Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Chemistry

AIP Scitation 
Description: Provides online access to a robust collection of close to 1 million articles from leading physical sciences publications including journals, conference proceedings, standards, and magazines published by AIP Publishing and AIPP's publishing partners.

Tags:  optics, nanotechnology, acoustics  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about AIP Scitation?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Alloy Phase Diagram Center Online 
Description: The ASM Alloy Phase Diagrams Center allows subscribers to explore, search and view more than 11,000 binary and ternary phase diagrams and associated phase data for more than 2400 systems from their Web browsers.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Alloy Phase Diagram Center Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ATSDR's Toxicological Profiles 
Description: Provides 152 final toxicological profiles covering the effects of hazardous substances, chemicals and compounds from the U.S. Public Health Service's Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry.

Tags:  toxicology  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ATSDR's Toxicological Profiles?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CHEMnetBASE 
Description: Gateway to web versions of Chapman & Hall/CRC chemical information resources. Contains information on physical property data, structural representations, and chemical synonyms.

Tags:  Chemical Dictionary, Dictionary of Commonly Cited Compounds, Dictionary of Inorganic and Organometallic Compounds, Dictionary of Natural Products, Dictionary of Organic Compounds, Dictionary of Drugs Pharmasource, The Handbook of Chemistry & Physics, Polymers: A Property Database, Properties of Organic Compounds, ATSDR's Toxicological Profiles  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About CHEMnetBASE  |  Technical Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about CHEMnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics 
Description: Contains the most frequently used data in science, including the periodic table of the elements, basic constants and units, thermodynamic and spectroscopic data; electric, magnetic, thermal and structural properties of solids, key data from nuclear science, astronomy and geophysics; and up-to-date health and safety information. Part of the CHEMnetBASE collection.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Current Chemical Reactions  
Description: (1985 present) Delivers the latest synthetic methods reported in over 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals. Each reaction provides complete reaction diagrams, critical conditions, bibliographic data, and author abstracts.

Help:  Support Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Current Chemical Reactions ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Current Protocols Collection (Wiley) 
Description: Titles in 3 subject areas: Chemistry, Life Sciences, Medicine and Healthcare.

Tags:  Wiley  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Current Protocols Collection (Wiley)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Dictionary of Organic Compounds 
Description: Physical and chemical constants for organic compounds; includes structure diagrams and literature references on synthesis, structure and spectra, etc. Available via ChemNetBase. (Requires Java plugin.)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Dictionary of Organic Compounds?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

EPrint Network 
Description: Department of Energy's gateway to preprints in scientific and technical disciplines of concern to DOE including physics, materials, and chemistry, biology, environmental sciences and nuclear medicine.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about EPrint Network?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index Chemicus  
Description: (1993 - present) Provides access to chemical compound information and research data, allowing scholars to analyze trends, and share their findings. Covers more than 100 of the world's leading organic chemistry journals, offering full graphical summaries, important reaction diagrams, and complete bibliographic information.

Comments or questions about Index Chemicus ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPEC 
Description: 1898 - present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

Tags:  bioinformatics  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Online Help  |  Subject Searching (Video)  |  Advanced Searching (Video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about INSPEC?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPEC Archive 
Description: 1898 - 1968. Science Abstracts Access over 70 years of international scientific & technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, computing & control engineering.

Help:  Online Help  |  How to Search (Video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about INSPEC Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

iScienceSearch 
Description: iScienceSearch is an internet search engine for chemists and biologists. Searches more than 60 data sources including Google, PubChem, and ChemSpider. Results can be sorted, filtered or grouped. Does not replace SciFinder. Users must allow Pop-up windows.

Help:  Information/Search Tips  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about iScienceSearch?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology 
Description: Contains the complete text, including citations, tables, and abstracts, of many volumes of the 4th ed. of the Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Knovel Library 
Description: This reference collection of almost 900 titles includes books from 30 Sci-Tech publishers. The main subject areas include Engineering, Life Sciences & Chemistry, and Materials. All titles are available in full-text and are searchable. Additional features include interactive tables, equation plotters and graph digitizers.

