Databases: By Format

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 
By Format [Image]

Ad*Access Project 
Description: An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.

Help:  Digital Collections Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ad*Access Project?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Alabama Mosaic 
Description: Alabama Mosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Featuring content from libraries, archives and museums from across Alabama, AlabamaMosaic provides access to thousands of images.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Alabama Mosaic?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Alaska Digital Archives 
Description: Includes more than 5,000 quality digital images of Alaska's heritage from University of Alaska, the Alaska State Library, and many other Alaskan institutions.

Tags:  oral histories,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Alaska Digital Archives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Civil War Research Database 
Description: A resource to obtain statistics, photographs and other information about individuals, regiments and battles of the American Civil War. Analytical research tools are also available.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Civil War Research Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Memory Project 
Description: American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Tags:  sheet music,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Memory Project?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Variety Stage 
Description: A multimedia anthology, this collection covers diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Includes 334 English- and Yiddish-language play scripts, more than 140 theater playbills and programs, several dozen motion pictures, ten sound recordings, and a substantial collection of photographs and ephemera on Harry Houdini.

Help:  How To View  |  How To View (video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Variety Stage?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Andrew Dickson White Collection of Architectural Photographs 
Description: Comprised of approximately 13,000 nineteenth- and early twentieth-century photographs of architecture, decorative arts, and sculpture, this collection was established by Andrew Dickson White, the first president of Cornell University,.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Andrew Dickson White Collection of Architectural Photographs?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

AP Images Collection 
Description: Includes Associated Press's current-year photo report and a selection from a 50-million image print and negative library dating from 1844-present. Currently contains about 700,000 photos, most of which are contemporary images made since late 1995.

Tags:  Associated Press  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  AP User Guide (.pdf)  |  About the AccuNet Media Archive  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about AP Images Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ARTstor 
Description: ARTstor is an ever-growing digital library of over 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures and time periods to support teaching and learning in the humanities and social sciences.

Tags:  AMICA, amica  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ARTstor?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record 
Description: The approximately 1,235 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public.

Comments or questions about Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

BIODIDAC 
Description: This site contains hundreds of images organized into three sections covering Zoology, Botany, and Histology. All images can be used for non-commercial purposes.

Help:  Information  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about BIODIDAC?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Botanical Society of America Online Image Collection 
Description: Searchable database of over 800 botanical teaching slides.

Tags:  botany  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Botanical Society of America Online Image Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Calisphere 
Description: A free public gateway to thousands of digitized primary sources - including photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, works of art - from UC museums and libraries and other cultural heritage institutions across California. Designed with a special emphasis on serving California teachers.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Calisphere?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Catena Digital Archive of Historic Gardens & Landscapes 
Description: A collection of historic and contemporary images, including plans, engravings, and photographs, intended to support research and teaching in the fields of garden history and landscape studies.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Catena Digital Archive of Historic Gardens & Landscapes?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Claire Holt Indonesian Art Collection 
Description: Created for the Cornell Indonesian Arts Project, the Claire Holt Papers comprise approximately 1,780 slides of Indonesia and typescript notes about a trip to Indonesia in 1955-1956.

Tags:  Indonesia  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Claire Holt Indonesian Art Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) 
Description: DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items from digital collections around the United States. Includes photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images and more. Search by topic, timeline, map, and format.

Tags:  DPLA, history united states, archaeology, architecture, sociology   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

digitalMETRO 
Description: Provides access to online collections created and maintained by member libraries of the Metropolitan New York Library Council.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about digitalMETRO?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Duke Digital Collections 
Description: Digital image collection held by Duke University Libraries or other organizations affiliated with Duke University. Includes collections such as the William Gedney Photographs and Writings, Historic American Sheet Music and the Emergence of Advertising in America.

Tags:  sheet music  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Duke Digital Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early American Imprints Series I: Evans 
Description: 1639 - 1800. A major collection of 17th and 18th century books and pamphlets based on Charles Evans American Bibliography. Covers every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, & more. (Use Series II for 1801-1819.)

Help:  Help Contents  |  What Is Archive of Americana?  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Early American Imprints Series I: Evans?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 
Description: 1801 - 1819. Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, this primary source collection provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books & pamphlets published in the first 19 years of the nineteenth century. (Use Series I for 1639-1800.)

Help:  Help Contents  |  What Is Archive of Americana?  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early Encounters in North America 
Description: This release contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of material: letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in North America. The collection is centered on present-day Canada and the U. S. with limited coverage of Mexico.

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Early Encounters in North America?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Estate Project for Artists with AIDS 
Description: Initiated by the Alliance for the Arts, the Estate Project for Artists with Aids seeks to preserve the cultural legacy of the AIDS crisis so that future generations can enjoy, study and engage artworks as aesthetic achievements and historical documents.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Estate Project for Artists with AIDS?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Farber Gravestone Collection 
Description: The Farber Gravestone Collection is an unusual resource containing over 13,500 images documenting the sculpture on more than 9,000 gravestones, most of which were made prior to 1800, in the Northeastern part of the United States.

