Databases: By Format

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 
By Format [Biographical]

American National Biography 
Description: Detailed articles on more than 18,000 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the United States. Includes bibliographies and links to web resources. Several hundred new entries added each year.

Tags:  biographies  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  America National Biography Online Help  |  ANB User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American National Biography?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

In the First Person 
Description: A landmark index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Covers more than 300,000 individual accounts.

Tags:  oral histories,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about In the First Person?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest) 
Description: 1864-present. Indexes more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, as well as a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events.

Tags:  dance, drama, comedy, opera, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Home Page  |  Tutorial: Finding Film Reviews  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period 
Description: Includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. Also offers numerous biographical and critical essays.

Tags:  Ireland, poems, poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest) 
Description: A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors.

Help:  Help Page  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Literature Resources from Gale 
Description: A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Gateway to Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online Series and Scribner Writers Online Series.

Help:  Help  |  Tips  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Literature Resources from Gale?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Masterfile Premier (EBSCO) 
Description: Provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographics, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an image collection.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Ask-A-Librarian  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Masterfile Premier (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Indian Thought and Culture 
Description: Includes biographies, auto-biographies, personal narratives, speeches, diaries, letters, and oral histories from indigenous peoples from all areas of North America.

Tags:  first_nations, diaries, oral histories  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Guides  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Indian Thought and Culture?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Women's Letters and Diaries 
Description: (NAWLD) More than 150,000 pages of diaries and letters of over 1300 women, colonial period through 1950. Includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Women's Letters and Diaries?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Walter Scott Digital Archive 
Description: A "webliography" of over 300 electronic texts of works by the Scottish novelist and poet Sir Walter Scott (1771-1832), author of Ivanhoe and the Waverley novels. At the same site there is biographical information about Scott, a bibliography of recent critical publications, forthcoming events relating to Scott, a bibliography of his works, and links to other relevant sites.

Usage Tips: No download or log-in required. Multiple user simultaneous access. Print or download in free E-text section. Other resources (biographies, images, etc). also available.

Comments or questions about Walter Scott Digital Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

WhoPlus 
Description: A database of biographical information on thousands of prominent people in Japan. To access the database, click the データベース検索 button at the top right corner and select WhoPlus.

Tags:  Nichigai Web Service  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about WhoPlus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444