Databases: Subject Areas

Print

0-9 | A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z | All


Not sure which Database to use? Try Academic Search Complete, JSTOR, or Web of Science.

recommended database, full text database, some full text and citations database,
citations only database


 

Latin American Studies

America's Historical Newspapers 
Description: 1690 - 1876. Full text of North American Newspapers from the colonial and early national periods. Selected from the 700 title Readex microfilm collection of the same name. Includes Hispanic American Newspapers, 1808 - 1980.

Help:  Help  |  Helpful Information  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about America's Historical Newspapers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO) 
Description: Includes complete texts of over 1,100 historical books of Hispanic literature, political commentary and culture. Also includes 60,000 historical articles and hundreds of political and religious pamphlets and broadsides. Content written in Spanish (80%) and English (20%).

Tags:  Mexico, Spain, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Title List  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Arte Publico Hispanic Historical Collection (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Chicano Database (EBSCO) 
Description: Comprehensive bibliographic index for all types of material on Mexican-American topics. Provides extensive indexing from 1960s to the present; selective coverage back to early 1900s. Newer records include the broader Latino experience, including Puerto Ricans, Cuban Americans, and Central American immigrants.

Tags:  hispanic, latino, EBSCO  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about Chicano Database (EBSCO)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online 
Description: Full text of working papers, conference proceedings, policy briefs, economic indicators, and other resources in international affairs.

Help:  Access Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about CIAO: Columbia International Affairs Online?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

ClasePeriodica 
Description: CLASE and PERIODICA index over 2,600 Latin American journals in the fields of social sciences, humanities, science, and technology. The merged database also has over 300,000 citations published in Spanish, Portuguese, French and English. Includes, articles, essays, book reviews, monographs, reports, and interview published in journals from 24 different countries of Latin America and the Caribbean.

Comments or questions about ClasePeriodica?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Digitalia Hispanica 
Description: Provides access to over five thousand digitized Spanish language academic ebooks and ejournals from a broad range of subjects.

Comments or questions about Digitalia Hispanica?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Handbook of Latin American Studies 
Description: 1935 - present. A bibliography of books, journal articles, proceedings in social sciences and humanities, edited by scholars selected by the Library of Congress.

Help:  FAQ  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Handbook of Latin American Studies?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index 
Description: 1970-present. Lists journal articles on Central and South America, Mexico, the Caribbean, the U.S.-Mexico border region, and Hispanics in the U.S.

Help:  Frequently Asked Questions  |  HAPI Search Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about HAPI: Hispanic American Periodicals Index?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Hispanic American Newspaper 
Description: 1808 - 1980. A collection of Spanish-language and Spanish/English newspapers printed in the United States in the 19th and 20th centuries. Coverage begins in 1808 with the first Spanish-language newspaper printed in the U.S.

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Hispanic American Newspaper?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Latin American Data Base 
Description: LADB is a news and information service on Latin America which produces three weekly electronic publications: NotiCen, NotiSur, and SourceMex. Includes over 28,000 articles from a variety of Latin American news sources and journals.

Comments or questions about Latin American Data Base?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Latin American Women Writers 
Description: Brings together the voices of Latin American women from the 17th century to the present. Includes 120,000 pages of prose, poetry, drama, memoirs, letters and essays in the original languages. Authors are from Central and South America, as well as from Cuba and the Dominican Republic.

Tags:  poetry   (show tags)(hide tags)

Help:  Help  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Latin American Women Writers?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Latino Literature 
Description: Includes more than 100,000 pages of poetry, fiction, and over 450 plays written in English and Spanish by hundreds of Chicano, Cuban, Puerto Rican, Dominican, and other Latino authors working in the United States.

Help:  FAQ  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Latino Literature?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Pew Hispanic Center 
Description: Founded in 2001, the Pew Hispanic Center is a nonpartisan research organization supported by The Pew Charitable Trusts. Its mission is to improve understanding of the U.S. Hispanic population and to chronicle Latinos' growing impact on the entire nation.

Comments or questions about Pew Hispanic Center?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection 
Description: 1967 - present. Over 12,000 articles from approximately 30 journal titles covering topics such as ethnic studies, sociology of sports, childhood, and consumer culture.

Help:  Search Help  |  Major Features  |  Help Index  |  (show help)(hide help)

Comments or questions about Sociology: A SAGE Full-Text Collection?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu

World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (Gale) 
Description: Includes contemporary and historical documents depicting the nature, integrity and culture of Latin America. Documents are in multiple languages. Includes historical and contemporary maps.

Tags:  Gale  (show tags)(hide tags)

Comments or questions about World Scholar: Latin America and the Caribbean (Gale)?
Email us at: library@ucmerced.edu


© UC Merced Library | 5200 North Lake Rd. Merced CA | 209-228-4444