: Provides access to international statistical data including trade profiles, tariff profiles, and services profiles for individual countries.

Comments or questions about World Trade Organization Statistics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World War II Posters 
Description: The World War II Poster Project was created by the HIST100 class at Bucknell University during the Fall 2006.

Comments or questions about World War II Posters?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Worldbank Data 
Description: Provides access to World Bank data through an interface that makes data easy to find and use.

Tags:     (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Worldbank Data?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

WorldCat 
Description: Represents holdings of library materials in a variety of formats held at more than 12,000 OCLC affiliated libraries worldwide: academic, public, governmental, private.

Comments or questions about WorldCat?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

WorldCat Dissertations & Theses (FirstSearch) 
Description: Search for dissertations and theses.

Tags:  FirstSearch  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about WorldCat Dissertations & Theses (FirstSearch)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Worldmapper 
Description: Includes over 300 freely available equal area cartograms (density-equalising) maps on touching on a variety of categories and subjects including wealth, disaster and pollution. Contributors to the project include individuals from the University of Sheffield and University of Michigan.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Worldmapper?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) 
Description: 1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444