Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Humanities General

Academic Search Complete (EBSCO) 
Description: A multidisciplinary database with full text content in the arts, social sciences, humanities and sciences.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Basic Searching for Academic Libraries  |  EBSCO Host Research Databases Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Academic Search Complete (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ACLS Humanities e-Book 
Description: A collection of 1,700 plus full-text titles focused on the humanities. Unlimited multi-user access.

Help:  ACLS Humanities e-book Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: No download or log-in required. Multiple user simultaneous access. Print or save one page at a time. Full-text searching. Save or email citations. Some titles available for purchase.

Comments or questions about ACLS Humanities e-Book?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ArticleFirst 
Description: 1990 - present. Citations from the table of contents pages of over 11,000 journals in the areas of science, technology, medicine, social science, business, the humanities, and popular culture.

Comments or questions about ArticleFirst?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arts & Humanities Citation Index 
Description: 1975 - present. See Web of Science. Provides author, keyword, and cited reference searching from more than 1,100 leading arts and humanities journals through ISI Web of Knowledge.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arts & Humanities Citation Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest) 
Description: Simultaneously searches multiple arts and humanities databases, including ARTbibliographies Modern, Ethnic NewsWatch, MLA International Bibliography, and many more.

Tags:  ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arts & Humanities Combined Databases (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE) 
Description: BASE is a powerful search engine for academic open access web resources. Approximately 75% of the 40 million documents indexed are available in full text.

Tags:  BASE  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Bielefeld Academic Search Engine (BASE)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities 
Description: 1990 - present. Access the published literature from significant conferences, symposia, seminars, colloquia, workshops, and conventions worldwide. 30% of content is from journals and 70% from books.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Conference Proceedings Citation Index- Social Science & Humanities?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eBooks on EBSCOhost 
Description: EBSCO now hosts ebooks formerly on the NetLibrary platform. Minimum browser requirements: IE 7.0, Firefox 3.0, and Safari 3.0. Adobe Acrobat Reader required for viewing PDF files. Acrobat Reader 8.2 recommended. Single user access. A title become available when a user leaves the ebook page or closes the browser window.

Tags:  netlibrary  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Support  |  User Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eBooks on EBSCOhost?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Ebrary 
Description: A eBook collection from a variety of academic subject areas. View titles online. Login to use personalized tools such as the bookshelf and highlighting.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: Browser plug-in required. Log-in required for bookshelf feature to highlight or mark text. Multiple user simultaneous access. No downloading or saving. Print entire book or specified page ranges. Full-text searching.

Comments or questions about Ebrary?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Eigenfactor 
Description: This web source is used to evaluate journal titles; it ranks and maps scientific knowledge. Eigenfactor includes Article Influence scores which are calculated based on per article citations and assigns Eigenfactor Scores which are a measure of the journal's value for a year. Use the scientific browser to find key journals in a specific field of study.

Help:  Why Eigenfactor?  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Eigenfactor?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library 
Description: A collection of books, journals, working papers, conference proceedings and other scholarly works deposited by academic departments, research units and other centers of the University of California.

Help:  Help & FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about eScholarship Repository from the California Digital Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

FRANCIS - International Humanities and Social Studies (EBSCO) 
Description: 1972 - Present. Provides multidisciplinary and multilingual coverage of humanities and social sciences. Source documents include journal articles, books, conference proceedings, dissertations, and reports.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Using Institution Records   |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about FRANCIS - International Humanities and Social Studies (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Google Scholar 
Description: A search engine providing access to both freely available and subscription based resources including articles, theses, books, preprints, abstracts, conference proceedings and technical reports.

Comments or questions about Google Scholar?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hand Press Book Database 
Description: 1455-1830. Records for books and serials produced in Europe during the hand-press period.

Help:  Using Institution Records (.pdf)  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hand Press Book Database?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Harvard University Library 
Description: Provides access to visual resource collections that are unique to Harvard University. Includes tens of thousands of images from collections of Chinese Rubbings, Harvard Daguerreotypes, Immigrants to the United States, 19th-Century American Trade Cards, as well as a wide variety of other collections.

Comments or questions about Harvard University Library?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search) 
Description: A digital repository of collections from research libraries including some full-text views. To view complete items, select "Full view only" on the search page.

Tags:  worldcat, hathitrust  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help FAQ  |  About  |  Traditional Catalog Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hathi Trust Digital Library (WorldCat Search)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations 
Description: 1979 - present. Database listing books translated and published in languages of about a hundred UNESCO Member States with more than 1,300,000 notices in all disciplines: literature, social, natural and exact sciences, art, and history.

Help:  Support  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Index Translationum: International Bibliography of Translations?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

JSTOR 
Description: Search by subject or browse full text of more than 500 scholarly journals in social sciences, humanities, and sciences, to their earliest issues. Many titles extend as far back as late 19th or early 20th centuries; most recent 3-5 years not included.

