Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Computer Science

ACM Digital Library 
Description: Allows searching of articles from publications of the Association for Computing Machinery by author and/or keywords taken from the titles, abstracts and/or full-text. Over 22,000 articles have displayable full-text available.

Help:  ACM Digitial Library FAQS  |  Using the ACM Digital Library  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ACM Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

arXiv.org 
Description: e-Print archive Preprints for physics, mathematics, nonlinear sciences, and computer science. Formerly the Los Alamos National Laboratory Eprint Archive, and also known as "xxx.lanl.gov," the main site hardware operations were transferred from Los Alamos to the Cornell University Library site in December 2001.

Help:  arXiv.org Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about arXiv.org?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CiteSeer 
Description: A search engine which crawls academic and scientific documents (primarily in the areas of computer science, information science, and engineering) and considers the citation impact when ranking results.

Help:  CiteSeer Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about CiteSeer?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

HTML Code Tutorial 
Description: The goal of the site is to "provide the most helpful and complete guide to creating web pages anywhere." Includes information on Java applets, fonts, images, scripts, Cascading Style Sheets, and tables. Tutorials include easy to follow examples.

Comments or questions about HTML Code Tutorial?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

InfoSECURITYnetBASE 
Description: Established experts meet the challenges of information security, with a wealth of material exploring system analysis, server set-up, cryptography, cyber-crime, and other modern risks. The collection also includes the complete CISSP Exam Prep Book and other top certification aids.

Tags:  cryptography  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about InfoSECURITYnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPEC 
Description: 1898 - present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

Tags:  bioinformatics  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Online Help  |  Subject Searching (Video)  |  Advanced Searching (Video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about INSPEC?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPEC Archive 
Description: 1898 - 1968. Science Abstracts Access over 70 years of international scientific & technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, computing & control engineering.

Help:  Online Help  |  How to Search (Video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about INSPEC Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Safari Tech Books Online 
Description: A collection of reference content from IT publisher, O'Reilly & Associates. New titles are available online even before they appear in print.

Tags:  technology  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: No download or log-in required. Multiple user simultaneous access. Limited printing. Email one page at a time. Full-text searching. Some titles include supplemental materials, e.g. CD-ROM.

Comments or questions about Safari Tech Books Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Citation Index Expanded 
Description: 1900 - present. See Web of Science. Citations to science related topics available through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Basic Search Help  |  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science Citation Index Expanded?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SIAM e-books 
Description: Approximately 400 SIAM books published over the past five decades. Titles cover a wide range of applied mathematics and computational science subject areas.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SIAM e-books?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science 
Description: An information service for the research, development, and educational community in engineering and computer science. Contains 50-100 page electronic books that synthesize important research or development topic.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE 
Description: From local area networks, wireless, and ad-hoc networks to designing secure network infrastructure, this e-book collection represents one-of-the-most accurate and detailed online collections of telecommunications references available.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444