Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

East Asian Studies

Apabi Digital Resources 
Description: Full-text access to over 5,000 contemporary Chinese e-book titles including literature, art, history, language, geography and popular fiction; 90 yearbook titles on national economic and social statistics; and more than 700 reference titles.

Tags:  Chinese, China  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Apabi Digital Resources?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Asian American Drama 
Description: Asian American Drama contains 252 plays by 42 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more. Some 50% have never been published before.

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Asian American Drama?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) 
Description: Contains more than 780,000 records on all subjects (especially humanities and social sciences) pertaining to East, Southeast, and South Asia published worldwide from 1971 to the present.

Tags:  BAS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

China Academic Journals 
Description: Contains more than 3,500 full-text Chinese Journals. Content begins as early as 1906 and continues to the mid-twentieth century through 1993. Contains deep backfiles of full text journals with access to the following series only: Series F - Literature/History/Philosophy; Series G - Politics/Military Affairs/Law; Series H - Education & Social Sciences.

Tags:     (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Contact Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about China Academic Journals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chinamaxx Digital Library 
Description: Full-text access to over 50,000 Chinese e-book titles from the Beijing SuperStar Digital Library in 22 major categories, including literature, history, law, economics, environmental studies, sciences, medicine, and engineering.

Tags:  Chinese, China  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chinamaxx Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chinese Companies and Products (Chinese)  
Description: Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Search or browse by industry. Information on company profiles, products, capitals, revenues, profits, contact details, web sites, and more is updated on a regular basis.

Tags:  China, Chinese  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chinese Companies and Products (Chinese) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chinese Companies and Products (English) 
Description: Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Search or browse by industry. Information on company profiles, products, capitals, revenues, profits, contact details, web sites, etc, is updated on a regular basis.

Tags:  China  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chinese Companies and Products (English)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CiNii Citation Information by National Institute of Informatics NII Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator 
Description: Provides access to articles and books from Japanese sources including the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index. The National Institute of Informatics has compiled 2.8 million PDF articles in NII-ELS. Available in English and Japanese.

Comments or questions about CiNii Citation Information by National Institute of Informatics NII Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Dacheng Old Journal Full Text Database 
Description: Includes more than 7,000 journal titles and 130,000 issues published in China from the late Qing Dynasty to 1949. Articles can be downloaded in PDF format.

Tags:  huang pu, wan guo gong bao, young companion  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Dacheng Old Journal Full Text Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Gujin Tushu Jicheng 
Description: The Complete Classics Collection of Ancient China. Includes most seminal classics of Chinese literature and culture from ancient China through the Qing Dynasty.

Tags:  China, Chinese  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Gujin Tushu Jicheng?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Harvard University Library 
Description: Provides access to visual resource collections that are unique to Harvard University. Includes tens of thousands of images from collections of Chinese Rubbings, Harvard Daguerreotypes, Immigrants to the United States, 19th-Century American Trade Cards, as well as a wide variety of other collections.

Comments or questions about Harvard University Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Japanese Historical Maps 
Description: The Japanese Historical Map Collection contains early maps of Japan and the world. The collection is housed on the Berkeley campus in the East Asian Library.

Tags:  Japan  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Japanese Historical Maps?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

JapanKnowledge 
Description: Provides access to various reference sources, including dictionaries (Japanese, English and multi-languages), encyclopedias (Encyclopedia Nipponica, Encyclopedia of Japan, Kodansha Encyclopedia of Japan, etc.), other Japanese reference works (biographies, maps, chronologies, etc.), full text Toyo Bunko and Shukan Ekonomisuto (Weekly Economist), and other visual and sound databases.

Tags:  T?y? Bunko, Sh?kan Ekonomisuto  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about JapanKnowledge?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Kikuzo II Visual 
Description: One of the largest online newspaper databases in Japan. Enables users to search articles carried by the Asahi Shimbun over the past 130 years. Articles and photo archives from the Meiji, the Taisho, and the Showa era are included.