Help:  FAQ  |  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about JSTOR?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Masterfile Premier (EBSCO) 
Description: Provides full text for more than 1,750 general reference publications with full text dating as far back as 1975. Covering virtually every subject area of general interest, MasterFILE Premier also includes nearly 500 full text reference books, full text from 86,019 biographics, 105,787 full text primary source documents, and an image collection.

Tags:  EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  Ask-A-Librarian  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Masterfile Premier (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Melvyl @ UC Merced 
Description: Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond. Results will display Merced resources listed first according to relevance.

Help:  Index Labels  |  Content Overview  |  Quick Reference Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Melvyl @ UC Merced?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Melvyl @ University of California 
Description: Search Melvyl for books, articles and more from all UC campuses and beyond.

Help:  Quick Reference Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Melvyl @ University of California?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

MyiLibrary 
Description: Includes hundreds of e-book titles by various publishers including Wiley, Blackwell, Taylor & Francis and Springer. Also provides books, reports, journals, bulletins and additional documents published by Inter-Governmental Organizations (IGOs).

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Usage Tips: Adobe reader required. Log-in required to save searches, notes and bookmarks. Most titles have single user access. Print or save 10 pages at a time. Export citations. Full-text searching.

Comments or questions about MyiLibrary?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NTLTD) 
Description: Search and locate electronic theses and dissertations (ETDs). Some documents are restricted to specific educational institutions while others are freely available for download.

Tags:  NTLTD  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Networked Digital Library of Theses and Dissertations (NTLTD)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

OAIster 
Description: Searchable collection of working papers, preprints, reports, eprints and other "hard-to-find" documents from academic organizations around the world. Produced by the University of Michigan Digital Library Production Services.

Comments or questions about OAIster?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Oxford Reference Online 
Description: Search over 100 dictionaries and reference titles covering the complete subject spectrum: from General Reference and Language to Science and Medicine, and from Humanities and Social Sciences to Business and Professional.

Help:  FAQ  |  New User Guide  |  Help Contents  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Oxford Reference Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Papers First 
Description: 1993 - present. Records for papers presented at worldwide conferences, symposia, meetings, workshops, and congresses in the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, Physical and Life Sciences. To search by conference name use Proceedings.

Comments or questions about Papers First?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest) 
Description: (formerly PCI Full Text) An archive of hundreds of digitized journals published in the arts, humanities and social sciences. It provides researchers with access to more than 200 years of scholarship, spread across a wide variety of subject areas.

Tags:  PAO, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  PAO Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Periodicals Archive Online (PAO) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest) 
Description: Provides access to three centuries of the arts, humanities, and social sciences indexed coverage, from first issue to 1995 or ceased date. Over 6,00 journals are included, including international journals in English, French, German, Italian, Spanish and other Western languages.

Tags:  PIO, ProQuest  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  PIO Guide  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Periodicals Index Online (PIO) (ProQuest)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Proceedings First 
Description: Includes conference proceedings from a wide variety of disciplines, including the Arts, Humanities, Social Sciences, and Physical and Life Sciences. Each proceedings provides a list of papers presented. Individual records for each paper may be found in the PapersFirst database.

Tags:  conference_proceedings  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Tutorial Index  |  QuickStart Guide  |  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Proceedings First?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Project Muse 
Description: Scholarly Journals Online Search by subject or browse full text of 100+ scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences and mathematics. Coverage begins 1995 or later, depending on the publication.

Help:  How to Search (video)  |  How to Browse (video)  |  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Project Muse?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I 
Description: 1861-present. Lists most U.S. dissertations, and many dissertations and master's theses from Canada, Great Britain and continental Europe. Abstracts included 1980-present. Includes full text for all UC dissertations, at no charge, 1997 - present. British and Continental European dissertations covered 1988 - present. Masters theses listed selectively from 1988.

Help:  Basic Search  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about ProQuest Dissertations & Theses A&I?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS) 
Description: TEPS offers full text (PDF) for periodicals published in Taiwan. It covers topics in humanities, natural science, applied science, medical & life science, and social science.
Note: Database interface available in Chinese and English

Tags:  TEPS  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  FAQs  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Taiwan Electronic Periodical Services (TEPS)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

University of California Library Reprints 
Description: Discover, find, view, and order new copies of rare, out-of-print, and hard to find books digitized from the University of California library collection. Thousands of books are also available for online reading free of charge.

Comments or questions about University of California Library Reprints?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

University of California Press Online Journals 
Description: UC Press, Journals and Digital Publishing disseminates scholarship of enduring value. Print and online journals span many topics in the humanities and social sciences.

Comments or questions about University of California Press Online Journals?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection 
Description: 2011 frontlist titles only. Includes 950+ online books with 2011 publication dates. Subject areas include life, health and physical sciences, social sciences, and the humanities. Titles continually added through 2011 as they are published.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Wiley Online Library Ebook Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

WorldCat 
Description: Represents holdings of library materials in a variety of formats held at more than 12,000 OCLC affiliated libraries worldwide: academic, public, governmental, private.

Comments or questions about WorldCat?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444