Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

African American Studies

19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) 
Description: Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers. Emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.

Tags:  Gale  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about 19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

African American Music Reference 
Description: This database chronicles the history of music by African Americans over time, including links to external web resources, streaming audio tracks and musical scores.

Help:  Navigating the Site  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about African American Music Reference?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

African American Newspapers 
Description: 1827 - 1998. Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about African American Newspapers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

African American Periodicals 1825-1995 
Description: Fully searchable database features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about African American Periodicals 1825-1995?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

America's Historical Newspapers 
Description: 1690 - 1876. Full text of North American Newspapers from the colonial and early national periods. Selected from the 700 title Readex microfilm collection of the same name. Includes Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980.

Help:  Help  |  Helpful Information  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about America's Historical Newspapers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Civil War Research Database 
Description: A resource to obtain statistics, photographs and other information about individuals, regiments and battles of the American Civil War. Analytical research tools are also available.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Civil War Research Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record 
Description: The approximately 1,235 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public.

Comments or questions about Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Black Drama 
Description: 1850 - present. Black Drama contains 908 plays by 171 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. When complete, the collection will include more than 1,200 plays.

Help:  Table of Contents Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Black Drama?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Black Studies Center 
Description: The Black Studies Center compiles historical and current material for researching the past, present and future of African-Americans, the wider African Diaspora, and Africa itself.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Black Studies Center?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Black Thought and Culture 
Description: Black Thought and Culture provides approximately 100,000 pages of monographs, essays, articles, speeches, and interviews written by leaders within the black community from the earliest times to the present.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Black Thought and Culture?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Black Women Writers 
Description: Highlights the many voices of women from Africa and the African Diaspora. Includes fiction, poetry, and essays.

Tags:  poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Black Women Writers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) 
Description: 1950s - 1960. Browse or search this digital archive of historical new film, digital collections, reference materials, editorial cartoons, transcripts, and diaries that document the civil rights movement. Provided by the University of Georgia.

Tags:  oral histories, CRDL  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index to Black Periodicals 
Description: Includes current and retrospective bibliographic citations and abstracts from scholarly journals and newsletters from the United States, Africa and the Caribbean--and full-text coverage of core Black Studies periodicals.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Index to Black Periodicals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 30 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

Help:  Search Help  |  Major Features  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database 
Description: Information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Comments or questions about Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444