Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

History (United States)

19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale) 
Description: Provides access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, featuring full-text content and images from numerous newspapers. Emphasis on such topics as the American Civil War, African-American culture and history, Western migration and Antebellum-era life.

Tags:  Gale  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about 19th Century U.S. Newspapers (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ad*Access Project 
Description: An image database of over 7,000 advertisements printed in U.S. and Canadian newspapers and magazines between 1911 and 1955. Covers five categories - Beauty and Hygiene, Radio, Television, Transportation, and World War II.

Help:  Digital Collections Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Ad*Access Project?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

African American Newspapers 
Description: 1827 - 1998. Provides online access to approximately 270 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience. This unique collection features papers from more than 35 states, including many rare and historically significant 19th century titles.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about African American Newspapers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

African American Periodicals 1825-1995 
Description: Fully searchable database features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans. Publications include academic and political journals, commercial magazines, institutional newsletters, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about African American Periodicals 1825-1995?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Alabama Mosaic 
Description: Alabama Mosaic is a repository of digital materials on Alabama's history, culture, places, and people. Featuring content from libraries, archives and museums from across Alabama, AlabamaMosaic provides access to thousands of images.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Alabama Mosaic?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

America: History & Life (EBSCO) 
Description: This comprehensive international database includes research on United States and Canadian history for all periods from prehistory to the current decade. Includes abstracts of journal articles and listings of books and Ph.D dissertations. Draws upon over 2,000 journals published worldwide.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Search Tutorials  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about America: History & Life (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

America's Historical Newspapers 
Description: 1690 - 1876. Full text of North American Newspapers from the colonial and early national periods. Selected from the 700 title Readex microfilm collection of the same name. Includes Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980.

Help:  Help  |  Helpful Information  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about America's Historical Newspapers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Civil War Research Database 
Description: A resource to obtain statistics, photographs and other information about individuals, regiments and battles of the American Civil War. Analytical research tools are also available.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Civil War Research Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American History in Video 
Description: Provides access to a rich collection of online video for the study of American History. Includes commercial and government newsreels, archival footage, public affairs footage, and documentaries from PBS and the History Channel. Playlists can be created by any registered user.

Tags:  biographies, documentaries, PBS, History Channel,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American History in Video?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Masters 
Description: Consisting of more than 250 hours of programming to date, AMERICAN MASTERS is a growing film library documenting the role important individuals, groups, and movements have played in the formation of our cultural identity.

Tags:  biographical  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about American Masters?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Memory Project 
Description: American Memory provides free and open access through the Internet to written and spoken words, sound recordings, still and moving images, prints, maps, and sheet music that document the American experience. It is a digital record of American history and creativity.

Tags:  sheet music,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Memory Project?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Memory Project: Map Collections 
Description: Eleven map collections digitized from the Library of Congress. Content includes maps from the Civil War to World War II.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Memory Project: Map Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Periodicals (ProQuest) 
Description: 1740-1940. Includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Periodicals (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Song 
Description: A streaming music database which captures America's past through a variety of genres. Includes many artists addressing a range of social issues and historical events.

Tags:  music online, African American Song  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Song?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American West (The) 
Description: The American West is a unique resource which allows scholars to explore tales of frontier life, Native Americans, vigilantes and outlaws and the environmental impact of westward expansion. The collection is a mixture of original manuscripts, maps, ephemeral material and rare printed sources.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American West (The)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

American Women's History 
Description: Provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.

Help:  Quick Facts About This Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about American Women's History?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

AP Images Collection 
Description: Includes Associated Press's current-year photo report and a selection from a 50-million image print and negative library dating from 1844-present. Currently contains about 700,000 photos, most of which are contemporary images made since late 1995.

Tags:  Associated Press  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  AP User Guide (.pdf)  |  About the AccuNet Media Archive  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about AP Images Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record 
Description: The approximately 1,235 images in this collection have been selected from a wide range of sources, most of them dating from the period of slavery. This collection is envisioned as a tool and a resource that can be used by teachers, researchers, students, and the general public.

Comments or questions about Atlantic Slave Trade and Slave Life in the Americas: A Visual Record?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC) 
Description: Includes over 150,000 digitized pages of California newspapers spanning the years 1849-1911. They include the Alta California (1849-1889); the San Francisco Call (1900-1910); the Amador Ledger (1900-1911); the Imperial Valley Press (1901-1911); and the Los Angeles Herald (1905-1907).

