Databases: By Format

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 
By Format [Audio]

African American Music Reference 
Description: This database chronicles the history of music by African Americans over time, including links to external web resources, streaming audio tracks and musical scores.

Help:  Navigating the Site  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about African American Music Reference?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

All Music Guide 
Description: A large, informative site covering multiple styles of music (rap, rock, classical, country, etc.).

Help:  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about All Music Guide?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Civil War Research Database 
Description: A resource to obtain statistics, photographs and other information about individuals, regiments and battles of the American Civil War. Analytical research tools are also available.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Civil War Research Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Memory Project 
Description: American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Tags:  sheet music,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Memory Project?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Song 
Description: A streaming music database which captures America's past through a variety of genres. Includes many artists addressing a range of social issues and historical events.

Tags:  music online, African American Song  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Song?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Variety Stage 
Description: A multimedia anthology, this collection covers diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Includes 334 English- and Yiddish-language play scripts, more than 140 theater playbills and programs, several dozen motion pictures, ten sound recordings, and a substantial collection of photographs and ephemera on Harry Houdini.

Help:  How To View  |  How To View (video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Variety Stage?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

British Library Archival Sound Recordings 
Description: The British Library holds one of the world's foremost sound archives with a collection of over 3.5 million audio recordings. These recordings cover the entire range of recorded sound from music, drama and literature, to oral history, wildlife and environmental sounds.

Tags:  drama, oral history  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about British Library Archival Sound Recordings?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Classical Music Library 
Description: This is an electronic database of classical music recordings, with digital audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information. User may also use the databases option to create playlists and themes.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Classical Music Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Contemporary World Music 
Description: Contemporary World Music contains 50,000 tracks that deliver the sounds of all regions from every continent. It includes genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Contemporary World Music?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project 
Description: The earliest method of recording and reproducing sound was on phonograph cylinders. UCSB Libraries have created a digital collection of nearly 8,000 cylinder recordings held by the Department of Special Collections.

Tags:  recordings  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help & FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Cylinder Preservation and Digitization Project?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) 
Description: DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items from digital collections around the United States. Includes photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images and more. Search by topic, timeline, map, and format.

Tags:  DPLA, history united states, archaeology, architecture, sociology   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, The 
Description: The full text of The Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, additional text related to world music, audio examples and links to streaming audio tracks.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Garland Encyclopedia of World Music, The?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

JapanKnowledge 
Description: Provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries (Japanese, English and multi-languages), encyclopedias (Encyclopedia Nipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.), other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text Toyo Bunko and Shukan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist), and other visual and sound databases.

Tags:  T?y? Bunko, Sh?kan Ekonomisuto  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about JapanKnowledge?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Music Online 
Description: Cross-search hundreds of thousands of audio tracks, scores, and reference works across many Alexander Street Press music databases including African American Music Reference, American Song, Classical Music Library, Garland Encyclopedia of Music, and Smithsonian Global Sound.

Comments or questions about Music Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Naxos Music Library (NML) 
Description: Naxos Music Library is the world's largest online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 46,000 CDs with more than 653,000 tracks, standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added to the library every month. NML can be accessed from any computer, anywhere, anytime. With the new iPhone / iPod Touch App subscribers can also access the service on the go.

Tags:  NML  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Member's User Guide  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Naxos Music Library (NML)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Naxos Music Library Jazz 
Description: Naxos Music Library Jazz is one of the most comprehensive collection of Jazz music available online. Contains more than 3000 CDs and new CDs are added every month.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Naxos Music Library Jazz?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories 
Description: Provides access to personal accounts of immigrants who came to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) 
Description: Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.

Tags:  Social Issues, Controversial Issues  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Oxford Music Online 
Description: Contains over 29,000 articles and approximately 250,000 citations. Offers full-text searching capabilities as well as article browsing. Selected articles include links to related sites, including sound archives and illustrations.

Help:  Quickstart  |  Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Oxford Music Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries 
Description: This is an electronic database of approximately 35,000 tracks of world music and sound recordings from the archives of Smithsonian Folkways Recordings, with audio selections cross-referenced to a database of supplementary reference information.

Help:  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Smithsonian Global Sound for Libraries?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Western Waters Digital Library 
Description: Provides access to significant resources on water in the western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Western Waters Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444