Tags:  Japan, Japanese  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Kikuzo II Visual?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals (NICNP) 
Description: 1833 - present. Contains over 25 million entries from about 16 thousand newspapers and periodicals from mainland China, Hong Kong and Taiwan, with a yearly update of 3.5 million entries.

Tags:  China  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about National Index to Chinese Newspapers and Periodicals (NICNP)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Palace Museum Online (NPM Online) 
Description: Photo images and related description articles of all the collections exhibited in NPM Online are authorized by the National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan. "NPM Online" is a database application aimed at educational promotion and academic exchanges, which is available with versions of four languages, including traditional Chinese, simplified Chinese, Japanese, and English.

Tags:  NPM  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about National Palace Museum Online (NPM Online)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan 
Description: Images of approximately 5,000 selected masterpieces from the Chinese imperial collection representing paintings, examples of calligraphy, rare books and manuscripts, sculpture, ceramics, metalwork, jades, decorative arts, and utilitarian objects, from prehistory (Xia dynasty) to the early 20th century.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Palace Museum, Taipei, Taiwan?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Population Census of China Database (English version) 
Description: Full-text database and census analysis system. Includes census data from 1949 - 2010 and covers gender, age, nationality, permanent residence registration, education level, industry, occupation, social security, marriage, fertility, death, housing, and migration. Available in English and Chinese.

Tags:  China, census data  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about National Population Census of China Database (English version)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NewspaperSG (Singapore)  
Description: 1831 - 2009. An online resource of current and historic Singapore and Malaya newspapers from the National Library of Singapore.

Tags:  Singapore  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about NewspaperSG (Singapore) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Policies and Laws of China (PLOC) 
Description: Provided through Wanfang Data, an affiliate of Chinese Ministry of Science & Technology. Search or browse more than 40 sub categories including State Laws, Regulations, Foreign Laws, etc.

Tags:  PLOC  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Policies and Laws of China (PLOC)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Shanghai News - Shen Bao Database 
Description: 1872 - 1949. Shen Bao was the first major newspaper in China. Coverage from the Qing Dynasty to the Republic Era. A primary e-resource for modern Chinese studies. Chinese language only.

Tags:  Chinese, China  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Shanghai News - Shen Bao Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Si ku quan shu 
Description: Works only with IE An electronic edition of the collection Si ku quan shu comprised of the finest editions of the best books in China and completed in 1782. Includes 3,461 works, totaling over 36,375 volumes/scrolls. Its four main bibliographic divisions are jing , shi , zi , and ji .

Tags:  China, Chinese  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Si ku quan shu?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

South and Southeast Asian Literature 
Description: 1825 - present. A collection of fiction, short fiction, poetry, interviews and manuscript materials with a focus on writing from the late-colonial and postcolonial eras. Works are written by authors from India, Pakistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, Afghanistan, Sri Lanka, the Maldives, Malaysia, Myanmar, Singapore and Fiji.

Help:  Help Getting Started  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about South and Southeast Asian Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) 
Description: TEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social science.
Note: Database interface available in Chinese and English

Tags:  TEPS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Taiyo Online 
Description: Taiyo (The Sun), was a general interest magazine issued in Japan between 1895 and 1928 by Hakubunkan publisher. Coverage includes 175,000 pages from 34 volumes.

Tags:  Japanese, Japan  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Taiyo Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) Digital Library  
Description: TBRC is a registered non-profit corporation dedicated to the preservation, organization and dissemination of Tibetan literature. The collection includes new publications, rare literature and publications from small printing houses, monasteries and educational institutions in China, India, Bhutan, and Nepal.

Tags:  TBRC  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) Digital Library ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wanfang Data 
Description: Wanfang Data provides access to data relating to culture, medicine, business, science, and more. Includes access to the following collections only: Policies and Laws of China, Chinese Companies and Products, Dissertations of China, China Academic Conference Proceedings, China Online Journals.

Tags:  China, Chinese   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wanfang Data?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

WhoPlus 
Description: A database of biographical information on thousands of prominent people in Japan. To access the database, click the データベース検索 button at the top right corner and select WhoPlus.

Tags:  Nichigai Web Service  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about WhoPlus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444