Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Health Sciences

Annual Reviews 
Description: A collection of over 30 journals in biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. Full-text is available for the most recent years.

Help:  Annual Reviews Site Help  |  Frequently Asked Questions  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Annual Reviews?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ArticleFirst 
Description: 1990 - present. Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Comments or questions about ArticleFirst?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ATSDR's Toxicological Profiles 
Description: Provides 152 final toxicological profiles covering the effects of hazardous substances, chemicals and compounds from the U.S. Public Health Service's Agency for Toxic Substances and Disease Registry.

Tags:  toxicology  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ATSDR's Toxicological Profiles?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

BioMed Central 
Description: BioMed Central Ltd., provides free access to biomedical research publications. These publications include biology and medicine journal articles, current reports, and meeting abstracts. BioMed Central offers information about current controlled trials, as well as topics in modern biology.

Help:  FAQ  |  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about BioMed Central?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Biosis Citation Index 
Description: 1926 - present. Supports access, research and discovery in the life sciences. Indexes 5,300 journal titles and 22 million records. Includes conference proceedings, books and patents. Biosis Previews are included in Biosis Citation Index.

Help:  Tutorials  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Biosis Citation Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California Health Interview Survey 
Description: CHIS is the nation's largest state health survey. Conducted every two years on a wide range of health topics, CHIS data gives a detailed picture of the health and health care needs of California's large and diverse population.

Comments or questions about California Health Interview Survey?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information 
Description: Includes more than 50,000 serial titles and over 600,000 books, reports and conference proceedings in science, technology, engineering and medicine. Includes records for the Canadian Agriculture Library that include books, reports and conference proceedings.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Canada Institute for Scientific and Technical Information?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CiNii Citation Information by National Institute of Informatics NII Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator 
Description: Provides access to articles and books from Japanese sources including the National Diet Library's Japanese Periodicals Index. The National Institute of Informatics has compiled 2.8 million PDF articles in NII-ELS. Available in English and Japanese.

Comments or questions about CiNii Citation Information by National Institute of Informatics NII Scholarly and Academic Information Navigator?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences: Collection 1 
Description: A collection of over 50 colloquia covering cell and molecular biology and biomedicine, including the neurosciences. Each colloquium is 50 to 100 pages long. Each synthesizes an important research or development topic, written by a prominent contributor to the field.

Tags:  neuroscience  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Colloquium Digital Library of Life Sciences: Collection 1?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

County Health Rankings & Roadmaps 
Description: Provides access to county-by-county data related to factors that influence health: smoking, obesity, poverty, access to health care, etc. Compiled by the Robert Wood Johnson Foundation in collaboration with the University of Wisconsin Population Health Institute.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about County Health Rankings & Roadmaps?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Current Protocols Collection (Wiley) 
Description: Titles in 3 subject areas: Chemistry, Life Sciences, Medicine and Healthcare.

Tags:  Wiley  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Current Protocols Collection (Wiley)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ergonomic Abstracts (EBSCO) 
Description: Provides indexing for eBooks, journal articles, book chapters and conference proceedings in the field of ergonomics. Includes information related to safety science, occupational health, biomechanics, physiology and more.

Tags:  physiology, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ergonomic Abstracts (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Faculty of 1000 : Biology Reports Ltd. 
Description: An online research service that highlights and reviews the most interesting papers published in the biological sciences, based on the recommendations of a faculty of well over 2300 selected leading researchers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Faculty of 1000 : Biology Reports Ltd.?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Faculty of 1000: Post-Publication Peer Review 
Description: Identifies and evaluates the most important articles in biology and medical research publications. Includes access to F1000 Reports journals, F1000 Posters and The Scientist, F1000's magazine of the life sciences.

Help:  FAQs  |  Overview  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Faculty of 1000: Post-Publication Peer Review?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Herbal Safety 
Description: The website has two primary purposes: To disseminate information about research findings related to herbal use in our region, as well as to provide information about the safety of herbal product use in both English and Spanish. This feature makes it one of the few bilingual websites specifically developed to disseminate non-commercial information about medicinal plants.

Tags:  herbs,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Herbal Safety?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Kidsdata.org 
Description: Comprehensive data about the health and well being of children across California. Data is available for cities, counties and school districts.

Comments or questions about Kidsdata.org?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LAMHDI 
Description: LAMHDI (Link Animal Models to Human Disease) helps researchers bridge the gap between bench testing and human trials and helps them find animal models for their research. The site is updated frequently with new data.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about LAMHDI?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Mary Ann Liebert Journals 
Description: Mary Ann Liebert journals, a publisher whose primary focus is in the areas of biomedical research and clinical medicine.

Help:  Support Home  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Mary Ann Liebert Journals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Medline Plus 
Description: Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health. Provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues and links to medical research and information about clinical trials.

Help:  FAQ  |  Spanish version  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Medline Plus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Medline Plus Mobile 
Description: Sponsored by the National Institutes of Health. Provides information about diseases, conditions, and wellness issues and links to medical research and information about clinical trials.

Comments or questions about Medline Plus Mobile?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Merck Index Online 
Description: Basic chemical, property and use information (with literature references) on nearly 11,000 significant chemicals, drugs and biological substances. Searchable by name, registry number, etc., as well as by structure or substructure. Includes Organic Name Collections (concise descriptions and histories of 446 named reactions) and 60 pages of additional tables.

