Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Engineering (General)

Access Engineering (Selected Titles hosted by CDL) 
Description: Selected engineering texts from McGraw-Hill. Includes titles focused on Electrical, Civil, Mechanical and Chemical engineering disciplines. Includes Perry's Handbook for Chemical Engineers and Marks' Standard Handbook for Mechanical Engineers.

Tags:  CDL  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Access Engineering (Selected Titles hosted by CDL)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL) 
Description: Provides access to a large collection of industry-leading standards and technical engineering information. Covers a broad range of engineering disciplines, including aerospace, biomedical, chemical, civil, environmental, geological, health and safety, industrial, materials science, mechanical, nuclear, petroleum, soil science, and solar engineering.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ASTM Standards and Engineering Digital Library (SEDL)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

AuthorMapper 
Description: A search tool from Springer to discern trends, patterns and subject experts in scientific fields. The site searches over 3 million Springer journal articles. Users can search using keyword, discipline, institution, journal and author. Results are displayed in charts, a timeline graph, and a map.

Tags:  Springer  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about AuthorMapper?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) 
Description: BASE is a powerful search engine for academic open access web resources. Approximately 75% of the 40 million documents indexed are available in full text.

Tags:  BASE  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information 
Description: Includes more than 50,000 serial titles and over 600,000 books, reports and conference proceedings in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Includes records for the Canadian Agriculture Library that include books, reports and conference proceedings.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CiteSeer 
Description: A search engine which crawls academic and scientific documents (primarily in the areas of computer science, information science, and engineering) and considers the citation impact when ranking results.

Help:  CiteSeer Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about CiteSeer?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

COMPENDEX PLUS 
Description: 1969 - present. Compendex, via Engineering Village 2, contains over 9 million records and references from over 5,000 journals, conferences, and trade publications. The broad subject areas of engineering and applied science are comprehensively represented.

Help:  Engineering Village Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about COMPENDEX PLUS?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science 
Description: 1990 - present. Access the published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. 30% of content is from journals and 70% from books.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Digital Commons Network 
Description: Open access to peer-reviewed journal articles, book chapters, dissertations, working papers, conference proceedings, and other original scholarly work from a wide range of disciplines.

Comments or questions about Digital Commons Network?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest) 
Description: 1971-present. Citations and abstracts for coverage of earthquake engineering and earthquake hazard mitigation. Includes information on conference proceedings, research reports, monographs, technical reports, patents, press releases, newsletter items and journal articles.

Tags:  Proquest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Earthquake Engineering Abstracts (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Eigenfactor 
Description: This web source is used to evaluate journal titles; it ranks and maps scientific knowledge. Eigenfactor includes Article Influence scores which are calculated based on per article citations and assigns Eigenfactor Scores which are a measure of the journal's value for a year. Use the scientific browser to find key journals in a specific field of study.

Help:  Why Eigenfactor?  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Eigenfactor?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE 
Description: From CRCnetBASE. Offers a diverse range of references, covering everything from VLSI and semiconductor design to power engineering, signal processing, and MEMS devices.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ElectricalENGINEERINGnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library 
Description: A collection of books, journals, working papers, conference proceedings and other scholarly works deposited by academic departments, research units and other centers of the University of California.

Help:  Help & FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Google Scholar 
Description: A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical reports.

Comments or questions about Google Scholar?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search) 
Description: A digital repository of collections from research libraries including some full-text views. To view complete items, select "Full view only" on the search page.

Tags:  worldcat  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help FAQ  |  About  |  Traditional Catalog Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

IEEE Xplore 
Description: 1913 - present. Full-text access to publications from the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE) and from the Institution of Electrical Engineers (IEE). These publications include transactions, journals, magazines, conference proceedings, and current IEEE standards.

Help:  User Guide (.pdf)  |  Help Home  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about IEEE Xplore?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPEC 
Description: 1898 - present. Over 9 million records from over 5,000 journals, conference proceedings, reports, dissertations, and books (from 1969-2008). Produced by The Institution of Engineering and Technology and provided on the ISI Web of Science platform. Covers a range of subjects from computers and ocean engineering to astronomy and acoustics.

