Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

American Studies

Alabama Mosaic 
Description: Alabama Mosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Featuring content from libraries, archives and museums from across Alabama, AlabamaMosaic provides access to thousands of images.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Alabama Mosaic?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Alaska Digital Archives 
Description: Includes more than 5,000 quality digital images of Alaska's heritage from University of Alaska, the Alaska State Library, and many other Alaskan institutions.

Tags:  oral histories,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Alaska Digital Archives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

America: History & Life (EBSCO) 
Description: This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Search Tutorials  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about America: History & Life (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Masters 
Description: Consisting of more than 250 hours of programming to date, AMERICAN MASTERS is a growing film library documenting the role important individuals, groups, and movements have played in the formation of our cultural identity.

Tags:  biographical  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about American Masters?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Memory Project 
Description: American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Tags:  sheet music,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Memory Project?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Memory Project: Map Collections 
Description: Eleven map collections digitized from the Library of Congress. Content includes maps from the Civil War to World War II.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Memory Project: Map Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American National Biography 
Description: Detailed articles on more than 18,000 men and women, from all eras and walks of life, whose lives have shaped the United States. Includes bibliographies and links to web resources. Several hundred new entries added each year.

Tags:  biographies  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  America National Biography Online Help  |  ANB User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American National Biography?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Periodicals (ProQuest) 
Description: 1740-1940. Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Periodicals (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American West (The) 
Description: The American West is a unique resource which allows scholars to explore tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes and outlaws and the environmental impact of westward expansion. The collection is a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American West (The)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Calisphere 
Description: A free public gateway to thousands of digitized primary sources - including photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, works of art - from UC museums and libraries and other cultural heritage institutions across California. Designed with a special emphasis on serving California teachers.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Calisphere?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers  
Description: Search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Duke Digital Collections 
Description: Digital image collection held by Duke University Libraries or other organizations affiliated with Duke University. Includes collections such as the William Gedney Photographs and Writings, Historic American Sheet Music and the Emergence of Advertising in America.

Tags:  sheet music  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Duke Digital Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early Encounters in North America 
Description: This release contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of material: letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in North America. The collection is centered on present-day Canada and the U. S. with limited coverage of Mexico.

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Early Encounters in North America?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

European Views of the Americas (EBSCO) 
Description: 1493 - 1750. Bibliographic database containing more than 32,000 entries. A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.

Tags:  Europe, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about European Views of the Americas (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Everyday Life and Women in America 
Description: A resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. Comprises thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, & periodicals addressing 19th and early 20th century issues.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Everyday Life and Women in America?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Google News Archive 
Description: An archive of scanned newspapers. Chronological coverage varies with content from the early 1800s until 2009. The content focuses on North American titles. Note: Google is no longer actively archiving newspapers.

Help:  Archive Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Google News Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

HarpWeek 
Description: 1857 - 1912. Provides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly a weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century. Besides coverage of news and opinion, the database includes illustrations, cartoons, literature, biographies and advertisements.

Tags:  harper's weekly  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about HarpWeek?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Historical Photograph Collections at the Arizona State Archives 
Description: Photographs focus upon the unique cultural heritage of the state and territory of Arizona, beginning in 1863 and include examples of all types of photographic process; tintypes, glass lantern slides, and photographic postcards.

Comments or questions about Historical Photograph Collections at the Arizona State Archives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Images of America: a History of American Life in Images and Texts 
Description: Over 1 million historical images and texts from local history books, celebrating the places and faces that give America its spirit and life.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Images of America: a History of American Life in Images and Texts?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

John Carter Brown Archive of Early American Images 
Description: 1492 - ca.1825. A database of graphic representations of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about John Carter Brown Archive of Early American Images?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Library of Congress International Collections 
Description: Provides access to images from American Memory Historical Collections as well as international visual resource collections such as the Abdul Hamid II Collection (Ottoman Empire) and the Prokudin-Gorskii Collection (Russian Empire).

Comments or questions about Library of Congress International Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories 
Description: Provides access to personal accounts of immigrants who came to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Television News Archive (Vanderbilt) 
Description: Searchable database of network broadcasts (e.g. CBS, NBC, ABC) including news abstracts and broadcast descriptions.

Tags:  TV, Vanderbilt  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Television News Archive (Vanderbilt)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 
Description: 1960 - 1974. This searchable database includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database 
Description: Information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Comments or questions about Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

University of Washington Digital Collections 
Description: Provides access to tens of thousands of digital images covering a wide variety of subjects with an emphasis on the Pacific Northwest. Also includes maps, newspapers, posters, reports and other ephemera. The collections focus on rare and unique materials.

Tags:  Pacific Northwest, Alaska, photographs, photos,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about University of Washington Digital Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444