Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Government Publication

Catalog of U.S. Government Publications 
Description: 1994 - present. Known as the Monthly Catalog (MOCAT), this is a top choice for finding government documents.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Catalog of U.S. Government Publications?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Publications (ProQuest) 
Description: 1789-present. Access to comprehensive collection of Congressional publications including: committee information; committee hearings; committee prints and miscellaneous congressional publications; committee reports; congressional records; congressional rules; House and Senate documents; Senate executive documents and reports, laws, and bills; legislative histories; campaign financial data; key votes and roll calls.

Tags:  congress, government, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Topics  |  Content Coverage Chart  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Congressional Publications (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Almanac 
Description: Offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Almanac?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press 
Description: Simultaneously search CQ Researcher, and Collections for Congress, Supreme Court, Press Public Affairs, Press Voting & Elections, California Political Almanac, Supreme Court Yearbook, Politics in America and Handbook of the World.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Weekly 
Description: Weekly reports on congressional news. Covers virtually every act of Congress, providing nonpartisan news and analysis.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Weekly?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

DataSF 
Description: DataSF is a clearinghouse of datasets available from the City & County of San Francisco.

Tags:  San Francisco, SF  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Register  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about DataSF?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Declassified Documents Reference System 
Description: Full text of documents from various government agencies: the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department and others, declassified by the U.S. government, and obtained from Presidential Libraries.

Help:  Help Using Declassified Documents Reference System  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Declassified Documents Reference System?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Digital National Security Archive 
Description: 1945 - present. Contains declassified government documents including policy documents, presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, White House communications, email, etc. Covers critical world events from post WWII through the 21st century.

Help:  Information Resources  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Digital National Security Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

FedBizOpps 
Description: FedBizOpps lists U.S. Government procurement invitations and contract awards. Look here for subcontracting leads, surplus property sales, and foreign business opportunities. Alert service available by e-mail.

Help:  FAQ  |  Demonstration Videos  |  User Guides  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about FedBizOpps?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Federal Digital System (FDSYS) 
Description: Provides free online access to official Federal Government publications. Includes presidential documents, congressional bills and reports, economic indicators, federal register, public and private laws and more.

Tags:  FDSYS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Search Information  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Federal Digital System (FDSYS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

GPO (Government Printing Office) Catalog via FirstSearch 
Description: 1976 - present. Known as the Monthly Catalog, this is a top choice for finding government documents. Search by subject, title, SuDoc number, etc. Includes any government publications cataloged via the Government Printing Office.

Help:  EBSCO Host Research Databases Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about GPO (Government Printing Office) Catalog via FirstSearch?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

GPO Access (US Government) 
Description: Locate online versions of major U.S. government publications such as: the Congressional Record, bills, congressional publications of all kinds, the Federal Register, Code of Federal Regulations, Supreme Court decisions, and executive branch documents.

Help:  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about GPO Access (US Government)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

GreenFILE (EBSCO) 
Description: GreenFILE indexes scholarly and general interest titles, government documents and reports related to the environment. Full text is available for selected titles and references are available for an additional 200 titles.

Tags:  environment, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about GreenFILE (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Homeland Security Digital Library 
Description: Cross-searchable database of official, unclassified U.S. Government policies on homeland security strategy, policy and research documents. Also includes news and reports, websites and governmental and non-governmental databases. Produced by the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Homeland Security Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

House of Commons Parlimentary Papers 
Description: These papers are important to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world. Includes filmed images of original Parliamentary Papers dating as far back as 1688.

Help:  HCPP Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about House of Commons Parlimentary Papers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LexisNexis Academic 
Description: Thousands of full-text sources including newspapers, wires, transcripts, newsletters, magazines, trade journals; also company information, law reviews, court decisions. Coverage dates vary. Especially good for news transcripts. Includes international information, including some Dutch, French, German, Italian, and Spanish news sources.

Help:  Developing a Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about LexisNexis Academic?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Military & Government Collection (EBSCO) 
Description: Current news pertaining to all branches of the military. Provides cover-to-cover full text for nearly 300 military-related journals and periodicals.

Tags:  army, navy, air force, coast_guard, marines, armed_forces, law_enforcement, FBI, CIA, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  EBSCO Host Research Databases Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Military & Government Collection (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications 
Description: 1895 - 1976. The comprehensive index to historical information published by the United States federal government. Describes over 1.2 million items.

Tags:  GPO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Monthly Catalog of U.S. Government Publications?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Technical Information Service (NTIS) 
Description: 1990 - present. A resource for U.S. government-funded scientific, technical, engineering and business information.

Tags:  NTIS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Download Help (.pdf)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Technical Information Service (NTIS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection 
Description: Includes 11,000 map images scanned at the University of Texas including maps published by the U.S. Central Intelligence Agency. Additional links are provided to more maps sites.

Comments or questions about Perry-Castaneda Library Map Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PolicyArchive 
Description: A freely available archive for public policy research including reports, charts, videos and white papers. Materials are provided by registered organizations and verified before posting. Search and browse capabilities are available. Initiated by Indian University-Purdue University's Indianapolis Library and Center for Governmental Studies.

Comments or questions about PolicyArchive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

THOMAS 
Description: In the spirit of Thomas Jefferson, legislative information from the Library of Congress. Includes bills, resolutions, schedules, calendars, committee information, activity in Congress, and more.

Help:  Help  |  View Frequently Asked Questions About THOMAS  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about THOMAS?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

U.S. Congressional Serial Set 
Description: 1817 - 1980. Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 369,000 publications published in 14,500 volumes and over 11 million pages.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about U.S. Congressional Serial Set?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

U.S. EPA Online Library System 
Description: A keyword searchable database of bibliographic citations related to the environment compiled by the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency library network. Includes citations to standards for evaluating pollutants in the environment. A keyword searchable database of bibliographic citations related to the environment compiled by the EPA Library Network. Included here are citations to standards for evaluating pollutants in the environment.

Tags:  standards  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about U.S. EPA Online Library System?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

United States Senate 
Description: Includes information about the senate with a page dedicated to each senator in the current congress.

Comments or questions about United States Senate?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

University of California Employee Pay 
Description: A searchable database that provides access to University of California publicly available employee pay data. Covers more than 187,000 career faculty and staff employees, as well as part-time, temporary and student employees.

Tags:  salaries, compensation  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about University of California Employee Pay?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

USGS (United States Geological Survey) Map Locator & Downloader 
Description: View and download satellite, hybrid and topographic maps. Downloads require the GeoPDF Toolbar. http://www.terragotech.com/solutions/geopdftoolbar.php

Comments or questions about USGS (United States Geological Survey) Map Locator & Downloader?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

USGS Topographic Maps of California 
Description: Online directory of sites providing online images of California topographic maps.

Comments or questions about USGS Topographic Maps of California?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444