Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Gender And Women's Studies

Alternative Press Index (EBSCO) 
Description: 1991 - present. Index of journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Alternative Press Index (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO) 
Description: 1969 - 1990. Archives of Alternative Press Index. Includes journal, newspaper, and magazine articles from more than 300 international alternative, radical and left periodicals. Includes topics related to culture, economics, politics and social change.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Alternative Press Index Archive (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Women's History 
Description: Provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

Help:  Quick Facts About This Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Women's History?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Defining Gender 
Description: 1450 - 1910. Thematically organized documents from 21 libraries for comparative study and research. Manuscripts, printed works and illustrations address key issues from both masculine and feminine perspectives.

Help:  Help  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Defining Gender?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Everyday Life and Women in America 
Description: A resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. Comprises thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, & periodicals addressing 19th and early 20th century issues.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Everyday Life and Women in America?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index 
Description: Contains journal articles, book reviews, book essays about women, sexuality, and gender during the Middle Ages. Indexing began in 1995.

Comments or questions about Feminae: Medieval Women and Gender Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

GenderWatch (ProQuest) 
Description: 1970s-present. A full text database of publications that focus on the impact of gender across a broad spectrum of subject areas. Includes academic and scholarly journals, magazines, newspapers, newsletters, books, conference proceedings, government reports, etc.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Search  |  Top Questions Regarding Basic Search  |  Proquest Training  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about GenderWatch (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Gerritsen Collection Women's History Online 
Description: 1543 - 1945 Trace the evolution of feminism by using digital images from more than 4,700 books, periodicals, letters, diaries and pamphlets from Europe, the U.S., Canada, and New Zealand. Contains over two million page images of primary sources.

Help:  Help Search  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Gerritsen Collection Women's History Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Gilded Age, The 
Description: Full-text, primary documents and critical documentary essays on a variety of topics related to the late nineteenth century in America. Themes include race & ethnicity, labor, western expansion, gender, and social progress.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Gilded Age, The?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period 
Description: Includes more than 80 volumes of poetry by approximately 50 Irish women writing between 1768 and 1842. Also offers numerous biographical and critical essays.

Tags:  Ireland, poems, poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Irish Women Poets of the Romantic Period?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Latin American Women Writers 
Description: Brings together the voices of Latin American women from the 17th century to the present. Includes 120,000 pages of prose, poetry, drama, memoirs, letters and essays in the original languages. Authors are from Central and South America, as well as from Cuba and the Dominican Republic.

Tags:  poetry   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Latin American Women Writers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LGBT Life (EBSCO) 
Description: An index to the world's literature regarding Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual and Transgender issues. Contains indexing and abstracts for more than 200 LGBT-specific core periodicals and more than 360 LGBT-specific core books and reference works.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Customer Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about LGBT Life (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries 
Description: 100,000 pages of the personal writings of women of the 18th, 19th, and 20th centuries, displayed as high-quality images of the original manuscripts.

Tags:  diaries, American Antiquarian Society  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Manuscript Women's Letters and Diaries?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Women's Drama 
Description: This edition of North American Women's Drama contains 1,174 plays by 275 playwrights, together with detailed, fielded information on related productions, theaters, production companies, and more.

Tags:  drama  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Women's Drama?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Women's Letters and Diaries 
Description: (NAWLD) More than 150,000 pages of diaries and letters of over 1300 women, colonial period through 1950. Includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Women's Letters and Diaries?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers 
Description: 1500 - 1700. Manuscripts written or compiled by women in the British Isles during the sixteenth and seventeenth centuries.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Perdita Manuscripts: Women Writers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

QueerTheory.com 
Description: QueerTheory.com provides you with the best online resources integrated with the best visual and textual resources in Queer Culture, Queer Theory, Queer Studies, Gender Studies and related fields.

Help:  About Us  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about QueerTheory.com?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Same-Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature 
Description: 1997 - present. Includes references for articles supporting and opposing same-sex marriage as well as information on related issues such as parenting and children, taxation, etc. Also includes references to books, symposia and legal information related to same-sex marriage.

Comments or questions about Same-Sex Marriage: A Selective Bibliography of the Legal Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Scottish Women Poets 
Description: Contains 60 volumes of Romantic Poetry by Scottish women poets, extensive contemporary critical reviews, as well as material specially written for this database by leading scholars.

Tags:  poetry  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About  |  FAQ  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Scottish Women Poets?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
Description: SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Tags:  SSRN  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Science Research Network (SSRN)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Theory 
Description: Provides comprehensive coverage of major social thinkers together with seminal texts from lesser figures.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Theory?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 30 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

Help:  Search Help  |  Major Features  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 
Description: 1960 - 1974. This searchable database includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Women and Social Movements in the United States 
Description: 1600 - 2000. Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibliographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Women and Social Movements in the United States?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Women's Studies International (EBSCO) 
Description: 1972 - present. Covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies and feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, important websites & web documents, and grey literature.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Women's Studies International (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444