Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Biology

Agricola - National Agricultural Library (NAL) Catalog 
Description: Search the National Agricultural Library Catalog and Article Citation Database or browse by subject. Topics covered include agriculture, agronomy, animal science, aquaculture, biology, botany, breeding, crop management, dairy science, ecology, entomology, environment, fertilizers, pesticides, food agriculture, forestry, and horticulture.

Tags:  agriculture, agronomy, entomology  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Ask A Question  |  Search Options: Quick Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Agricola - National Agricultural Library (NAL) Catalog?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

arXiv.org 
Description: e-Print archive Preprints for physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science. Formerly the Los Alamos National Laboratory Eprint Archive, and also known as "xxx.lanl.gov," the main site hardware operations were transferred from Los Alamos to the Cornell University Library site in December 2001.

Help:  arXiv.org Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about arXiv.org?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

BIODIDAC 
Description: This site contains hundreds of images organized into three sections covering Zoology, Botany, and Histology. All images can be used for non-commercial purposes.

Help:  Information  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about BIODIDAC?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

BioMed Central 
Description: BioMed Central Ltd., provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.

Help:  FAQ  |  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about BioMed Central?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

BioOne Abstracts and Indexes (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to abstracts of nearly 100 high-impact bioscience research journals.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help and Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about BioOne Abstracts and Indexes (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Biosis Citation Index 
Description: 1926 - present. Supports access, research and discovery in the life sciences. Indexes 5,300 journal titles and 22 million records. Includes conference proceedings, books and patents. Biosis Previews are included in Biosis Citation Index.

Help:  Tutorials  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Biosis Citation Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences: Collection 1 
Description: A collection of over 50 colloquia covering cell and molecular biology and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Each colloquium is 50 to 100 pages long. Each synthesizes an important research or development topic, written by a prominent contributor to the field.

Tags:  neuroscience  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences: Collection 1?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Comprehensive Physiology (Wiley) 
Description: An authoritative collection of review content in the physiological sciences. Includes the landmark series Handbook of Physiology. Continually updated and expanded.

Tags:  Wiley  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Comprehensive Physiology (Wiley)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Current Protocols Collection (Wiley) 
Description: Titles in 3 subject areas: Chemistry, Life Sciences, Medicine and Healthcare.

Tags:  Wiley  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Current Protocols Collection (Wiley)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

EPrint Network 
Description: Department of Energy's gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about EPrint Network?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Faculty of 1000 : Biology Reports Ltd. 
Description: An online research service that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 2300 selected leading researchers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Faculty of 1000 : Biology Reports Ltd.?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Faculty of 1000: Post-Publication Peer Review 
Description: Identifies and evaluates the most important articles in biology and medical research publications. Includes access to F1000 Reports journals, F1000 Posters and The Scientist, F1000's magazine of the life sciences.

Help:  FAQs  |  Overview  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Faculty of 1000: Post-Publication Peer Review?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

iScienceSearch 
Description: iScienceSearch is an internet search engine for chemists and biologists. Searches more than 60 data sources including Google, PubChem, and ChemSpider. Results can be sorted, filtered or grouped. Does not replace SciFinder. Users must allow Pop-up windows.

Help:  Information/Search Tips  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about iScienceSearch?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LAMHDI 
Description: LAMHDI (Link Animal Models to Human Disease) helps researchers bridge the gap between bench testing and human trials and helps them find animal models for their research. The site is updated frequently with new data.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about LAMHDI?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Mary Ann Liebert Journals 
Description: Mary Ann Liebert journals, a publisher whose primary focus is in the areas of biomedical research and clinical medicine.

Help:  Support Home  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Mary Ann Liebert Journals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Medline Plus 
Description: Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health. Provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues and links to medical research and information about clinical trials.

Help:  FAQ  |  Spanish version  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Medline Plus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Medline Plus Mobile 
Description: Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health. Provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues and links to medical research and information about clinical trials.

Comments or questions about Medline Plus Mobile?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Merck Index Online 
Description: Basic chemical, property and use information (with literature references) on nearly 11,000 significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances. Searchable by name, registry number, etc., as well as by structure or substructure. Includes Organic Name Collections (concise descriptions and histories of 446 named reactions) and 60 pages of additional tables.

Help:  User Help Guides  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Merck Index Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf 
Description: (NCBI) The Bookshelf contains searchable full-text biomedical books.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PrimateLit 
Description: 1940 - present. Indexes articles, books, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc. Covers many subject areas including behavior, colony management, veterinary science, physiology, evolution, genetics, and more.

Help:  Using This Site  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about PrimateLit?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Biology 
Description: A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. Includes articles, essays and book reviews addressing biological science.

Tags:  PLOS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Using This Site  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Biology?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PubMed 
Description: 1951 - present. Includes more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Use UC-eLinks to link to full text when not otherwise available.

Help:  PubMED Online Training  |  PubMed Help  |  Fact Sheet  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about PubMed?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Quertle 
Description: Searches MEDLINE/PubMed, BioMed Central, NIH RePORTER database of grant applications and the National Library of Medicine's TOXLINE database of the effects of drugs and other chemicals.

Tags:  toxicology  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Quertle?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Citation Index Expanded 
Description: 1900 - present. See Web of Science. Citations to science related topics available through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Basic Search Help  |  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science Citation Index Expanded?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Scopus 
Description: Indexes 21,000 peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and book series. Includes 5.5 million conference papers and cross searches 25.2 million patents. Features a Journal Analyzer tool to assess journal performance. Trial access to Scopus ends on December 31, 2014.

Help:  Help and Contact  |  Tutorials  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Scopus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Springer Protocols 
Description: 1984 - present. Includes protocols for reproducing laboratory experiments. Content is divided into 15 subject areas in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. The protocols are from book series and laboratory manuals. Researchers can create individual accounts to save specific protocols or searches for easy reference.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Springer Protocols?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SpringerLink 
Description: A database of high-quality journal, book series, books and reference works from Science Technical Medical (STM) publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SpringerLink?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

STATSnetBASE 
Description: This repository of statistical references meets the needs of statisticians and researchers employing statistical science across a wide range of disciplines.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about STATSnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET) 
Description: A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas from the National Library of Medicine. Some databases include data and full text. Databases include Hazardous Substances Databank, Toxics Release Inventory, Integrated Risk Information System, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, GENE-TOX from the EPA, TOXLINE, and NCI structures.

Tags:  TOXNET  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Web of Science 
Description: Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).

Help:  Help  |  New Features - August 2011  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Web of Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Zoological Record 
Description: The world's oldest continuing database of animal biology. More than a century of experience has made ZR a respected resource for: information from every field in animal biology, projects in academic, government, and commercial organizations and reliable and in-depth information searches.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Zoological Record?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444