Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Art

Art Full Text (EBSCO) 
Description: Art Full Text is now Art Source.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Art Full Text (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Art History Resources on the Web 
Description: Links to extensive resources for the study of art history.

Comments or questions about Art History Resources on the Web?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Art Source (EBSCO) 
Description: Covers a broad range of related subjects, from fine, decorative and commercial art, to various areas of architecture and architectural design. Strong international coverage from periodicals published English, French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Art Source (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest)  
Description: 1974-present. Provides full abstracts of journal articles, books, essays, exhibition catalogs, PhD dissertations, and exhibition review on all forms of modern and contemporary art. Entries date back as far as the late 1960's.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ARTbibliographies Modern (ProQuest) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Artcyclopedia 
Description: Search for artists whose works are included in museum sites, image archives and other online resources.

Help:  Research Fine Art FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Artcyclopedia?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ARTINFO Gallery Guide 
Description: Comprehensive source of gallery and museum exhibitions nationwide.

Comments or questions about ARTINFO Gallery Guide?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arts & Humanities Citation Index 
Description: 1975 - present. See Web of Science. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching from more than 1,100 leading arts and humanities journals through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arts & Humanities Citation Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
Description: Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ARTstor 
Description: ARTstor is an ever-growing digital library of over 500,000 images of art, architecture and archeology from a wide range of cultures and time periods to support teaching and learning in the humanities and social sciences.

Tags:  AMICA, amica  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ARTstor?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Bibliography of the History of Art 
Description: The Bibliography of the History of Art is now the International Bibliography of Art.

Help:  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Bibliography of the History of Art?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Calisphere 
Description: A free public gateway to thousands of digitized primary sources - including photographs, documents, newspaper clippings, works of art - from UC museums and libraries and other cultural heritage institutions across California. Designed with a special emphasis on serving California teachers.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Calisphere?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Claire Holt Indonesian Art Collection 
Description: Created for the Cornell Indonesian Arts Project, the Claire Holt Papers comprise approximately 1,780 slides of Indonesia and typescript notes about a trip to Indonesia in 1955-1956.

Tags:  Indonesia  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Claire Holt Indonesian Art Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA) 
Description: A collaborative effort of Princeton University's Firestone Library and the Princeton Center for Arts and Cultural Policy Studies, CPANDA is a digital archive of policy-relevant data on the arts and cultural policy in the United States.

Tags:  CPANDA  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Cultural Policy and the Arts National Data Archive (CPANDA)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Duke Digital Collections 
Description: Digital image collection held by Duke University Libraries or other organizations affiliated with Duke University. Includes collections such as the William Gedney Photographs and Writings, Historic American Sheet Music and the Emergence of Advertising in America.

Tags:  sheet music  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Duke Digital Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Estate Project for Artists with AIDS 
Description: Initiated by the Alliance for the Arts, the Estate Project for Artists with Aids seeks to preserve the cultural legacy of the AIDS crisis so that future generations can enjoy, study and engage artworks as aesthetic achievements and historical documents.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Estate Project for Artists with AIDS?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Farber Gravestone Collection 
Description: The Farber Gravestone Collection is an unusual resource containing over 13,500 images documenting the sculpture on more than 9,000 gravestones, most of which were made prior to 1800, in the Northeastern part of the United States.

Tags:  genealogy  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Farber Gravestone Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Getty Research Library 
Description: Includes the Art & Architecture Thesaurus, the Getty Provenance Index and the Photo Study Collection.

Comments or questions about Getty Research Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hartill Collection 
Description: The Hartill collection contains 16,660 images of art and architecture (primarily architecture). The Hartill Collection includes works from major periods, and monuments such as the Great Pyramids at Giza, Stonehenge, and the Viet Nam War Memorial. Covers the architectural history of the Western world from earliest antiquity through the present, and from the Middle East to the Americas. Includes thousands of details of architectural decoration, mosaics, sculpture and stained glass, as well as related decorative arts and public sculpture. Exceptionally strong in European medieval architecture and sculpture of the Romanesque and Gothic periods; additionally, modern architecture and sculpture are both especially well represented.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hartill Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hoover Institution Poster Collection 
Description: Features posters from around the world. The largest number are from the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, the Russian empire and the Soviet Union, and France.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hoover Institution Poster Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Icelandic Photos 
Description: Photographs by the acclaimed British artist, photographer and traveler Frederick W.W. Howell. landscapes, farmsteads, towns and people in a remarkable series of photographs from Iceland and the Faeroe Islands.

Tags:  Iceland  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Icelandic Photos?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (EBSCO) 
Description: Indexes 42 art journals published in the US during the 19th century. Describes the entire journal contents including articles, art notes, illustrations, stories, poems, and advertisements.

