Databases: Recommended

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 
Recommended Databases

ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature 
Description: 1920-present. Lists monographs, periodical articles, critical editions of literary works, book reviews, collections of essays and doctoral dissertations published anywhere in the world.

Help:  Search Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ABELL: Annual Bibliography of English Language and Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
Description: A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Searching for Academic Libraries  |  EBSCO Host Research Databases Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ACM Digital Library 
Description: Allows searching of articles from publications of the Association for Computing Machinery by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Over 22,000 articles have displayable full-text available.

Help:  ACM Digitial Library FAQS  |  Using the ACM Digital Library  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ACM Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

America: History & Life (EBSCO) 
Description: This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Search Tutorials  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about America: History & Life (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Anthropology Plus (EBSCO) 
Description: 19th century - present. Indexes articles from over 2500 scholarly journals. Also indexes book chapters, reports, commentaries, edited works, and obituaries in the fields of social, cultural, physical, biological, and linguistic anthropology, ethnology, archaeology, folklore, material culture, and interdisciplinary studies.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Anthropology Plus (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

AnthroSource 
Description: A research tool for anthropological scholarship developed by the American Anthropological Association (AAA). Includes peer reviewed journals, newsletters and bulletins.

Tags:  American Anthropological Association, AAA  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about AnthroSource?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Art Full Text (EBSCO) 
Description: Provides access to full text of 300 periodicals back to 1995, as well as indexing and abstracting to over 600 periodicals as far back as 1984. Indexes nearly 200,000 art reproductions as well as photographs, folk art, films, architecture and more.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Art Full Text (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ARTstor 
Description: ARTstor is an ever-growing digital library of over 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures and time periods to support teaching and learning in the humanities and social sciences.

Tags:  AMICA, amica  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ARTstor?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ASME Digital Collection (American Society of Mechanical Engineers) 
Description: 1990 - present. A collection of materials from the American Society of Mechanical Engineers including ASME's 23 Transaction Journals from 1990 to the present (full-text) and Conference Proceedings (citations) from 2002 to the present.

Tags:  engineering  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ASME Digital Collection (American Society of Mechanical Engineers)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

BioOne Abstracts and Indexes (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to abstracts of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help and Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about BioOne Abstracts and Indexes (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

BIOSIS Previews via ISI Web of Knowledge 
Description: 1926 - present. The largest database covering the literature of the biological sciences. Covers journals, books, conferences and patents.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about BIOSIS Previews via ISI Web of Knowledge?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) 
Description: Articles from important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886. Includes industry & market research reports, SWOT analyses, over 600 books and more than 1,200 journals in the areas of business, marketing, management, finance and economics.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Business Source Complete (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

COMPENDEX PLUS 
Description: 1969 - present. Compendex, via Engineering Village 2, contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

Help:  Engineering Village Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about COMPENDEX PLUS?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Current Protocols Collection (Wiley) 
Description: Titles in 3 subject areas: Chemistry, Life Sciences, Medicine and Healthcare.

Tags:  Wiley  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Current Protocols Collection (Wiley)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

EconLit (ProQuest) 
Description: 1969-present. Abstracts journal articles, books, dissertations, and working papers in economics. New records added monthly. Produced by American Economic Association.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about EconLit (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Education Source (EBSCO) 
Description: Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Education Source (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (ProQuest) 
Description: 1966-present. Covers all areas of education, including adult, urban, rural, vocational, elementary, early childhood, handicapped, gifted, and higher education. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) 
Description: Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use American History and Life.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  EBSCO Host Research Databases Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

IEEE Xplore 
Description: 1913 - present. Full-text access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and from the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). These publications include transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards.

Help:  User Guide (.pdf)  |  Help Home  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about IEEE Xplore?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPEC 
Description: 1898 - present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

Tags:  bioinformatics  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Online Help  |  Subject Searching (Video)  |  Advanced Searching (Video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about INSPEC?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPEC Archive 
Description: 1898 - 1968. Science Abstracts Access over 70 years of international scientific & technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, computing & control engineering.

Help:  Online Help  |  How to Search (Video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about INSPEC Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

JSTOR 
Description: Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.

Help:  FAQ  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about JSTOR?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Knovel Library 
Description: This reference collection of almost 900 titles includes books from 30 Sci-Tech publishers. The main subject areas include Engineering, Life Sciences & Chemistry, and Materials. All titles are available in full-text and are searchable. Additional features include interactive tables, equation plotters and graph digitizers.

