Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

History (World)

17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale) 
Description: Represents the largest single collection of 17th and 18th century English news media available from the British Library. Includes more than 1000 pamphlets, proclamations, newsbooks and newspapers from the period.

Tags:  British Library  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Title List  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about 17th and 18th Century Burney Collection Newspapers (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

18th Century Collections Online (Gale) 
Description: Digital images of 150,000 books published during the 18th Century. With full-text searching of texts in the fields of history, literature, religion, law, fine arts, science and more.

Tags:  Gale  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about 18th Century Collections Online (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Bibliography of British and Irish History 
Description: Provides bibliographic data on historical writing dealing with the British Isles, and with the British Empire and Commonwealth, during all periods for which written documentation is available - from 55BC to the present. Also provides links to online catalogs from libraries in Britain, Ireland and the USA, and provides links to online text where available.

Tags:  Britain, Ireland, Scotland, England  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Bibliography of British and Irish History?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

C19: The Nineteeneth Century Index 
Description: A source for nineteenth-century books, periodicals, official documents, newspapers and archives. Draws on established indexes such as the Nineteenth Century Short Title Catalogue, The Wellesley Index, Poole's Index and Periodicals Index Online to create integrated bibliographic coverage.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about C19: The Nineteeneth Century Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Center for Research Libraries (CRL) 
Description: CRL is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries that makes available scholarly research resources to users everywhere, with more than five million volumes of research materials rarely held in North American libraries.

Tags:  CRL  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQ  |  Request Materials from CRL  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Center for Research Libraries (CRL)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Dacheng Old Journal Full Text Database 
Description: Includes more than 7,000 journal titles and 130,000 issues published in China from the late Qing Dynasty to 1949. Articles can be downloaded in PDF format.

Tags:  huang pu, wan guo gong bao, young companion  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Dacheng Old Journal Full Text Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB) 
Description: Provides access to peer-reviewed open access books from reputable academic publishers. Books may be downloaded free of charge or bound copies purchased from publishers.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Directory of Open Access Books (DOAB)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Empire Online 
Description: 1492 - 2007. A collection of original documents relating to Empire Studies from libraries and archives around the world. Developed to encourage undergraduate work with rare primary documents by using images of the texts rather than transcriptions.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Empire Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Explore the British Library 
Description: Search, view and order items from the British Library's collection of nearly 57 million records.

Tags:  Europe, England, Britain  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Explore the British Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) Daily Reports 
Description: 1941-1996. Provides access to translated intercepted radio broadcasts from foreign governments, in addition to official news sources and clandestine broadcasts from occupied territories.

Tags:  CIA, FBIS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Foreign Broadcast Information Services (FBIS) Daily Reports?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Google News Archive 
Description: An archive of scanned newspapers. Chronological coverage varies with content from the early 1800s until 2009. The content focuses on North American titles. Note: Google is no longer actively archiving newspapers.

Help:  Archive Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Google News Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hand Press Book Database 
Description: 1455-1830. Records for books and serials produced in Europe during the hand-press period.

Help:  Using Institution Records (.pdf)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hand Press Book Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Historical Abstracts (EBSCO) 
Description: Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) focusing on the 15th century forward. Indexes more than 2,300 journals in over 40 languages back to 1955. For history information on the U.S. and Canada use American History and Life.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  EBSCO Host Research Databases Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Historical Abstracts (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Historical Newspapers (Chadwyck-Healey)  
Description: Provides access to Palmer's Index to the Times, (1790-1905), Historical Index to the New York Times, (1851-1923), and Official Index to The Times, (190 -1980).

Tags:  Chadwyck-Healey  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Search Help  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Historical Newspapers (Chadwyck-Healey) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hong Kong's War Crimes Trials Collection 
Description: Provides details of and access to the case files of 46 trials involving persons tried in Hong Kong for war crimes committed during the Second World War. Some documents available only to those based at universities in Hong Kong.

Tags:  WWII, World War II  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Hong Kong's War Crimes Trials Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hoover Institution Poster Collection 
Description: Features posters from around the world. The largest number are from the United States, the United Kingdom, Germany, the Russian empire and the Soviet Union, and France.

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hoover Institution Poster Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

House of Commons Parlimentary Papers 
Description: These papers are important to the historical record of Britain, its former Colonies and the wider world. Includes filmed images of original Parliamentary Papers dating as far back as 1688.