Tags:  Alta California, San Francisco Call, Amador Ledger, Imperial Valley Press, Los Angeles Herald, CDNC  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about California Digital Newspaper Collection (CDNC)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

California Historical Newspapers 
Description: Provides access to many California newspapers of historical significance dating as far back as 1849. Newspapers from San Francisco, Sacramento, San Jose, Stockton and Benicia are included.

Tags:  california gazette, daily democratic state journal, sacramento weekly union, themis, alta California, daily commercial news, daily globe, daily placer times and transcript, mercantile gazette, san francisco bulletin, san francisco evening journal, weekly alta california, weekly pacific news, evening news, san jose mercury news, san joaquin republican  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about California Historical Newspapers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
Description: CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

Tags:  CRL  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Request Materials from CRL  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Center for Research Libraries (CRL)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers  
Description: Search and read newspaper pages from 1900-1910 and find information about American newspapers published between 1690-present. Chronicling America is sponsored jointly by the National Endowment for the Humanities and the Library of Congress as part of the National Digital Newspaper Program (NDNP).

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Chronicling America: Historic American Newspapers ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL) 
Description: 1950s - 1960. Browse or search this digital archive of historical new film, digital collections, reference materials, editorial cartoons, transcripts, and diaries that document the civil rights movement. Provided by the University of Georgia.

Tags:  oral histories, CRDL  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Civil Rights Digital Library (CRDL)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Almanac 
Description: Offers original narrative accounts of every major piece of legislation that lawmakers considered during a congressional session.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Almanac?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press 
Description: Simultaneously search CQ Researcher, and Collections for Congress, Supreme Court, Press Public Affairs, Press Voting & Elections, California Political Almanac, Supreme Court Yearbook, Politics in America and Handbook of the World.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Press?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Weekly 
Description: Weekly reports on congressional news. Covers virtually every act of Congress, providing nonpartisan news and analysis.

Tags:  CQ  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Congressional Quarterly (CQ) Weekly?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

David Rumsey Historical Map Collection 
Description: Over 11,000 map images from the 18th and 19th centuries of North and South America.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about David Rumsey Historical Map Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Declassified Documents Reference System 
Description: Full text of documents from various government agencies: the White House, the CIA, the FBI, the State Department and others, declassified by the U.S. government, and obtained from Presidential Libraries.

Help:  Help Using Declassified Documents Reference System  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Declassified Documents Reference System?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Digital National Security Archive 
Description: 1945 - present. Contains declassified government documents including policy documents, presidential directives, memos, diplomatic dispatches, meeting notes, White House communications, email, etc. Covers critical world events from post WWII through the 21st century.

Help:  Information Resources  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Digital National Security Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

digitalMETRO 
Description: Provides access to online collections created and maintained by member libraries of the Metropolitan New York Library Council.

Help:  About  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about digitalMETRO?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early American Imprints Series I: Evans 
Description: 1639 - 1800. A major collection of 17th and 18th century books and pamphlets based on Charles Evans American Bibliography. Covers every aspect of life in 17th- and 18th-century America, from agriculture and auctions through foreign affairs, diplomacy, literature, music, religion, the Revolutionary War, & more. (Use Series II for 1801-1819.)

Help:  Help Contents  |  What Is Archive of Americana?  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Early American Imprints Series I: Evans?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker 
Description: 1801 - 1819. Covering every aspect of American life during the early decades of the United States, this primary source collection provides full-text access to the 36,000 American books & pamphlets published in the first 19 years of the nineteenth century. (Use Series I for 1639-1800.)

Help:  Help Contents  |  What Is Archive of Americana?  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Early American Imprints, Series II: Shaw-Shoemaker?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early California Population Project 
Description: Provides public access to all the information contained in California's historic mission registers, records that are of unique and vital importance to the study of California, the American Southwest, and colonial America. Includes baptism, marriage, and burial records of each of the California missions.

Help:  ECPP User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Early California Population Project?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Early Encounters in North America 
Description: This release contains 1,482 authors and over 100,000 pages of material: letters, diaries, memoirs and accounts of early encounters in North America. The collection is centered on present-day Canada and the U. S. with limited coverage of Mexico.

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Early Encounters in North America?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

European Views of the Americas (EBSCO) 
Description: 1493 - 1750. Bibliographic database containing more than 32,000 entries. A comprehensive guide to printed records about the Americas written in Europe before 1750. Covers the history of European exploration as well as portrayals of native American peoples.

Tags:  Europe, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about European Views of the Americas (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Everyday Life and Women in America 
Description: A resource for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history, providing access to rare primary source material from the Sallie Bingham Center for Women's History, Duke University and The New York Public Library. Comprises thousands of fully searchable images of monographs, pamphlets, & periodicals addressing 19th and early 20th century issues.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Everyday Life and Women in America?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) Daily Reports 
Description: 1941-1996. Provides access to translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, in addition to official news sources and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories.