Help:  How to perform a Basic Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Knovel Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest) 
Description: A comprehensive literature database of over 350,000 works of poetry, drama and prose dating as far back as 600. Includes links to other Web resources, bibliographies for over 400 authors and biographies for over 1,000 authors.

Help:  Help Page  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about LION (Literature Online) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Literature Resources from Gale 
Description: A comprehensive resource for research on literary topics, authors, and their works. Gateway to Literature Resource Center, Twayne's Authors Online Series and Scribner Writers Online Series.

Help:  Help  |  Tips  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Literature Resources from Gale?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

MEDLINE 
Description: 1951 - present. MEDLINE is the U.S. National Library of Medicine's premier bibliographic database, covering biomedicine and life sciences topics. Includes references from journals, newspapers, magazines, and newsletters. Available through ISI Web of Knowledge. Use UC-eLinks to link to full text.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about MEDLINE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest) 
Description: 1926-present. Subject index for books, articles and websites published on modern languages, literatures, folklore, and linguistics.

Tags:  modern language association, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about MLA International Bibliography (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Newsbank: Access World News 
Description: Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.

Tags:  Arlington Morning News, Boston Globe, Charlotte Observer, Dallas Morning News, Denver Post, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Fresno Bee, Kansas City Star, Los Angeles Times, Merced Sun-Star, Modesto Bee, Miami Herald, New York Times, New York Sun, New York Post, Oakland Tribune, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, Sacramento Bee, San Diego Union-Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Seattle Times, Washington Post  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Searching  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Newsbank: Access World News?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) (ProQuest) 
Description: Covers issues in the public debate through selective coverage of a wide variety of international sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, web content, and more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about PAIS International (Public Affairs Information Service) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest) 
Description: (formerly PCI Full Text) An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.

Tags:  PAO, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  PAO Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to three centuries of the arts, humanities, and social sciences indexed coverage, from first issue to 1995 or ceased date. Over 6,00 journals are included, including international journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Tags:  PIO, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  PIO Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1974 - present. Over 10,000 full-text articles from approximately 25 journals covering topics such as political theory, area studies, comparative politics and American government.

Help:  Homepage Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Political Science: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Project Muse 
Description: Scholarly Journals Online Search by subject or browse full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.

Help:  How to Search (video)  |  How to Browse (video)  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Project Muse?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I 
Description: 1861-present. Lists most U.S. dissertations, and many dissertations and master's theses from Canada, Great Britain and continental Europe. Abstracts included 1980-present. Includes full text for all UC dissertations, at no charge, 1997 - present. British and Continental European dissertations covered 1988 - present. Masters theses listed selectively from 1988.

Help:  Basic Search  |  Top Questions Regarding Basic Search  |  ProQuest Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PsycARTICLES (ProQuest) 
Description: 1894-present. A database of full-text articles from journals published by the American Psychological Association, the APA Educational Publishing Foundation, the Canadian Psychological Association, and Hogrefe & Huber.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about PsycARTICLES (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1969 - present. Contains 35 full text journal in areas such as applied psychology, environment psychology, language acquisition, personality and social psychology.

Help:  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Psychology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PsycINFO (ProQuest) 
Description: 1806-present. The PsycINFO database contains citations to articles in over 1,300 professional journals, conference proceedings, books, reports, and dissertations in psychology and related disciplines. Most citations include abstracts.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Tutorial: Finding Empirical Studies  |  Quick Reference Guide: How to Search in PsycInfo  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about PsycINFO (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ScienceDirect/SciVerse 
Description: (coverage varies according to journal title) Includes abstracts, tables of contents, and full text of articles from journals as well as a few book selections. Content includes the sciences, technology, medicine and social sciences.

Tags:  science_direct, science direct  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  ScienceDirect Interactive Tutorials  |  Content Overview  |  Content  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ScienceDirect/SciVerse?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) 
Description: 1952-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 30 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

Help:  Search Help  |  Major Features  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Web of Science 
Description: Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).

Help:  Help  |  New Features - August 2011  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Web of Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest) 
Description: 1975-present. Research within the political science discipline and its complementary fields, including international relations, law, and public administration/policy.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Worldwide Political Science Abstracts (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444