Databases: By Format

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 
By Format [Map]

A-Z Maps Online 
Description: Includes 4,000+ maps: political maps, physical maps, outline maps, population maps, precipitation maps, climate maps, and other thematic maps. New maps are added to the collection every month.

Comments or questions about A-Z Maps Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Alaska Digital Archives 
Description: Includes more than 5,000 quality digital images of Alaska's heritage from University of Alaska, the Alaska State Library, and many other Alaskan institutions.

Tags:  oral histories,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Alaska Digital Archives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Memory Project 
Description: American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Tags:  sheet music,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Memory Project?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Memory Project: Map Collections 
Description: Eleven map collections digitized from the Library of Congress. Content includes maps from the Civil War to World War II.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Memory Project: Map Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Atlas of our Changing Environment 
Description: Through illustrations, satellite images, and ground photographs, this interactive media depicts and describes humanity's past and present impact on the environment. The primary focus is on environmental status and trends over the last 30 years, in terms of both physical and human geography. View using Google Maps or Google Earth (download required).

Tags:  UNEP  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Atlas of our Changing Environment?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Columbia Gazetteer of the World 
Description: Includes names, descriptions and characteristics of over 165,000 places in the world.

Help:  Getting Started  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Columbia Gazetteer of the World?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

DataSF 
Description: DataSF is a clearinghouse of datasets available from the City & County of San Francisco.

Tags:  San Francisco, SF  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Register  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about DataSF?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection 
Description: Over 11,000 map images from the 18th and 19th centuries of North and South America.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about David Rumsey Historical Map Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Digital Public Library of America (DPLA) 
Description: DPLA offers a single point of access to millions of items from digital collections around the United States. Includes photographs, manuscripts, books, sounds, moving images and more. Search by topic, timeline, map, and format.

Tags:  DPLA, history united states, archaeology, architecture, sociology   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Digital Public Library of America (DPLA)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Global Road Warrior 
Description: Information on culture, communications, travel, business and maps for 175 countries and territories.

Comments or questions about Global Road Warrior?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Japanese Historical Maps 
Description: The Japanese Historical Map Collection contains early maps of Japan and the world. The collection is housed on the Berkeley campus in the East Asian Library.

Tags:  Japan  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Japanese Historical Maps?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

JapanKnowledge 
Description: Provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries (Japanese, English and multi-languages), encyclopedias (Encyclopedia Nipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.), other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text Toyo Bunko and Shukan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist), and other visual and sound databases.

Tags:  T?y? Bunko, Sh?kan Ekonomisuto  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about JapanKnowledge?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Maps of Africa 
Description: Antiquarian maps of Africa from the collections of the late Dr. Oscar I. Norwich and the Stanford University Libraries, dating from the late 15th to early 20th century.

Help:  About Luna & Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Maps of Africa?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New EarthExplorer 
Description: Search and download Global Land Survey data in the USGS archive.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New EarthExplorer?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection 
Description: Includes 11,000 map images scanned at the University of Texas including maps published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Additional links are provided to more maps sites.

Comments or questions about Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Explorer 
Description: 1790 - present. Includes hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States for demographic research. Allows users to make maps and reports.

Comments or questions about Social Explorer?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

USGS (United States Geological Survey) Map Locator & Downloader 
Description: View and download satellite, hybrid and topographic maps. Downloads require the GeoPDF Toolbar. http://www.terragotech.com/solutions/geopdftoolbar.php

Comments or questions about USGS (United States Geological Survey) Map Locator & Downloader?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

USGS Topographic Maps of California 
Description: Online directory of sites providing online images of California topographic maps.

Comments or questions about USGS Topographic Maps of California?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Western Waters Digital Library 
Description: Provides access to significant resources on water in the western United States. Available resources include classic water literature, legal transcripts, maps, reports, personal papers, water project records, photographs, audio recordings, videos, and other material.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Western Waters Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Bank Atlas of Global Development 
Description: An interactive tool that maps and graphs more than 175 indicators from the World Bank development database. Issues such as poverty, food production, international trade, etc. are covered. Provides visual comparisons of data across time, countries, and regions. Maps and graphs can be exported.

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Bank Atlas of Global Development?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Digital Library 
Description: The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The objectives of WDL include intercultural understanding and partnerships as well as providing resources for educators and scholars.

Help:  Help:  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (Gale) 
Description: Includes contemporary and historical documents depicting the nature, integrity and culture of Latin America. Documents are in multiple languages. Includes historical and contemporary maps.

Tags:  Gale  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Worldmapper 
Description: Includes over 300 freely available equal area cartograms (density-equalising) maps on touching on a variety of categories and subjects including wealth, disaster and pollution. Contributors to the project include individuals from the University of Sheffield and University of Michigan.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Worldmapper?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444