Help:  HCPP Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about House of Commons Parlimentary Papers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Icelandic Photos 
Description: Photographs by the acclaimed British artist, photographer and traveler Frederick W.W. Howell. landscapes, farmsteads, towns and people in a remarkable series of photographs from Iceland and the Faeroe Islands.

Tags:  Iceland  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Icelandic Photos?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

India, Raj & Empire 
Description: Drawing upon the unique manuscript archives of the National Library of Scotland this project provides a fully searchable online resource for studying the relationship between Britain and the British Empire in India. Manuscripts include diaries, journals, official and private papers, letters, sketches, paintings and original Indian documents containing histories and literary works.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about India, Raj & Empire?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Iter Italicum 
Description: 400 - 1700. Iter Italicum is a not-for-profit partnership dedicated to the advancement of learning in the study and teaching of the Middle Ages and Renaissance through the development and distribution of online resources.

Comments or questions about Iter Italicum?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Japanese Historical Maps 
Description: The Japanese Historical Map Collection contains early maps of Japan and the world. The collection is housed on the Berkeley campus in the East Asian Library.

Tags:  Japan  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  About Luna and Insight  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Japanese Historical Maps?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Library of Congress International Collections 
Description: Provides access to images from American Memory Historical Collections as well as international visual resource collections such as the Abdul Hamid II Collection (Ottoman Empire) and the Prokudin-Gorskii Collection (Russian Empire).

Comments or questions about Library of Congress International Collections?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog 
Description: One of the largest digital image databases in the world, this database includes more than 1 million digital images of people, historical events, places, architecture, and more.

Comments or questions about Library of Congress Prints and Photographs Online Catalog?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

LIFE Photo Archive (hosted by Google) 
Description: Search photographs from the LIFE photo archive.

Tags:  Google  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about LIFE Photo Archive (hosted by Google)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale) 
Description: Covers contemporary social issues and provides articles, primary source documents, court-case overviews, statistical data, images, and podcasts that help students explore issues from multiple perspectives.

Tags:  Social Issues, Controversial Issues  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Opposing Viewpoints in Context (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Pravda Digital Archive 
Description: 1912-2009. Founded in 1912 in St. Petersburg, Russia, Pravda originated as an underground, daily workers' newspaper, and soon became the main newspaper of the revolutionary wing of the Russian socialist movement.

Tags:  USSR, Soviet Union, Russia  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Pravda Digital Archive?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Reader's Guide Retrospective (EBSCO) 
Description: 1890 - 1982. Online version of Reader's Guide to Periodicals, index to general-interest U.S. magazines during the 20th Century.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Reader's Guide Retrospective (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO)  
Description: Bibliography of materials in the social sciences and humanities published in the Commonwealth of Independent States and Eastern Europe. Includes books, manuscripts, dissertations and articles from more than 10,000 periodicals.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Russian Academy of Sciences Bibliographies (EBSCO) ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) Digital Library  
Description: TBRC is a registered non-profit corporation dedicated to the preservation, organization and dissemination of Tibetan literature. The collection includes new publications, rare literature and publications from small printing houses, monasteries and educational institutions in China, India, Bhutan, and Nepal.

Tags:  TBRC  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Tibetan Buddhist Resource Center (TBRC) Digital Library ?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database 
Description: Information on almost 35,000 slaving voyages that forcibly embarked over 10 million Africans for transport to the Americas between the sixteenth and nineteenth centuries.

Comments or questions about Trans-Atlantic Slave Trade Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

UC Press E-Books Collection 
Description: 1982 - 2004. Includes almost 2,000 books from academic presses on a range of topics, including art, science, history, music, religion, and fiction.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about UC Press E-Books Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Virginia Company Archives 
Description: The Virginia Company Archives documents the history of Virginia as seen through the papers of the Virginia Company of London, 1606-1624, the continuing interest of the Ferrar family in the settlement of North America, trade between Britain and America, the ethnic and gender composition of early Virginia, and tensions amongst the colonists and of early relations with Native Americans.

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Virginia Company Archives?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Digital Library 
Description: The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world. The objectives of WDL include intercultural understanding and partnerships as well as providing resources for educators and scholars.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World History in Video 
Description: A wide-ranging collection of critically acclaimed documentaries that explore human history from the earliest civilizations to the late twentieth century. Covers Africa and the Americas, Asia, Europe, the Middle East, and Oceania.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about World History in Video?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444