Tags:  bioinformatics  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Online Help  |  Subject Searching (Video)  |  Advanced Searching (Video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about INSPEC?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

INSPEC Archive 
Description: 1898 - 1968. Science Abstracts Access over 70 years of international scientific & technical literature in physics, electrical engineering, computing & control engineering.

Help:  Online Help  |  How to Search (Video)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about INSPEC Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Knovel Library 
Description: This reference collection of almost 900 titles includes books from 30 Sci-Tech publishers. The main subject areas include Engineering, Life Sciences & Chemistry, and Materials. All titles are available in full-text and are searchable. Additional features include interactive tables, equation plotters and graph digitizers.

Help:  How to perform a Basic Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Knovel Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Landolt-Bornstein Archives 
Description: Data from all areas of physical science and engineering. Available on Portico platform. Click on E-BOOK TITLES (center tab) to see list of titles.

Comments or questions about Landolt-Bornstein Archives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Melvyl @ UC Merced 
Description: Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display Merced resources listed first according to relevance.

Help:  Index Labels  |  Content Overview  |  Quick Reference Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Melvyl @ UC Merced?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Melvyl @ University of California 
Description: Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond.

Help:  Quick Reference Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Melvyl @ University of California?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NTLTD) 
Description: Search and locate electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Some documents are restricted to specific educational institutions while others are freely available for download.

Tags:  NTLTD  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NTLTD)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

OAIster 
Description: Searchable collection of working papers, preprints, reports, eprints and other "hard-to-find" documents from academic organizations around the world. Produced by the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Services.

Comments or questions about OAIster?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I 
Description: 1861-present. Lists most U.S. dissertations, and many dissertations and master's theses from Canada, Great Britain and continental Europe. Abstracts included 1980-present. Includes full text for all UC dissertations, at no charge, 1997 - present. British and Continental European dissertations covered 1988 - present. Masters theses listed selectively from 1988.

Help:  Basic Search  |  Top Questions Regarding Basic Search  |  ProQuest Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Citation Index Expanded 
Description: 1900 - present. See Web of Science. Citations to science related topics available through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Basic Search Help  |  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science Citation Index Expanded?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Scirus 
Description: A science-specific search engine designed to search a combination of web information, preprint servers, digital archives, repositories and some patent and journal databases. May link to library subscribed content.

Help:  Scirus Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Scirus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SPIE Digital Library 
Description: 1990 - present. Contains full-text technical papers on optics and photonics from SPIE (The International Society for Optical Engineering). Includes journals and proceedings.

Help:  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SPIE Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science 
Description: An information service for the research, development, and educational community in engineering and computer science. Contains 50-100 page electronic books that synthesize important research or development topic.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Synthesis Digital Library of Engineering and Computer Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE 
Description: From local area networks, wireless, and ad-hoc networks to designing secure network infrastructure, this e-book collection represents one-of-the-most accurate and detailed online collections of telecommunications references available.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about TELECOMMUNICATIONSnetBASE?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry 
Description: Ullmann's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry is a reference work, international in scope and coverage, encompassing all the disciplines and current practice of industrial chemistry and chemical engineering around the world. Its 1,000 major articles by 3,000 leaders from research and industrial organizations are well-illustrated with charts and figures and extensive bibliographies.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ullman's Encyclopedia of Industrial Chemistry?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

USPTO Web Patent Databases 
Description: 1790 - present. United States Patent and Trademark Office produced database of U.S. patents. Full-text available for each patent. USPTO Manual of Classification How to Identify and Obtain Patents.

Help:  Help Files  |  Frequently-Asked Questions  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about USPTO Web Patent Databases?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wolfram Alpha 
Description: Wolfram Alpha is an online service that answers factual queries directly by computing the answer from structured data. Searches hundreds of datasets and many external sources.

Help:  About  |  Examples  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wolfram Alpha?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

WorldCat 
Description: Represents holdings of library materials in a variety of formats held at more than 12,000 OCLC affiliated libraries worldwide: academic, public, governmental, private.

Comments or questions about WorldCat?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444