Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Business (General)

American FactFinder 
Description: A source for population, housing, economic and geographic data provided by the U.S. Census Bureau.

Tags:  American Fact Finder, census  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American FactFinder?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ArticleFirst 
Description: 1990 - present. Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Comments or questions about ArticleFirst?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Business Expert Press 
Description: Searchable collection of business-related ebooks created by experts for non-experts. Subject areas include marketing, human resource management, entrepreneurship, small business management, public relations, consumer behavior, business ethics and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Business Expert Press?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Business Source Complete (EBSCO) 
Description: Articles from important scholarly business journals dating back to 1886. Includes industry & market research reports, SWOT analyses, over 600 books and more than 1,200 journals in the areas of business, marketing, management, finance and economics.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Business Source Complete (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California County Profiles: Financial & Economic Data 
Description: The California County Profiles, updated by the California Department of Finance, is a compilation of selected economic, social, and demographic data for California and its 58 counties.

Comments or questions about California County Profiles: Financial & Economic Data?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California Quick Facts 
Description: Census links to California data from 2010 census population data, the latest Economic Census, County Business Patterns and other reports.

Tags:  census  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about California Quick Facts?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Digital Commons Network 
Description: Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Comments or questions about Digital Commons Network?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Factiva Access 
Description: Nearly 9,000 business and general news sources, including U.S. and international newspapers, magazines, wire services, Web sites, photographs, and trade and industry publications. Also, company profiles and company-to-company/company-to-industry financial comparisons, stock price data, and stock charting.

Help:  Factiva Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Factiva Access?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Global Development Finance (GDF Online) 
Description: 1970 - 2009. Focuses on financial flows, trends in external debt, and other major financial indicators for developing countries. Includes over 200 time series indicators from for most reporting countries.

Tags:  GDF  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Global Development Finance (GDF Online)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Global Financial Data 
Description: Contains long runs of historical data (over 6,000 series) on security markets and macroeconomic trends for more than 200 countries. Includes Long-term Financial, Interest Rate, United States Daily Stock Market, Global Stock Market, Total Return, Annual Data, and Dow Jones Industrial Average Intraday. Includes online encyclopedia that describes the database.

Tags:  stock market, dow jones  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Global Financial Data?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Global Road Warrior 
Description: Information on culture, communications, travel, business and maps for 175 countries and territories.

Comments or questions about Global Road Warrior?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

globalEDGE 
Description: Provides in depth information and data for research and teaching International Business courses. Created by the Center for International Business Education and Research at Michigan State University.

Comments or questions about globalEDGE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ILOLEX (Database of International Labour Standards) 
Description: 1926 - present. Trilingual database containing ILO conventions and recommendations, ratification information, comments of the Committee of Experts and the Committee on Freedom of Association, representations, complaints, interpretations, General Surveys, and numerous related documents.

Tags:  labor  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help & Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ILOLEX (Database of International Labour Standards)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ImportGenius 
Description: Search for import and export customs records for all cargo shipments entering U.S. ports. Records include customers, product lines, and exporting volumes for factories around the world. Users must create an account using their UC Merced email address.

Tags:  trade  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about ImportGenius?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

International Monetary Fund 
Description: The primary purpose of the IMF is to ensure the stability of the international monetary system. The IMF website includes data and statistics, country information, news and events, publications, reports and more.

Tags:  imf  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help for first time visitors.   |  FAQ  |  Search Tips  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about International Monetary Fund?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

iPoll (Roper Center) 
Description: A database of 500,000 questions and answers asked in the US since 1935. Create your own account to access additional functionality including data downloading via RoperExpress and online data analysis via RoperExplorer.

Tags:  polls, roper center  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Tutorial  |  Dataset Search Tutorial  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about iPoll (Roper Center)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Islamic Finance Information Service (IFIS) 
Description: Primary source for all aspects of Islamic finance.

Tags:  IFIS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Islamic Finance Information Service (IFIS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Laborsta  
Description: International Labour Office data for over 200 countries or territories regarding labor and consumer prices.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Laborsta ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LexisNexis Academic 
Description: Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Especially good for news transcripts. Includes international information, including some Dutch, French, German, Italian, and Spanish news sources.

Help:  Developing a Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about LexisNexis Academic?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Melvyl @ UC Merced 
Description: Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display Merced resources listed first according to relevance.

Help:  Index Labels  |  Content Overview  |  Quick Reference Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Melvyl @ UC Merced?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Melvyl @ University of California 
Description: Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond.

Help:  Quick Reference Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Melvyl @ University of California?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Technical Information Service (NTIS) 
Description: 1990 - present. A resource for U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering and business information.

Tags:  NTIS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Download Help (.pdf)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Technical Information Service (NTIS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Newsbank: Access World News 
Description: Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.

Tags:  Arlington Morning News, Boston Globe, Charlotte Observer, Dallas Morning News, Denver Post, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Fresno Bee, Kansas City Star, Los Angeles Times, Merced Sun-Star, Modesto Bee, Miami Herald, New York Times, New York Sun, New York Post, Oakland Tribune, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, Sacramento Bee, San Diego Union-Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Seattle Times, Washington Post  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Searching  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Newsbank: Access World News?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

OECD iLibrary 
Description: Full-text publications and statistical data from the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development (OECD), including country studies, forecasting publications, reports, and socioeconomic datasets. The statistics section includes data in the areas of international trade, telecommunications, foreign aid, migration, and many other categories.