Tags:  CIA, FBIS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) Daily Reports?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Founders Early Access (From National Archives and Virginia Foundation for the Humanities) 
Description: 5,000 previously unpublished documents from our nation's founders including letters and other papers penned by important figures such as James Madison, John Adams, and Thomas Jefferson.

Help:  Help (Navigation)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Founders Early Access (From National Archives and Virginia Foundation for the Humanities)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Gilded Age, The 
Description: Full-text, primary documents and critical documentary essays on a variety of topics related to the late nineteenth century in America. Themes include race & ethnicity, labor, western expansion, gender, and social progress.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Gilded Age, The?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Google News Archive 
Description: An archive of scanned newspapers. Chronological coverage varies with content from the early 1800s until 2009. The content focuses on North American titles. Note: Google is no longer actively archiving newspapers.

Help:  Archive Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Google News Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

HarpWeek 
Description: 1857 - 1912. Provides full-image reproductions of Harper's Weekly a weekly magazines read by Americans during the 19th Century. Besides coverage of news and opinion, the database includes illustrations, cartoons, literature, biographies and advertisements.

Tags:  harper's weekly  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about HarpWeek?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Harvard University Library 
Description: Provides access to visual resource collections that are unique to Harvard University. Includes tens of thousands of images from collections of Chinese Rubbings, Harvard Daguerreotypes, Immigrants to the United States, 19th-Century American Trade Cards, as well as a wide variety of other collections.

Comments or questions about Harvard University Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Historical Newspapers (Chadwyck-Healey)  
Description: Provides access to Palmer's Index to the Times, (1790-1905), Historical Index to the New York Times, (1851-1923), and Official Index to The Times, (190 -1980).

Tags:  Chadwyck-Healey  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Search Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Historical Newspapers (Chadwyck-Healey) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition 
Description: Statistical series on subjects ranging from population and land area to production figures for crops and manufactured products. Detailed documentation provides brief histories of the statistical series and source materials.

Help:  Introduction to HSUS Millennial Edition  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Historical Statistics of the United States Millennial Edition?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

History Vault (ProQuest) 
Description: Includes primary source materials from the University Publications of America (UPA) Collection. Provides access to letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, diaries, etc. from collections focused on the Viet Nam War and related Public Policy, and the Black Freedom struggle in the 20th century.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about History Vault (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Images of America: a History of American Life in Images and Texts 
Description: Over 1 million historical images and texts from local history books, celebrating the places and faces that give America its spirit and life.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Images of America: a History of American Life in Images and Texts?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

In the First Person 
Description: A landmark index to English language personal narratives, including letters, diaries, memoirs, autobiographies, and oral histories. Covers more than 300,000 individual accounts.

Tags:  oral histories,   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about In the First Person?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

John Carter Brown Archive of Early American Images 
Description: 1492 - ca.1825. A database of graphic representations of the colonial Americas, from Hudson Bay to Tierra del Fuego.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about John Carter Brown Archive of Early American Images?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Library of Congress International Collections 
Description: Provides access to images from American Memory Historical Collections as well as international visual resource collections such as the Abdul Hamid II Collection (Ottoman Empire) and the Prokudin-Gorskii Collection (Russian Empire).

Comments or questions about Library of Congress International Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog 
Description: One of the largest digital image databases in the world, this database includes more than 1 million digital images of people, historical events, places, architecture, and more.

Comments or questions about Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LIFE Photo Archive (hosted by Google) 
Description: Search photographs from the LIFE photo archive.

Tags:  Google  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about LIFE Photo Archive (hosted by Google)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

March of Time  
Description: 1935 - 1967. Some complete episodes from the HBO Archives are available for online viewing. The newsreel and documentary series chronicles global events. To view, you must register for a free account.

Comments or questions about March of Time ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New York Public Library Digital Gallery 
Description: Digitized images from the collections of the New York Public Library.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New York Public Library Digital Gallery?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New York Public Library Mid-Manhattan Library Picture Collection Online 
Description: Includes 30,000 digitized images from books, magazines and newspapers as well as original photographs, prints and postcards, mostly created before 1923. Subjects include African-Americans, American History, Clothing & Dress, Costume, Native Americans, New York City, Slavery and Textiles.