Help:  How to perform a Basic Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Knovel Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Landolt-Bornstein Archives 
Description: Data from all areas of physical science and engineering. Available on Portico platform. Click on E-BOOK TITLES (center tab) to see list of titles.

Comments or questions about Landolt-Bornstein Archives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Merck Index Online 
Description: Basic chemical, property and use information (with literature references) on nearly 11,000 significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances. Searchable by name, registry number, etc., as well as by structure or substructure. Includes Organic Name Collections (concise descriptions and histories of 446 named reactions) and 60 pages of additional tables.

Help:  User Help Guides  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Merck Index Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NIST Chemistry WebBook 
Description: Chemical and physical property data provided and maintained by the NIST Standard Reference Data Program and outside contributors. Users can find data in the NIST Chemistry WebBook either by direct searches for chemical species or indirect searches based on related data.

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about NIST Chemistry WebBook?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Quertle 
Description: Searches MEDLINE/PubMed, BioMed Central, NIH RePORTER database of grant applications and the National Library of Medicine's TOXLINE database of the effects of drugs and other chemicals.

Tags:  toxicology  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Quertle?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Reaxys 
Description: A database of chemical facts from 175 journals in organic chemistry, indexing three primary data domains: substances, reactions, and literature. Also includes organometallic and inorganic chemistry, covering literature from the year 1772 to today. Covers 1.6 million compounds, 1.3 million structures, 1.3 million reactions, and 900,000 citations, including titles and abstracts from 1995. Fully searchable by structures, substructures, and reactions.

Tags:  crossfire, beilstein  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Training & Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Reaxys?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials 
Description: A reference source with data on approximately 26,000 substances. Used to evaluate the hazardous characteristics of substances. Information on toxicity, flammability, reactivity, and explosive potential is included.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sax's Dangerous Properties of Industrial Materials?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Citation Index Expanded 
Description: 1900 - present. See Web of Science. Citations to science related topics available through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Basic Search Help  |  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science Citation Index Expanded?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science of Synthesis 
Description: Critical collection of high-quality, relevant synthetic methods in organic and organometallic chemistry. Each one with full experimental procedures. Includes the Houben-Weyl backfiles, covering the literature to the mid-1800's. When complete, it will include 38,000 generally applicable experimental procedures, including 240,000 reactions and 800,000 structures.

Help:  Quick Start Guide (.pdf)  |  Video Tutorials  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science of Synthesis?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SciFinder Scholar 
Description: (From Chemical Abstract Services - CAS) A collection of chemical literature and information databases. Includes CAplus (the online version of Chemical Abstracts), the CAS Registry, and CASREACT. Requires the creation of an account.

Tags:  chemical abstracts, chemical_abstracts, CAS, CASREACT  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  SciFinder Scholar User Guide 2013  |  Contents at a Glance  |  How to register to use SciFinder Scholar  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SciFinder Scholar?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Scopus 
Description: Indexes 21,000 peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and book series. Includes 5.5 million conference papers and cross searches 25.2 million patents. Features a Journal Analyzer tool to assess journal performance. Trial access to Scopus ends on December 31, 2014.

Help:  Help and Contact  |  Tutorials  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Scopus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET) 
Description: A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas from the National Library of Medicine. Some databases include data and full text. Databases include Hazardous Substances Databank, Toxics Release Inventory, Integrated Risk Information System, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, GENE-TOX from the EPA, TOXLINE, and NCI structures.

Tags:  TOXNET  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

TRI Explorer 
Description: Environmental Protection Agency database containing information on specific toxic chemical releases and other waste management activities reported annually.

Tags:  EPA  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about TRI Explorer?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry 
Description: Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a reference work, international in scope and coverage, encompassing all the disciplines and current practice of industrial chemistry and chemical engineering around the world. Its 1,000 major articles by 3,000 leaders from research and industrial organizations are well-illustrated with charts and figures and extensive bibliographies.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Web of Science 
Description: Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).

Help:  Help  |  New Features - August 2011  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Web of Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444