Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Education

Chronicle of Higher Education 
Description: A news source for academia, it includes information on jobs for college and university faculty and administration.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chronicle of Higher Education?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Digital Commons Network 
Description: Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Comments or questions about Digital Commons Network?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

EdStats 
Description: EdStats collects worldwide data on education from national statistical reports, statistical annexes of new publications, and other data sources.

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about EdStats?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Education Index Retrospective (EBSCO) 
Description: 1929 - 1983. Indexing of over 500 English-language periodicals covering topics such as distance learning, parent-teacher relations, vocational education, and teaching methods.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Education Index Retrospective (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Education News 
Description: Covers U.S. and world media publications, commentaries and reports for K-12 and Higher Education. Includes views on education issues from all sides of the political spectrum.

Comments or questions about Education News?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Education Source (EBSCO) 
Description: Includes full text for more than 1,700 journals, 550 books and monographs, education-related conference papers, citations for over four million articles including book reviews and over 100,000 controlled and cross-referenced names of educational tests.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Education Source (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1968 - present. Full-text of peer-reviewed journals on education topics including diversity, teaching methods, leadership, and testing.

Help:  Basic Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Education: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (ProQuest) 
Description: 1966-present. Covers all areas of education, including adult, urban, rural, vocational, elementary, early childhood, handicapped, gifted, and higher education. Includes citations and abstracts to journal articles (EJ) and documents (ED) in education.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ERIC (Educational Resources Information Center) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR) 
Description: ICPSR maintains a data archive of more than 500,000 files of research in the social sciences. It hosts 16 specialized collections of data in education, aging, criminal justice, substance abuse, terrorism, and other fields.

Tags:  ICPSR  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research (ICPSR)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Left Index (EBSCO) 
Description: 1982 - present. A guide to the diverse literature of the left, with an emphasis on political, economic, social and culturally engaged scholarship both inside and outside of academia. A secondary emphasis is on significant but little known sources of news and ideas.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  EBSCO Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Left Index (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (EBSCO) 
Description: 1984 - present. Indexes English and foreign-language periodicals, conference proceedings, pamphlets, books, library school theses, and over 300 books per year. Full text articles from over a hundred select publications, 1997-present.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  EBSCO Host Research Databases Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Library Literature & Information Science Full Text (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO) 
Description: This database indexes periodicals, books, research reports and proceedings. Subject coverage includes librarianship, classification, cataloging, bibliometrics, online information retrieval, information management and more. Coverage in the database extends back as far as the mid-1960s.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  EBSCO Host Research Databases Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Library, Information Science & Technology Abstracts (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Middle Search Plus (EBSCO) 
Description: Contains full text for nearly 140 popular, middle school magazines. All full text articles are assigned a reading level indicator (Lexiles). Full text is also available for thousands of biographies, historical essays and student pamphlets.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Middle Search Plus (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Center for Early Development & Learning 
Description: NCEDL is a national early childhood research project supported by the US Department of Education's Institute for Educational Sciences (IES), formerly the Office of Educational Research and Improvement (OERI). Administratively based at the FPG Child Development Institute, NCEDL is a collaboration with the University of Virginia & UCLA.

Comments or questions about National Center for Early Development & Learning?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and Literacy 
Description: (NCSALL) A federally funded research and development center focused solely on adult learning. NCSALL's efforts are dedicated to improving practice in educational programs that serve adults with limited literacy and English language skills, and those without a high school diploma.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Center for the Study of Adult Learning and Literacy?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Newsbank: Access World News 
Description: Dates vary. Full-text content of more than 600 U.S. newspapers and 700 international sources. Local, regional and world news, including community events, schools, politics, government policies, cultural activities, local companies, state industries, and people.

Tags:  Arlington Morning News, Boston Globe, Charlotte Observer, Dallas Morning News, Denver Post, Fort Worth Star-Telegram, Fresno Bee, Kansas City Star, Los Angeles Times, Merced Sun-Star, Modesto Bee, Miami Herald, New York Times, New York Sun, New York Post, Oakland Tribune, Orange County Register, Philadelphia Inquirer, Sacramento Bee, San Diego Union-Tribune, San Francisco Chronicle, Seattle Times, Washington Post  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Searching  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Newsbank: Access World News?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Online Schools Directory 
Description: A national directory of colleges, universities and technical schools that offer online educational options.

Comments or questions about Online Schools Directory?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Open Textbook Library 
Description: Collection of openly licensed and freely available textbooks for higher education courses.

Tags:  textbooks, open educational resources (OER)  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Questions?  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Open Textbook Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Primary Search (EBSCO) 
Description: Provides full text for more than 70 popular, elementary school magazines. Also provides the Encyclopedia of Animals, New World Encyclopedia, the American Heritage Children's Dictionary, and an Image Collection of over 453,000 photos, maps and flags.

Tags:  elementary, children, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Primary Search (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Rand State Statistics 
Description: Provides access to nearly 80 databases covering statistical data for all 50 United States. Find statistical information related to business and economics, education, health, population, and more.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Rand State Statistics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Reader's Guide Retrospective (EBSCO) 
Description: 1890 - 1982. Online version of Reader's Guide to Periodicals, index to general-interest U.S. magazines during the 20th Century.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Reader's Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
Description: Simultaneously searches multiple social science databases, including EconLit, ERIC (education), Philosopher's Index, PsycARTICLES, and many more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Sciences Combined Databases (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest) 
Description: 1952-present. Abstracts journal articles, monographs, dissertations, conference proceedings, other research covering sociology, social work, and related social sciences. Also includes selected web resources.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sociological Abstracts (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 30 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

Help:  Search Help  |  Major Features  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to authoritative and comprehensive statistics on the social, political, and economic conditions of the United States.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Statistical Abstract of the U.S. (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UNESCO Statistics 
Description: Provides global and internationally comparable statistics on education, science, technology, culture and communication. In addition to the rich statistical databases are monographs, articles, surveys, questionnaires, quick facts and much more.

Comments or questions about UNESCO Statistics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

University of Chicago Press Online Journals 
Description: Chicago Journals Online is a fully searchable online portal including nearly fifty scholarly journals and annuals - from the latest research in a wide range of subjects to historical content dating from the founding of the University of Chicago Press in 1892 when it began publishing the Journal of Political Economy.

Help:  Info & Services  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about University of Chicago Press Online Journals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444