Tags:  genealogy  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Farber Gravestone Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Flickr Commons 
Description: Searchable public photo repository. Includes historical photos as well as more recent images.

Help:  FAQ   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Flickr Commons?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Great Images in NASA 
Description: (GRIN) Searchable and browsable archive of over 1,000 images of significant historical interest scanned at high resolution in several sizes. The collection is intended for the media, publishers and the general public looking for high quality photographs.

Tags:  space, aeronautics  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  How to Use GRIN  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Great Images in NASA?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hartill Collection 
Description: The Hartill collection contains 16,660 images of art and architecture (primarily architecture). The Hartill Collection includes works from major periods, and monuments such as the Great Pyramids at Giza, Stonehenge, and the Viet Nam War Memorial. Covers the architectural history of the Western world from earliest antiquity through the present, and from the Middle East to the Americas. Includes thousands of details of architectural decoration, mosaics, sculpture and stained glass, as well as related decorative arts and public sculpture. Exceptionally strong in European medieval architecture and sculpture of the Romanesque and Gothic periods; additionally, modern architecture and sculpture are both especially well represented.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hartill Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Harvard University Library 
Description: Provides access to visual resource collections that are unique to Harvard University. Includes tens of thousands of images from collections of Chinese Rubbings, Harvard Daguerreotypes, Immigrants to the United States, 19th-Century American Trade Cards, as well as a wide variety of other collections.

Comments or questions about Harvard University Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Historical Photograph Collections at the Arizona State Archives 
Description: Photographs focus upon the unique cultural heritage of the state and territory of Arizona, beginning in 1863 and include examples of all types of photographic process; tintypes, glass lantern slides, and photographic postcards.

Comments or questions about Historical Photograph Collections at the Arizona State Archives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hoover Institution Poster Collection 
Description: Features posters from around the world. The largest number are from the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, the Russian empire and the Soviet Union, and France.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hoover Institution Poster Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Icelandic Photos 
Description: Photographs by the acclaimed British artist, photographer and traveler Frederick W.W. Howell. landscapes, farmsteads, towns and people in a remarkable series of photographs from Iceland and the Faeroe Islands.

Tags:  Iceland  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Icelandic Photos?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Images of America: a History of American Life in Images and Texts 
Description: Over 1 million historical images and texts from local history books, celebrating the places and faces that give America its spirit and life.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Images of America: a History of American Life in Images and Texts?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS) 
Description: Contains descriptions of the numerable digital resources developed by IMLS grantees. This database allows you to search hundreds of digital image collections simultaneously.

Tags:  museums, IMLS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Institute of Museum and Library Services (IMLS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

John Carter Brown Archive of Early American Images 
Description: 1492 - ca.1825. A database of graphic representations of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about John Carter Brown Archive of Early American Images?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

JSTOR Global Plants 
Description: A community-contributed database that features more than two million high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world.

Tags:  Botany, Ecology, Conservation Studies  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help & Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about JSTOR Global Plants?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Kikuzo II Visual 
Description: One of the largest online newspaper databases in Japan. Enables users to search articles carried by the Asahi Shimbun over the past 130 years. Articles and photo archives from the Meiji, the Taisho, and the Showa era are included.

Tags:  Japan, Japanese  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Kikuzo II Visual?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Library of Congress International Collections 
Description: Provides access to images from American Memory Historical Collections as well as international visual resource collections such as the Abdul Hamid II Collection (Ottoman Empire) and the Prokudin-Gorskii Collection (Russian Empire).

Comments or questions about Library of Congress International Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog 
Description: One of the largest digital image databases in the world, this database includes more than 1 million digital images of people, historical events, places, architecture, and more.

Comments or questions about Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LIFE Photo Archive (hosted by Google) 
Description: Search photographs from the LIFE photo archive.

Tags:  Google  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about LIFE Photo Archive (hosted by Google)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LUCI (Library of UC Images) 
Description: A collection of approximately 4,000 images from Ancient Greek and Roman antiquities, as well as California art and architecture.

Tags:  uc  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about LUCI (Library of UC Images)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Masterfile Premier (EBSCO) 
Description: Provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographics, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an image collection.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Ask-A-Librarian  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Masterfile Premier (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NASA Image eXchange 
Description: (NIX) Cross-database search of images from NASA. Also includes images from the Jet Propulsion Laboratory, the Johnson Space Center, the Ames Research Center and others.

Comments or questions about NASA Image eXchange?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NASA Image Gallery 
Description: Includes an image of the day (and over 700 archived images) and various other NASA multimedia resources, including podcasts, 3D resources, video, and more.