Help:  User Help Guides  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Merck Index Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf 
Description: (NCBI) The Bookshelf contains searchable full-text biomedical books.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about National Center for Biotechnology Information Bookshelf?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

National Institute of Mental Health Statistics 
Description: Includes an extensive collection of statistics on the prevalence, treatment, and costs of mental disorders. Also includes statistics on mental health-related disability and suicide.

Comments or questions about National Institute of Mental Health Statistics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New England Journal of Medicine Archive  
Description: 1812 - 1989. The NEJM Archive is a vital resource for teaching and research. With over 150,000 articles, 8,657 issues, 478,000 pages, 85,316 images, and 610,000 references dating back to 1812, the NEJM Archive is a comprehensive information source.

Help:  FAQ  |  Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New England Journal of Medicine Archive ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Nursing & Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1982 - present. Over 7,000 full-text articles from 25 plus journals covering topics such as mental disorders, research methods, child psychiatry, psychopathology and nursing.

Help:  Homepage Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Nursing & Health Sciences: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Office of Extramural Research: National Institutes of Health 
Description: OER supports extramural research by providing policy and guidance to the 24 NIH Institutes and Centers that award grants.

Comments or questions about Office of Extramural Research: National Institutes of Health?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (ProQuest) 
Description: 1871 - present. Citations on literature related to post-traumatic stress disorder (PTSD) and other mental-health issues associated with traumatic events. Produced by the National Center for Post-Traumatic Stress Disorder and sponsored by the U.S. Department of Veterans Affairs.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about PILOTS - Published International Literature on Traumatic Stress (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PrimateLit 
Description: 1940 - present. Indexes articles, books, technical reports, dissertations, book chapters, etc. Covers many subject areas including behavior, colony management, veterinary science, physiology, evolution, genetics, and more.

Help:  Using This Site  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about PrimateLit?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Biology 
Description: A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. Includes articles, essays and book reviews addressing biological science.

Tags:  PLOS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Using This Site  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Biology?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Medicine 
Description: A peer-reviewed open-access journal published by the Public Library of Science. Includes articles, essays, case reports, best practices and editorials pertaining to all areas of medicine.

Tags:  PLOS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help Using This Site  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Public Library of Science (PLOS) - Medicine?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

PubMed 
Description: 1951 - present. Includes more than 22 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites. Use UC-eLinks to link to full text when not otherwise available.

Help:  PubMED Online Training  |  PubMed Help  |  Fact Sheet  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about PubMed?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Rand State Statistics 
Description: Provides access to nearly 80 databases covering statistical data for all 50 United States. Find statistical information related to business and economics, education, health, population, and more.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Rand State Statistics?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SAMHDA - Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive 
Description: Research data sponsored by the Office of Applied Study, Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration. Datasets are available for download in SPSS, SAS, and Stata formats.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SAMHDA - Substance Abuse & Mental Health Data Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Science Citation Index Expanded 
Description: 1900 - present. See Web of Science. Citations to science related topics available through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Basic Search Help  |  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Science Citation Index Expanded?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SciFinder Scholar 
Description: (From Chemical Abstract Services - CAS) A collection of chemical literature and information databases. Includes CAplus (the online version of Chemical Abstracts), the CAS Registry, and CASREACT. Requires the creation of an account.

Tags:  chemical abstracts, chemical_abstracts, CAS, CASREACT  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  SciFinder Scholar User Guide 2013  |  Contents at a Glance  |  How to register to use SciFinder Scholar  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SciFinder Scholar?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Scopus 
Description: Indexes 21,000 peer-reviewed journals, trade publications and book series. Includes 5.5 million conference papers and cross searches 25.2 million patents. Features a Journal Analyzer tool to assess journal performance. Trial access to Scopus ends on December 31, 2014.

Help:  Help and Contact  |  Tutorials  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Scopus?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Springer Protocols 
Description: 1984 - present. Includes protocols for reproducing laboratory experiments. Content is divided into 15 subject areas in the Life and Biomedical Sciences. The protocols are from book series and laboratory manuals. Researchers can create individual accounts to save specific protocols or searches for easy reference.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Springer Protocols?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

SpringerLink 
Description: A database of high-quality journal, book series, books and reference works from Science Technical Medical (STM) publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about SpringerLink?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) 
Description: TEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social science.
Note: Database interface available in Chinese and English

Tags:  TEPS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET) 
Description: A cluster of databases on toxicology, hazardous chemicals, and related areas from the National Library of Medicine. Some databases include data and full text. Databases include Hazardous Substances Databank, Toxics Release Inventory, Integrated Risk Information System, Chemical Carcinogenesis Research Information System, GENE-TOX from the EPA, TOXLINE, and NCI structures.

Tags:  TOXNET  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Toxicology Data Network (TOXNET)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

University of Chicago Press Online Journals 
Description: Chicago Journals Online is a fully searchable online portal including nearly fifty scholarly journals and annuals - from the latest research in a wide range of subjects to historical content dating from the founding of the University of Chicago Press in 1892 when it began publishing the Journal of Political Economy.

Help:  Info & Services  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about University of Chicago Press Online Journals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Web of Science 
Description: Provides access to multiple science and social science databases: Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1975 - present), Social Sciences Citation Index (1956 - present), Science Citation Index (1900 - present), Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Science (1990 - present), and Conference Proceedings Citation Index-Social Science & Humanities (1990 - present).

Help:  Help  |  New Features - August 2011  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Web of Science?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection 
Description: 2011 frontlist titles only. Includes 950+ online books with 2011 publication dates. Subject areas include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Titles continually added through 2011 as they are published.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444