Help:  Quick Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New York Public Library Mid-Manhattan Library Picture Collection Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

New York Times (ProQuest) 
Description: 1980-present. Comprehensive digital coverage back to 1980. News stories, sports, business, culture, editorials, editorial cartoons, obituaries and letters to the editor from well-known authors are indexed and searchable in this database. Cited articles include an abstract.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about New York Times (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories 
Description: Provides access to personal accounts of immigrants who came to America and Canada between 1800 and 1950.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Immigrant Letters, Diaries and Oral Histories?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

North American Women's Letters and Diaries 
Description: (NAWLD) More than 150,000 pages of diaries and letters of over 1300 women, colonial period through 1950. Includes biographies and an extensive annotated bibliography of the sources in the database.

Help:  Help Table of Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about North American Women's Letters and Diaries?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

NUCMC: The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections 
Description: Cooperative cataloging program maintained by the Library of Congress on behalf of manuscript collections around the U.S. Includes a catalog of new holdings from 1986-present, directories of repositories nationwide and other resources.

Help:  FAQ  |  Search FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about NUCMC: The National Union Catalog of Manuscript Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Online Archive of California 
Description: A website providing free public access to detailed descriptions of primary source collections (manuscripts, historic photos, etc.) maintained by libraries, archives, and museums throughout California.

Help:  FAQ  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Online Archive of California?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) 
Description: Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.

Tags:  Social Issues, Controversial Issues  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Political Americana Collection 
Description: 1789 - 1980. Approximately 5,500 Presidential promotional and commemorative items including cartoons, prints, posters, lapel buttons, ribbons, textiles, hats, ballots, broadsides, pamphlets and more.

Help:  About LUNA  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Political Americana Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender 
Description: 1910-1975. Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and newspaper coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Defender?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune 
Description: 1849-1988. Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with first-hand accounts and newspaper coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago Tribune?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times 
Description: 1881-1988. Provides access to LA Times content just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Los Angeles Times?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times 
Description: 1851-2008. Provides access to NYT content just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Tags:  NYT  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: New York Times?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle 
Description: 1865-1922. Provides access to the SF Chronicle just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: San Francisco Chronicle?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal 
Description: 1889-1994. Provides access to the WSJ just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Wall Street Journal?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post 
Description: 1877-1995. Provides access to WP just as it appeared when first printed. Includes news stories, advertising, cartoons, editorials, photographs, and more.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Washington Post?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Reader's Guide Retrospective (EBSCO) 
Description: 1890 - 1982. Online version of Reader's Guide to Periodicals, index to general-interest U.S. magazines during the 20th Century.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Reader's Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest 
Description: Original archival materials documenting key issues and events from the period 1950 - 1975. Includes pamphlets, letters, government files, eye witness accounts, ephemera, memorabilia and selected video footage.

Help:  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Rock and Roll, Counterculture, Peace and Protest?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Explorer 
Description: 1790 - present. Includes hundreds of interactive data maps of the United States for demographic research. Allows users to make maps and reports.

Comments or questions about Social Explorer?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC) 
Description: (Prototype) Sponsored by the Andrew W. Mellon foundation and the National Endowment for the Humanities, SNAC helps users discover, locate and use distributed historical records. Still in development, SNAC aims to provide researchers with socio-historical contexts in which records were created. Search by name, subject, or occupation.

Tags:  SNAC  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Social Networks and Archival Context (SNAC)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Social Science Research Network (SSRN) 
Description: SSRN includes an Abstract Database (339,700+ scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers) and an Electronic Paper collection (275,600 + downloadable pdfs).

Tags:  SSRN  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Social Science Research Network (SSRN)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives 
Description: 1960 - 1974. This searchable database includes diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about The Sixties: Primary Documents and Personal Narratives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database 
Description: Information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Comments or questions about Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

U.S. Congressional Serial Set 
Description: 1817 - 1980. Reports, Documents, and Journals of the U.S. Senate and House of Representatives. Upon completion, the digital version of the Serial Set will consist of approximately 369,000 publications published in 14,500 volumes and over 11 million pages.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about U.S. Congressional Serial Set?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Virginia Company Archives 
Description: The Virginia Company Archives documents the history of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624, the continuing interest of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America, trade between Britain and America, the ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia, and tensions amongst the colonists and of early relations with Native Americans.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Virginia Company Archives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Women and Social Movements in the United States 
Description: 1600 - 2000. Database of digitized books, images, documents, essays and bibliographies documenting women's reform activities in the U.S., mostly from the 19th and 20th centuries.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Women and Social Movements in the United States?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World War II Posters 
Description: The World War II Poster Project was created by the HIST100 class at Bucknell University during the Fall 2006.

Comments or questions about World War II Posters?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444