Databases: By Format

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 
By Format [Play]

Asian American Drama 
Description: Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% have never been published before.

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Asian American Drama?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Black Drama 
Description: 1850 - present. Black Drama contains 908 plays by 171 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,200 plays.

Help:  Table of Contents Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Black Drama?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Caribbean Literature 
Description: When complete this database will include 130,000 pages of fiction, poetry and drama. Works are in English, Spanish, French, Dutch and a variety of local languages. Covers from 1900 to the present and includes writers from the entire region, including Barbados, Belize, Guyana and Suriname.

Tags:  poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Caribbean Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Dramatists Play Service, Inc. 
Description: A catalog of acting editions of scripts. Plays can be searched for by title, author, subject, number of cast members, length of play, and other search options.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Dramatists Play Service, Inc.?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Drew's Scripts-O-Rama 
Description: An index of downloadable movie and television scripts.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Drew's Scripts-O-Rama?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Latin American Women Writers 
Description: Brings together the voices of Latin American women from the 17th century to the present. Includes 120,000 pages of prose, poetry, drama, memoirs, letters and essays in the original languages. Authors are from Central and South America, as well as from Cuba and the Dominican Republic.

Tags:  poetry   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Latin American Women Writers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Latino Literature 
Description: Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.

Help:  FAQ  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Latino Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest) 
Description: A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors.

Help:  Help Page  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Theatre Online 
Description: More than 40,000 pages of critical, in-copyright reference works about authors, plays, theatres, productions, production companies, casts and related information covering the world of theatre from colonial times to the present.

Tags:  drama,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Theatre Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Women's Drama 
Description: This edition of North American Women's Drama contains 1,174 plays by 275 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Tags:  drama  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Women's Drama?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Play Index (EBSCO) 
Description: 1949 - present. Citations to 31,000 plays. Includes monologues, plot summaries, cast sizes, male and female roles, etc. Search for plays by title; author; subject (culture conflict, marriage); style (symbolism, experimental theater); genre (comedy, melodrama, musical); cast type; and more.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Play Index (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Playbill 
Description: News, feature and performance listings for Broadway, Off-Broadway, London and Regional Theatre.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Playbill?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Playdatabase 
Description: This catalog allows you to search by length of a play, for monologues, by gender, time period, age of characters, and more.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Playdatabase?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Romantic Era Redefined 
Description: 1800 - 1830. Includes poetry, prose, drama, letters, and diaries - along with political, philosophical, scientific, and sociological works. Provides access to Pickering & Chatto's critical editions in electronic format, as well as the complete digital version of The Wordsworth Circle.

Tags:  diaries  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Romantic Era Redefined?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Theatre in Video including the BBC Shakespeare Series 
Description: A collection of approximately 500 hours of streaming video files. Includes recordings of live theatre performances and also documentary videos about theatre production.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Theatre in Video including the BBC Shakespeare Series?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444