Databases: By Format

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 
By Format [newspapers]

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale) 
Description: Represents the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. Includes more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.

Tags:  British Library  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Title List  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) 
Description: Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers. Emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.

Tags:  Gale  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about 19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

African American Newspapers 
Description: 1827 - 1998. Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about African American Newspapers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) 
Description: 1991 - present. Index of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO) 
Description: 1969 - 1990. Archives of Alternative Press Index. Includes journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

America's Historical Newspapers 
Description: 1690 - 1876. Full text of North American Newspapers from the colonial and early national periods. Selected from the 700 title Readex microfilm collection of the same name. Includes Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980.

Help:  Help  |  Helpful Information  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about America's Historical Newspapers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

C19: The Nineteeneth Century Index 
Description: A source for nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Draws on established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about C19: The Nineteeneth Century Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC) 
Description: Includes over 150,000 digitized pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-1911. They include the Alta California (1849-1889); the San Francisco Call (1900-1910); the Amador Ledger (1900-1911); the Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911); and the Los Angeles Herald (1905-1907).

Tags:  Alta California, San Francisco Call, Amador Ledger, Imperial Valley Press, Los Angeles Herald, CDNC  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California Historical Newspapers 
Description: Provides access to many California newspapers of historical significance dating as far back as 1849. Newspapers from San Francisco, Sacramento, San Jose, Stockton and Benicia are included.

Tags:  california gazette, daily democratic state journal, sacramento weekly union, themis, alta California, daily commercial news, daily globe, daily placer times and transcript, mercantile gazette, san francisco bulletin, san francisco evening journal, weekly alta california, weekly pacific news, evening news, san jose mercury news, san joaquin republican  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about California Historical Newspapers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Calisphere 
Description: A free public gateway to thousands of digitized primary sources - including photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, works of art - from UC museums and libraries and other cultural heritage institutions across California. Designed with a special emphasis on serving California teachers.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Calisphere?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers  
Description: Search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ethnic NewsWatch* (ProQuest) 
Description: *Includes Ethnic NewsWatch: A History. Full text access to U.S. ethnic community newspapers, newsletters, magazines. Includes African-American, Arab/Middle Eastern, Asian-Pacific, European-American, Hispanic, Jewish, Native-American. Searchable in English and Spanish.

Tags:  news, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Search  |  Top Questions Regarding Basic Search  |  Proquest Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ethnic NewsWatch* (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Factiva Access 
Description: Nearly 9,000 business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also, company profiles and company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting.

Help:  Factiva Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Factiva Access?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Google News Archive 
Description: An archive of scanned newspapers. Chronological coverage varies with content from the early 1800s until 2009. The content focuses on North American titles. Note: Google is no longer actively archiving newspapers.

Help:  Archive Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Google News Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hispanic American Newspaper 
Description: 1808 - 1980. A collection of Spanish-language and Spanish/English newspapers printed in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage begins in 1808 with the first Spanish-language newspaper printed in the U.S.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hispanic American Newspaper?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Historical Newspapers (Chadwyck-Healey)  
Description: Provides access to Palmer's Index to the Times, (1790-1905), Historical Index to the New York Times, (1851-1923), and Official Index to The Times, (190 -1980).

Tags:  Chadwyck-Healey  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Search Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Historical Newspapers (Chadwyck-Healey) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Kikuzo II Visual 
Description: One of the largest online newspaper databases in Japan. Enables users to search articles carried by the Asahi Shimbun over the past 130 years. Articles and photo archives from the Meiji, the Taisho, and the Showa era are included.

Tags:  Japan, Japanese  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Kikuzo II Visual?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Latin American Data Base 
Description: LADB is a news and information service on Latin America which produces three weekly electronic publications: NotiCen, NotiSur, and SourceMex. Includes over 28,000 articles from a variety of Latin American news sources and journals.

Comments or questions about Latin American Data Base?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LexisNexis Academic 
Description: Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Especially good for news transcripts. Includes international information, including some Dutch, French, German, Italian, and Spanish news sources.

Help:  Developing a Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about LexisNexis Academic?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

London Times  
Description: 1985 - present. Access provided through Newsbank or LexisNexis.

Comments or questions about London Times ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

London Times Digital Archive 
Description: 1785 - 2006. The Times is the "world's newspaper of record" and covers all major international historical events from the French Revolution to the Falkland War. Search the full-text of the entire newspaper, including articles, editorials and advertising.

Comments or questions about London Times Digital Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Los Angeles Times (ProQuest) 
Description: 1985-present. LA Times news stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Los Angeles Times (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals (NICNP) 
Description: 1833 - present. Contains over 25 million entries from about 16 thousand newspapers and periodicals from mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, with a yearly update of 3.5 million entries.

Tags:  China  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals (NICNP)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New York Times (ProQuest) 
Description: 1980-present. Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New York Times (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Newsbank: Access World News 
Description: Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.

Tags:  Arlington Morning News, Boston Globe, Charlotte Observer, Dallas Morning News, Denver Post, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Fresno Bee, Kansas City Star, Los Angeles Times, Merced Sun-Star, Modesto Bee, Miami Herald, New York Times, New York Sun, New York Post, Oakland Tribune, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, Sacramento Bee, San Diego Union-Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Seattle Times, Washington Post  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Searching  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Newsbank: Access World News?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NewsBank: Special Reports 
Description: NewsBank's Special Reports focus on topics of current interest. They include content from sources throughout the world to provide a global perspective, current and background information, statistics, maps, images, websites, and suggested search terms.

Tags:  current_events  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about NewsBank: Special Reports?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Newspaper Source (EBSCO) 
Description: Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 major U.S. and International newspapers. In addition, full-text television and radio news transcripts are provided from ABC News, CBS News, CNN, CNN International, FOX News, NPR, etc.

Tags:  news, television, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Newspaper Source (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NewspaperSG (Singapore)  
Description: 1831 - 2009. An online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers from the National Library of Singapore.

Tags:  Singapore  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about NewspaperSG (Singapore) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Official Index to The Times 
Description: 1906 - 1980. See also Palmers Index to The Times, with Palmer's Full Text.

Help:  Search Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Official Index to The Times?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Pravda Digital Archive 
Description: 1912-2009. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers' newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement.

Tags:  USSR, Soviet Union, Russia  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Pravda Digital Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender 
Description: 1910-1975. Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and newspaper coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune 
Description: 1849-1988. Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and newspaper coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 
Description: 1881-1988. Provides access to LA Times content just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times 
Description: 1851-2008. Provides access to NYT content just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Tags:  NYT  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle 
Description: 1865-1922. Provides access to the SF Chronicle just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal 
Description: 1889-1994. Provides access to the WSJ just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post 
Description: 1877-1995. Provides access to WP just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Regional Business News (EBSCO) 
Description: Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Regional Business News (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest 
Description: Original archival materials documenting key issues and events from the period 1950 - 1975. Includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, ephemera, memorabilia and selected video footage.

Help:  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Shanghai News - Shen Bao Database 
Description: 1872 - 1949. Shen Bao was the first major newspaper in China. Coverage from the Qing Dynasty to the Republic Era. A primary e-resource for modern Chinese studies. Chinese language only.

Tags:  Chinese, China  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Shanghai News - Shen Bao Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) 
Description: 1984-present. WSJ is the world's leading financial newspaper. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444