Tags:  nineteenth century, nineteenth_century  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Index to 19th Century American Art Periodicals (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (ProQuest) 
Description: 1973-present. Provides authoritative coverage of international scholarship for European art from late antiquity to present, American art from the colonial era to the present, and global art since 1945. Also includes coverage of painting, sculpture, drawing, folk art, antiques and other visual art in all media.

Tags:  ProQuest, IBA  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about International Bibliography of Art (IBA) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LUCI (Library of UC Images) 
Description: A collection of approximately 4,000 images from Ancient Greek and Roman antiquities, as well as California art and architecture.

Tags:  uc  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about LUCI (Library of UC Images)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NASA Image Gallery 
Description: Includes an image of the day (and over 700 archived images) and various other NASA multimedia resources, including podcasts, 3D resources, video, and more.

Comments or questions about NASA Image Gallery?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Gallery of Art Images  
Description: Includes over 25,000 open access digital images from the National Gallery of Art.

Tags:  NGA  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Gallery of Art Images ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Palace Museum Online (NPM Online) 
Description: Photo images and related description articles of all the collections exhibited in NPM Online are authorized by the National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan. "NPM Online" is a database application aimed at educational promotion and academic exchanges, which is available with versions of four languages, including traditional Chinese, simplified Chinese, Japanese, and English.

Tags:  NPM  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about National Palace Museum Online (NPM Online)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan 
Description: Images of approximately 5,000 selected masterpieces from the Chinese imperial collection representing paintings, examples of calligraphy, rare books and manuscripts, sculpture, ceramics, metalwork, jades, decorative arts, and utilitarian objects, from prehistory (Xia dynasty) to the early 20th century.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Oxford Art Online 
Description: Electronic version of the reference resource The Dictionary of Art plus extensive image links.

Help:  Quickstart  |  Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Oxford Art Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Paul Getty Trust 
Description: Find paintings, drawings, and photographs, in addition to manuscripts and decorative arts from the J. Paul Getty Trust. Includes over 4,600 digital images.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Paul Getty Trust?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest) 
Description: (formerly PCI Full Text) An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.

Tags:  PAO, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  PAO Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to three centuries of the arts, humanities, and social sciences indexed coverage, from first issue to 1995 or ceased date. Over 6,00 journals are included, including international journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Tags:  PIO, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  PIO Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Pratt Ex Libris 
Description: Nineteenth- and twentieth-century bookplates from private and institutional libraries. The plates feature finely detailed engraving or etching and serve as outstanding examples of period book art and typography.

Comments or questions about Pratt Ex Libris?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Proceedings First 
Description: Includes conference proceedings from a wide variety of disciplines, including the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Physical and Life Sciences. Each proceedings provides a list of papers presented. Individual records for each paper may be found in the PapersFirst database.

Tags:  conference_proceedings  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Tutorial Index  |  QuickStart Guide  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Proceedings First?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Project Muse 
Description: Scholarly Journals Online Search by subject or browse full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.

Help:  How to Search (video)  |  How to Browse (video)  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Project Muse?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Rijks Studio 
Description: The digital image collection of the Netherlands' state museum. Includes over 125,000 images and is still expanding.

Tags:  netherlands  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Rijks Studio?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ryland Collections 
Description: Collection of images displays highlights spanning five millennia from the vast resources of the Special Collections Division of the John Rylands University Library.

Help:  Browser Insight Help .pdf  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ryland Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SCIPIO Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs 
Description: Contains descriptive records of sales catalogs (not the text of the catalogs themselves) for sales dating from the 16th century to the present, including upcoming scheduled sales.

Help:  Getting Started with the OCLC FirstSearch Service  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SCIPIO Art and Rare Book Sales Catalogs?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UC Image Service 
Description: Provides access to 19 collections comprising over 30,100 images, as part of the UC Shared Images program. Collections are listed on home page.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about UC Image Service?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UC Press E-Books Collection 
Description: 1982 - 2004. Includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about UC Press E-Books Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World War II Posters 
Description: The World War II Poster Project was created by the HIST100 class at Bucknell University during the Fall 2006.

Comments or questions about World War II Posters?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Yale University Library Digital Collections 
Description: Provides access to several important digital image and document collections belonging to Yale University. Includes access to thousands of images from collections such as Arts of the Book Ephemera, Classics Department at Yale, Beinecke Rare Books and Manuscripts, Yale Daily News Historical Archive and Yale University Art Gallery.

Help:  Ask! A Librarian  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Yale University Library Digital Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444