Comments or questions about NASA Image Gallery?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Gallery of Art Images  
Description: Includes over 25,000 open access digital images from the National Gallery of Art.

Tags:  NGA  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Gallery of Art Images ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Palace Museum Online (NPM Online) 
Description: Photo images and related description articles of all the collections exhibited in NPM Online are authorized by the National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan. "NPM Online" is a database application aimed at educational promotion and academic exchanges, which is available with versions of four languages, including traditional Chinese, simplified Chinese, Japanese, and English.

Tags:  NPM  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about National Palace Museum Online (NPM Online)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan 
Description: Images of approximately 5,000 selected masterpieces from the Chinese imperial collection representing paintings, examples of calligraphy, rare books and manuscripts, sculpture, ceramics, metalwork, jades, decorative arts, and utilitarian objects, from prehistory (Xia dynasty) to the early 20th century.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New York Public Library Digital Gallery 
Description: Digitized images from the collections of the New York Public Library.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New York Public Library Digital Gallery?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New York Public Library Mid-Manhattan Library Picture Collection Online 
Description: Includes 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923. Subjects include African-Americans, American History, Clothing & Dress, Costume, Native Americans, New York City, Slavery and Textiles.

Help:  Quick Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New York Public Library Mid-Manhattan Library Picture Collection Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) 
Description: Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.

Tags:  Social Issues, Controversial Issues  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Oxford Art Online 
Description: Electronic version of the reference resource The Dictionary of Art plus extensive image links.

Help:  Quickstart  |  Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Oxford Art Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Paul Getty Trust 
Description: Find paintings, drawings, and photographs, in addition to manuscripts and decorative arts from the J. Paul Getty Trust. Includes over 4,600 digital images.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Paul Getty Trust?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Perseus Digital Library 
Description: Database of images, Greek and Latin texts and translations, resources for textual studies and English word searches of the texts.

Tags:  Greek, Latin   (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Perseus Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PhotoGraphicLibraries.com 
Description: A directory for online images including stock images, clip art, photographic archives, and museums.

Comments or questions about PhotoGraphicLibraries.com?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Political Americana Collection 
Description: 1789 - 1980. Approximately 5,500 Presidential promotional and commemorative items including cartoons, prints, posters, lapel buttons, ribbons, textiles, hats, ballots, broadsides, pamphlets and more.

Help:  About LUNA  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Political Americana Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Rijks Studio 
Description: The digital image collection of the Netherlands' state museum. Includes over 125,000 images and is still expanding.

Tags:  netherlands  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Rijks Studio?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ryland Collections 
Description: Collection of images displays highlights spanning five millennia from the vast resources of the Special Collections Division of the John Rylands University Library.

Help:  Browser Insight Help .pdf  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ryland Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statista 
Description: Integrates data on 60,000+ topics from into charts, graphs and infographics that can be reused without licensing restrictions. Categorized into 21 market sectors, provides quantitative data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other markets. Resource is well-suited to undergraduates in need of quick authoritative statistics.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statista?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

TAIR: Arabidopsis Information Resource 
Description: Provides genetic and molecular biology data for Arabidopsis thaliana, a widely used model plant. Data may be searched, visualized, and analyzed on TAIR, or datasets may be downloaded for use in other applications.

Tags:  botany, genetics, data sets  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about TAIR: Arabidopsis Information Resource?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UC Image Service 
Description: Provides access to 19 collections comprising over 30,100 images, as part of the UC Shared Images program. Collections are listed on home page.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about UC Image Service?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

University of Washington Digital Collections 
Description: Provides access to tens of thousands of digital images covering a wide variety of subjects with an emphasis on the Pacific Northwest. Also includes maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other ephemera. The collections focus on rare and unique materials.

Tags:  Pacific Northwest, Alaska, photographs, photos,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about University of Washington Digital Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Washington State Coastal Atlas 
Description: Photos of Washington State's shoreline from the air. Searchable by city, county, or landmark.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Washington State Coastal Atlas?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wikipedia: Featured Pictures 
Description: Includes over 3,500 of Wikipedia's most impressive and informative photos, categorized by topic.

Comments or questions about Wikipedia: Featured Pictures?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Women and Social Movements in the United States 
Description: 1600 - 2000. Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibliographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Women and Social Movements in the United States?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World War II Posters 
Description: The World War II Poster Project was created by the HIST100 class at Bucknell University during the Fall 2006.

Comments or questions about World War II Posters?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Yale University Library Digital Collections 
Description: Provides access to several important digital image and document collections belonging to Yale University. Includes access to thousands of images from collections such as Arts of the Book Ephemera, Classics Department at Yale, Beinecke Rare Books and Manuscripts, Yale Daily News Historical Archive and Yale University Art Gallery.

Help:  Ask! A Librarian  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Yale University Library Digital Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444