Help:  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about OECD iLibrary?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Official Index to The Times 
Description: 1906 - 1980. See also Palmers Index to The Times, with Palmer's Full Text.

Help:  Search Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Official Index to The Times?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Oxford Reference Online 
Description: Search over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.

Help:  FAQ  |  New User Guide  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Oxford Reference Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I 
Description: 1861-present. Lists most U.S. dissertations, and many dissertations and master's theses from Canada, Great Britain and continental Europe. Abstracts included 1980-present. Includes full text for all UC dissertations, at no charge, 1997 - present. British and Continental European dissertations covered 1988 - present. Masters theses listed selectively from 1988.

Help:  Basic Search  |  Top Questions Regarding Basic Search  |  ProQuest Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Rand California 
Description: Rand California, sponsored by the think-tank, RAND, is a subscription-based service on California and U.S. public policy with an emphasis on statistics.

Comments or questions about Rand California?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Rand State Statistics 
Description: Provides access to nearly 80 databases covering statistical data for all 50 United States. Find statistical information related to business and economics, education, health, population, and more.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Rand State Statistics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Regional Business News (EBSCO) 
Description: Incorporates 75 business journals, newspapers and newswires covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Regional Business News (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

REPEC: IDEAS 
Description: Indexing and links to working papers in economics.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about REPEC: IDEAS?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Selected Magazine Sources (from Business Source Complete) 
Description: Select magazine sources from Business Source Complete that may be useful for research on marketing related topics and consumer demographics. The sources include Marketing Communication, Marketing Research, Marketing Week, Journal of Consumer Affairs and others. Note: May be appropriate for MGMT120.

Tags:  Business Source Complete  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Selected Magazine Sources (from Business Source Complete)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
Description: SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Tags:  SSRN  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Science Research Network (SSRN)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Sciences Citation Index 
Description: 1956 - present. See Web of Science. Citations to social science related topics available through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Sciences Citation Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statistical Datasets (Data-Planet) 
Description: Provides fast, easy access to data from government statistical producing agencies such as the U.S. Census Bureau, Bureau of Labor Statistics, Bureau of Economic Analysis, Federal Reserve Board, National Center for Health Statistics, and many others. Users can chart, map, and compare 10 million time series at the county, MSA, state and national levels. Includes access to EASI Market Planner.

Tags:  Data Planet, EASI Market Planner  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statistical Datasets (Data-Planet)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

STATSnetBASE 
Description: This repository of statistical references meets the needs of statisticians and researchers employing statistical science across a wide range of disciplines.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about STATSnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UN Comtrade 
Description: Provides selected trade series from 30 specialized international data sources for all available countries and areas recognized by the United Nations.

Comments or questions about UN Comtrade?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UNESCO Statistics 
Description: Provides global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication. In addition to the rich statistical databases are monographs, articles, surveys, questionnaires, quick facts and much more.

Comments or questions about UNESCO Statistics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wall Street Journal (ProQuest) 
Description: 1984-present. WSJ is the world's leading financial newspaper. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wall Street Journal (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS) 
Description: WRDS provides access to historical financial, marketing, and economics data. This data includes company information, security prices & trading volume, income and balance sheet items, stock market indices, bond prices & interest rates, mutual fund & stock ownership information, options data, macroeconomic time series, global data, plus marketing & industry reports. Compustat from Capital IQ is also accessible through UC Merced's subscription to WRDS.

Tags:  WRDS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Demo  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: Access to this resources is strictly limited to faculty and graduate students. Each individual must obtain an individual login and password by visiting WRDS and selecting the Register tab. Once a Registration request is received, it will be reviewed to ensure it meets WRDS's subscription license requirements before access is made available. For information regarding use of this resource, visit the WRDS site or contact Professor Alex Whalley.
Note: In order to use Wharton with an undergraduate class, the faculty member must directly communicate with WRDS to obtain access.

Comments or questions about Wharton Research Data Services (WRDS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Bank -- Documents & Reports 
Description: Over 15,000 documents, previously known as World Development Sources (WDS), including information on Country Economic & Sector work; Project Documents plus Research & Working Papers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Bank -- Documents & Reports?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Bank Atlas of Global Development 
Description: An interactive tool that maps and graphs more than 175 indicators from the World Bank development database. Issues such as poverty, food production, international trade, etc. are covered. Provides visual comparisons of data across time, countries, and regions. Maps and graphs can be exported.

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Bank Atlas of Global Development?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Bank Worldwide Development Indicators 
Description: World Bank provides global statistical data in support of research and the understanding of global issues.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Bank Worldwide Development Indicators?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Development Indicators (WDI Online) 
Description: 1960 - present. WDI Online is a comprehensive database on development data covering more than 575 indicators, 225 countries, and 18 regional and income groups. The extensive collection of development data includes population, income, social, economic, financial, natural resources, and environmental indicators for more than forty years (starting in 1960 where data are available).

Tags:  WDI  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Development Indicators (WDI Online)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Trade Organization Statistics 
Description: Provides access to international statistical data including trade profiles, tariff profiles, and services profiles for individual countries.

Comments or questions about World Trade Organization Statistics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Worldbank Data 
Description: Provides access to World Bank data through an interface that makes data easy to find and use.

Tags:     (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Worldbank Data?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444