Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Film

American Film Institute Catalog 
Description: A comprehensive and detailed national filmography, the AFI Catalog includes the entire print version, which currently comprises five volumes documenting all films produced in the United States from 1892 to 1971, as well as new content and important updates for all previous records. Offers authoritative plot summaries and insider production notes, as well as subject and song indexing for each film record.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Film Institute Catalog?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arts & Humanities Citation Index 
Description: 1975 - present. See Web of Science. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching from more than 1,100 leading arts and humanities journals through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arts & Humanities Citation Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
Description: Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Box Office Guru 
Description: Compiles box office data on films released since 1989, updated weekly using data from Variety. The site also includes upcoming releases and a list of the all-time top-grossing motion pictures.

Comments or questions about Box Office Guru?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

FIAF International Film Archive  
Description: 1972 - 2008. The archive searches a collection of 7 smaller databases on the topics or film and television.

Tags:  television  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about FIAF International Film Archive ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Film Index International 
Description: Produced in collaboration with the British Film Institute, Film Index International indexes entertainment films from over 170 countries. Includes information on films, personalities and scholarly works related to film studies.

Help:  Help Quick Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Film Index International?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Film Literature Index 
Description: 1976 - 2001. Includes 700,000 citations to articles, film reviews and book reviews.

Help:  Searching Basics  |  Help Overview  |  Tutorial: Finding Film Reviews  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Film Literature Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Filmakers Library Online 
Description: Provides award-winning documentaries with relevance across the curriculum. Presents points of view and historical and current experiences from diverse cultures and traditions world-wide.

Tags:  documentary   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Filmakers Library Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

HBO Archives 
Description: HBO Archives provides access to footage of their award-winning television programs and feature films. Archive categories include sports, wildlife, entertainment news, archival and contemporary.

Tags:  television, news  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about HBO Archives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest) 
Description: 1864-present. Indexes more than 210 scholarly and popular performing arts periodicals, as well as a variety of documents such as biographical profiles, conference papers, obituaries, interviews, discographies, reviews and events.

Tags:  dance, drama, comedy, opera, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Tutorial: Finding Film Reviews  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about International Index to Performing Arts Full Text (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Internet Movie Database 
Description: Reviews, plot summaries, cast information; television too: over 200,000 movie and TV titles are covered.

Tags:  television  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  IMDB Frequently Asked Questions  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Internet Movie Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

London Review of Books 
Description: The London Review of Books is Europe's leading literary magazine. Provides access to literary criticism as well as art and film reviews.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about London Review of Books?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

March of Time  
Description: 1935 - 1967. Some complete episodes from the HBO Archives are available for online viewing. The newsreel and documentary series chronicles global events. To view, you must register for a free account.

Comments or questions about March of Time ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444